totalcmd.net

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
Vittorio
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: update

Post by *Vittorio » 2017-06-23, 15:51 UTC

lezerogan2 wrote:update:
instead of http://totalcmd.net/ i put https://totalcmd.net/
and now it is ok
Thanks a lot. You saved my life :D


Are there any news regarding the website? Will the regular (HTTP) site be up soon?

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-06-23, 16:09 UTC

There are some problems with the secondary IP.
To termporarily fix the issue, please, open the file c:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts and add the new line there:

Code: Select all

109.237.110.23      totalcmd.net www.totalcmd.net
This will force using the correct IP address for this domain, and both HTTP and HTTPS will work fine. Actually, it has nothing to do with HTTP(S) protocol, it just so weirdly happenned that for HTTP the browser chose one address, and for HTTPS the other, that's why it worked.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
Vittorio
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Vittorio » 2017-06-23, 17:02 UTC

Thanks a lot!

Do you know if this also affects Total Updater?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8366
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-06-23, 18:05 UTC

2Vittorio
Do you know if this also affects Total Updater?
Just tried it - it makes Total Updater able to connect to totalcmd.net again. But mind that Total Updater's database is not maintained anymore, so plugins that are not placed on the internet where they used to be will no longer be found, and I doubt that newly introduced plugins on totalcmd.net can be found,
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64) and TC 3.0b3 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-06-23, 18:13 UTC

Vittorio
It should affect al applications that use standard domain resolving methods. TotalUpdater is among them, yes.

petermad
TU should use special requests to totalcmd.net which I had implemented specifically for it. Therefore it should obtain the actual list of plugins without any need of manual maintaining.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8366
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-06-23, 18:18 UTC

TU should use special requests to totalcmd.net which I had implemented specifically for it. Therefore it should obtain the actual list of plugins without any need of manual maintaining.
Great :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64) and TC 3.0b3 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 431
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2017-06-24, 08:11 UTC

I'm able to view rss feed in ssl but the link in the list are in http protocol.

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-06-25, 23:24 UTC

Hurdet
Unfortunately the RSS is a statically generated file, and I don't know how to provide universal HTTP/HTTPS links in it. The standard trick with replacing http:// with just // to use the current protocol did not work.

So, the only way I can think of is to switch from statically generated XML file to dynamic script but it will need some time to implement. I added it to my to-do list, but I cannot promise any dates.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 431
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2017-06-26, 06:04 UTC

The issue with rss feeds affect before also this forum and now is fixed.

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2469
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Post by *Stefan2 » 2017-07-03, 13:25 UTC

2MVV
Me think the links in your sig missed a "S" ?






 

User avatar
Ambaquista
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 2005-05-27, 11:11 UTC
Location: Luanda, Angola

Post by *Ambaquista » 2017-07-03, 20:23 UTC

With http - not found...
I add the final S: https://totalcmd.net/ and the home page appear.
I click Ultra TC Editors 6.40 Beta 2 link: ok
I clck the download link
https://totalcmd.net/download.php?id=ultra_tc_editors
and...
" Your connection is not secure
The owner of utceditors.totalcmd.net has configured their website improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this website."
Frustrating!
I hope totalcmd.net solve this problem.
b rgds

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-07-03, 21:53 UTC

OK, since it's taking much more time than I expected to solve the secondary IP issue, I temporarily disabled it in the NS response. After the DNS servers all over the world update (may take up to several hours, sometimes days), all totalcmd.net-based domains will work correctly.

If it's critical and you cannot wait, use the same trick with adding the new entry to the hosts file:

Code: Select all

109.237.110.23      totalcmd.net www.totalcmd.net
and add there all the domains you need (for example, utceditors.totalcmd.net).
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
nsp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1201
Joined: 2005-12-04, 08:39 UTC
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)
Contact:

Post by *nsp » 2017-07-04, 06:58 UTC

Flint wrote:Hurdet
Unfortunately the RSS is a statically generated file, and I don't know how to provide universal HTTP/HTTPS links in it. The standard trick with replacing http:// with just // to use the current protocol did not work.

You could probably replace http:// just by / do not double it !

Will you fix http ? as for now, even if it works correctly for https, http protocol have some issues.
"404 Not Found"

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-07-04, 10:16 UTC

nsp wrote:You could probably replace http:// just by / do not double it !
Single slash means path on the current domain; double slash means another domain at the same protocol. For example, if you open
http://example.com/some/path or https://example.com/some/path
the links should look like either
/another/path (to point at http(s)://example.com/another/path)
or
//different.example.com/third/path (to point at http(s)://different.example.com/third/path).

Since it is not guaranteed in the future that links will always remain on the same domain I tried the second approach, but anyway, the first methond does not work either, I tested it too (in Opera 12 and Firefox).
nsp wrote:Will you fix http ? as for now, even if it works correctly for https, http protocol have some issues.
"404 Not Found"
I already explained, http or https has nothing to do with it. It's just so happenned that your browser decided to use one IP when connecting to http, and another IP for https. It could have been the reverse, and you'd have working http and non-working https. Or both working. Or noth not working. Or working randomly, when hitting F5 gives you either 404 or the correct page. It's all due to the fact that one of the IP addresses returned by the resolving does not work. As I wrote above, I already removed it from the name server configuration, and it should already work OK. If it doesn't check what the command "nslookup totalcmd.net" returns, maybe your DNS server did not update the information yet.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2051
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2018-07-06, 19:25 UTC

Today, for the first time I got a warning message when trying to browse totalcmd.net (both English and Russian)
Screenshot of the message

I'm using Chrome

Author of Ultra TC Editors
Please support me

Post Reply