totalcmd.net

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
krasusczak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 267
Joined: 2011-09-23, 10:35 UTC

Post by *krasusczak »

Hello

I don't know did you realize that RSS die & don't update :P
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1990
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

My newest RSS entry is "Virtual Panel" from Dec. 19.

Peter
TC 9.51 / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3313
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

Sorry, I forgot to mention that updating RSS is in my to-do list.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.51 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64
Michael Diegelmann
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-02-18, 17:25 UTC
Location: Rosenheim (Germany)
Contact:

Post by *Michael Diegelmann »

Has "www.totalcmd.net" broken down again?
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3313
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

Michael Diegelmann
No, it works fine, I've just opened it.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.51 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64
Michael Diegelmann
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-02-18, 17:25 UTC
Location: Rosenheim (Germany)
Contact:

Post by *Michael Diegelmann »

Flint wrote:No, it works fine, I've just opened it.
It was definitely not available for at least a quarter of an hour (while other web sites were still accessible for me during that time). Anyway, good to know it's back again now!
User avatar
JJM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-02-06, 12:36 UTC
Location: Port Saint Hubert, FRANCE

Post by *JJM »

Hello,

For me, this day he is still inaccessible

cordially
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3917
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

JJM wrote:Hello,

For me, this day he is still inaccessible

cordially
Just tested, works fine.
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3313
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

JJM
Please, check what IP address totalcmd.net is resolved to. It should be 204.93.210.161.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.51 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64
Michael Diegelmann
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-02-18, 17:25 UTC
Location: Rosenheim (Germany)
Contact:

Post by *Michael Diegelmann »

Flint wrote:Please, check what IP address totalcmd.net is resolved to. It should be 204.93.210.161.
When I try to reach the IP address 204.93.210.161 I always get some 'Default Web Site Page'. According to the CTRLOPS NIC data base 204.93.210.161 belongs to the IP address range 204.93.210.0-204.93.210.255 of HostForWeb Inc. in Chicago IL.
User avatar
JJM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-02-06, 12:36 UTC
Location: Port Saint Hubert, FRANCE

Post by *JJM »

Michael Diegelmann :
I have the same worries as you, the more I can not flush the DNS there is always Totalcmd.net with another ip address see below:

www.totalcmd.net
----------------------------------------
Nom d'enregistrement. : www.totalcmd.net
Type d'enregistrement : 1
Durée de vie . . . . : 86400
Longueur de données . : 4
Section . . . . . . . : Réponse
Enregistrement (hôte) : 205.234.222.4
Michael Diegelmann
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-02-18, 17:25 UTC
Location: Rosenheim (Germany)
Contact:

Post by *Michael Diegelmann »

To JJM: My attempt to reach 205.234.222.4 resulted in the McAfee Site Advisor warning 'http://205.234.222.4/ Website is dangerous'. So you better be careful and not try this one!
Last edited by Michael Diegelmann on 2013-01-19, 09:15 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JJM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-02-06, 12:36 UTC
Location: Port Saint Hubert, FRANCE

Post by *JJM »

On my phone I can to get to and to totalcmd.net on my laptop.
For me it is a dns problem that I can not purge and I do not know how.
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3313
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

Michael Diegelmann wrote:When I try to reach the IP address 204.93.210.161 I always get some 'Default Web Site Page'.
You should. That's how virtual hosting works: several domains are hosted on the same IP address and managed by the same server which distinguishes them by their "Host" HTTP-field. When you try to open totalcmd.net, the browser automatically sends "Host: totalcmd.net" field in the HTTP request, so the server knows which web-site to show. If you open just an IP address — it doesn't, and shows the default page. (PS: Sometimes, if server hosts only one web-site, it may be configured to show this site by default, even for plain IP address, but it's not the case with totalcmd.net.)

To check which IP address is used by your computer to reach the site, please, open cmd.exe and run two commands:

Code: Select all

ping totalcmd.net
nslookup totalcmd.net
Then compare their output IP addresses. Normally, they should be identical and equal to 204.93.210.161.
1) If nslookup gives the wrong address, you should write to your Internet provider asking why their DNS servers did not update the lookup tables. As a temporary solution, you can open c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file and append the following line:
204.93.210.161 totalcmd.net
It will force local applications use this IP instead of what DNS server returns.
2) If nslookup is correct, but ping tries to reach the wrong address, it most probaly means that there is already a similar entry in the hosts file, and you should either remove it or update the IP address there.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.51 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64
User avatar
JJM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-02-06, 12:36 UTC
Location: Port Saint Hubert, FRANCE

Post by *JJM »

Flint thank you for your explanation on my main computer, totalcmd.net was well referenced, once removed, everything works again. :)

Sorry for my english, translation from Google
Post Reply