64-bit equivalent to VisualDirSize?

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37417
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2015-01-17, 08:32 UTC

2nsp
You can do the following:
1. Install the combined 32-bit+64-bit version of Total Commander.
2. Run TC 64-bit as usual
3. Go to menu Configuration - Options - Viewer/Editor
4. As default viewer, enter:
c:\totalcmd\totalcmd.exe /S=L "%1"
5. Now you can view folders with Alt+F3 in the 32-bit Lister, and with F3 in the internal 64-bit Lister. Alternatively, you can configure TC to open the external Lister with F3 on the same configuration page.

Of course this doesn't work for Ctrl+Q.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8406
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2015-01-17, 16:04 UTC

Of course this doesn't work for Ctrl+Q.
And unfortunately Ctrl+Q mode is the most sensible way to use the current (32bit) VisualDirSize
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b5 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

amilino
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 2015-02-23, 23:47 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *amilino » 2015-02-23, 23:49 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:2nsp
You can do the following:
1. Install the combined 32-bit+64-bit version of Total Commander.
2. Run TC 64-bit as usual
3. Go to menu Configuration - Options - Viewer/Editor
4. As default viewer, enter:
c:\totalcmd\totalcmd.exe /S=L "%1"
5. Now you can view folders with Alt+F3 in the 32-bit Lister, and with F3 in the internal 64-bit Lister. Alternatively, you can configure TC to open the external Lister with F3 on the same configuration page.

Of course this doesn't work for Ctrl+Q.
You can also add button in button bar:
1. Command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe
2. Parameters: /S=L "%P%O"

kk_in_zdf
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-04-18, 12:29 UTC

Post by *kk_in_zdf » 2018-04-18, 12:51 UTC

After more than 2 years of patience: are there any hopes for a 64-bit-version of VisualDirSize plugin or was the project shut down?
Klaus

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8406
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-04-18, 20:27 UTC

2kk_in_zdf
You could try https://totalcmd.net/plugring/dirsizecalc_charts.html - it does not have as many features as VisualDirSize thouigh
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b5 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

qfbtc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-05-29, 03:30 UTC

Post by *qfbtc » 2018-05-30, 20:56 UTC

hello

qfbtc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-05-29, 03:30 UTC

Post by *qfbtc » 2018-05-30, 21:00 UTC

(first, please overlook my bad English, and thank Internet for translation)

First: we must install plugin VisualDirSize by Total Commander 32-bit.

2petermad

According to idea of amilino, i think we can use VisualDirSize with Alt+Q like Ctrl+Q (about 1/5):
We can combine 3 features:
  • 1. Start menu
  • 2. Hotkey
  • 3. Save position of Lister
STEPS:
  • A. Create user menu item in Start menu to run VisualDirSize
1. Go to: menu Start > Change Start Menu...
2. Add item with title: View by Visual&DirSize
(&D: so we can press Alt+S+D to run VisualDirSize)
3. Command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe
(note: totalcmd.exe is 32-bit version)
4. Parameters: /S=L "%P%O"
  • B. Define hotkey executes that user menu item
1. Go to: menu Configuration > Options... > Misc. > Redefine hotkeys
2. Select Alt + Q
3. Command: cm_UserMenu1
(note: You can press 🔍... > User > cm_UserMenu1
The user menu item created in step A is the first one of list)

  • C. Save position of Lister window like quick view mode (when press Ctrl+Q)
1. Select 1 folder in left window
2. Press Alt+Q
3. Resize and move Lister window to fit right window (include the box display current path of right window)
4. In Lister window, go to: menu Options > Save position
Result of step C:
Pros: when you view many folders in a short work session
Cons: you must press Esc to close Lister window for each time press Alt+Q; when you in right window, you should press Ctrl+U to swap window


You can skip step C

In step C, you can do more: show cursor when target window or Total Commander window lost focus:
1. Go to: menu Configuration > Change Settings File Directly
2. Below [Configuration], add: InactiveFocus=1
(feature InactiveFocus appeared from Total Commander 8.0 public beta 8 or later, read more InactiveFocus in Help: press F1 > Configuration and Switches > Ini file Settings > InactiveFocus)

2018/05/29, Total Commander (x64) 9.12, Windows 10 64-bit

Love Total Commander. :D

[12345678.123] Long post. But it's not over yet. [12345678.123] :(

[face=timesnewroman]THE PROBLEMS APPEAR AND WORKAROUND[/face]

2petermad, amilino and ghisler(Author)

* We have 4 folders and 2 files with structure:

Code: Select all

folder 1: D:\ATest
folder 2: D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2
folder 3: D:\B Test
folder 4: D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4
file 1: D:\1filenameA.txt
file 2: D:\2 file name B.txt
  • P1. Problem: Folder name has dot (period) and the parameter %O
_ Select folder 1, press Alt+Q, it's OK.
_ Select folder 3, press Alt+Q, it's OK.
_ Select folder 2, press Alt+Q, VisualDirSize notices:
File not found!

D:\ATest\Head2
Why? :?: Because of parameter %O in step A.4.
Now in step A.2, we press button Help to open help "Dialog box: Change start menu", in section Paramaters, we look into:
%P , %N , %O , %E and the Notes:
%P causes the source path to be inserted into the command line, including a backslash (\) at the end.
%N places the filename under the cursor into the command line.
%T inserts the current target path. Especially useful for packers.
%M places the current filename in the target directory into the command line.
%O places the current filename without extension into the command line.
%E places the current extension (without leading period) into the command line.
Notes: %N and %M insert the long name, while %n and %m insert the DOS alias name (8.3).
According the word "filename" in that help, I think Total Commander (from here, I call TC) behaves file and folder the same. I think TC behaves as Windows Explorer.
Because i has limited knowledge, so, at here I do not mention:
[1] "archives, FTPs (handled by Linux servers) and Linux filesystems (available through WFX plugins)" (from post "Problems with dots at the end of file names", link: i cannot post URL)
[2] further about naming file, directory (base file name and optional extension; a directory is simply a file with a special attribute designating it as a directory) (topic "Naming Files, Paths, and Namespaces", link: i cannot post URL)
[3] about a filename can have multiple extensions (Filename Extension Definition, link: i cannot post URL)
  • W1. Workaround for P1: Use the parameter %N instead of %O
Now we change in step A.4, parameters: /S=L "%P%N"
  • P2. Problem: Long name (include space, &, ...) of file or folder and the parameter %N
With W1:
_ Select folder 1, press Alt+Q, it's OK.
_ Select folder 2, press Alt+Q, it's OK.
_ Select folder 3, press Alt+Q, VisualDirSize notices:
File not found!

D:\B
Why? :?: Because of analysing the parameter %N of TC.

D. Do more: create user menu item to open file text with Notepad
1. Go to: menu Start > Change Start Menu...
2. Add item with title: Open with &Notepad
(we can press Alt+S+N to run Notepad)
3. Command: %$Windows%\notepad.exe
4. Parameters: "%P%N"

Now:
_ Select file 1, press Alt+S+N, it's OK.
_ Select file 2, press Alt+S+N, Notepad notices:
Notepad

Cannot find the .txt file.
Do you want to create a new file?
I think this is an error of TC. TC should fix error analysing parameter %N when meet long name (include space, &, ...) of file and folder.
  • W2. Workaround for P1: Use %O.%E instead of %O
Now we change in:
step A.4, parameters: /S=L "%P%O.%E"
step D.4, parameters: "%P%O.%E"
With W2, we have pros:
If the name of folder does not have any dot then there is a period at the end of name display on title bar of Lister window and in VisualDirSize:

Code: Select all

Folder                      Lister                          VisualDirSize
D:\ATest                    [D:\ATest.]                     D:\ATest.\
D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2        [D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2]          D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2\
D:\B Test                   [D:\B Test.]                    D:\B Test.\
D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4   [D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4]     D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4\
  • S1. Suggestion for W2: Define a new parameter %EFULL beside %E
We know that the last dot (period) in long name separates base name and extension.
If: %E places the current extension (without leading period) into the command line.
Then: %EFULL will places the current extension with leading period into the command line.

When: name of file does not have any dot
If: %E refer to blank string.
Then: %EFULL refer to blank string too, without period.

Now we change in:
step A.4, parameters: /S=L "%P%O%EFULL"
step D.4, parameters: "%P%O%EFULL"
And result:

Code: Select all

Folder                      Lister                          VisualDirSize
D:\ATest                    [D:\ATest]                      D:\ATest\
D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2        [D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2]          D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2\
D:\B Test                   [D:\B Test]                     D:\B Test\
D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4   [D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4]     D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4\
* Recommends:
When you use VisualDirSize by button in button bar, I think it like as user menu item in Star menu.
But if you want to use drag and drop feature (drag file/folder to a button) then we need adjustment.
  • E. Create button in button bar to run VisualDirSize
Add button 1 with
1. Command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe
2. Parameters: /S=L "%P%O.%E"
3. Icon file: %COMMANDER_PATH%\WCMICON2.DLL
4. Icon: 36 (has word KB)
  • R1. Recommend: Use "fixed parameters" in Command instead in Parameters
_ Select folder 1, then drag and drop on that button.
_ TC open new instance with source path is folder 1.
This not thing we want.

Now in step E.1, press button Help to open help "Dialog box: Configuration - Change button bar", we look into Command and Parameters:
Command:
1. You may specify the program to be run, including its search path. You can also specify fixed parameters here.
Parameters:
Here you can specify command line parameters. Fixed parameters must be specified directly after the file name, because otherwise, in a Drag&Drop, only the file name would be given to the program.
Special parameters:
? as the first parameter causes a Dialog box to be displayed before starting the program, containing the following parameters. You can change the parameters before starting the program. You can even prevent the program's execution.
%P causes the source path to be inserted into the command line, including a backslash (\) at the end.
So, %P is one of special parameters.

What is fixed parameters? In TC, press F1 > Configuration and Switches > Command line parameters > Parameters.
One of them is: /S=L

Now we change in:
step A.3, command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe /S=L
step A.4, parameters: "%P%O%.%E"
and,
step E.4, command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe /S=L
step E.4, parameters: "%P%O%.%E"
  • R2. Recommend: Full path of program in Command should be surrounded by double quotes (with feature drag/drop)
_ In turn, select 4 folders and drag then drop on that button 1, result:

Code: Select all

Folder                      Lister                         VisualDirSize
D:\ATest                    [D:\ATest]                     D:\ATest\
D:\ATest\Head2.Tail2        [D:\ATest\HEAD2~1.TAI]         D:\ATest\HEAD2~1.TAI\
D:\B Test                   [D:\BTEST~1]                   D:\D:\BTEST~1\
D:\B Test\Sur4.Mid4.Fore4   [D:\BTEST~1\SUR4MI~1.FOR]      D:\BTEST~1\SUR4MI~1.FOR\
Now we change in:
step E.4, parameters: "%COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe" /S=L

With feature drag/drop, I think TC does not use Parameters: "%P%O%.%E".
TC will use the full path (with long name) of the first file/folder (by current sort order) in list files/folders marked (red color by default), not the file/folder under cursor.
This is the same as parameter "%1" in menu Configuration > Option > Edit/View > Default: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe /S=L "%1"

--------------------------------------------

:lol: But when i finish this post, i find that: i can define hotkey for cm_List (View with Lister). So from idea of:
ghisler(Author) wrote:2nsp
You can do the following:
1. Install the combined 32-bit+64-bit version of Total Commander.
2. Run TC 64-bit as usual
3. Go to menu Configuration - Options - Viewer/Editor
4. As default viewer, enter:
c:\totalcmd\totalcmd.exe /S=L "%1"
5. Now you can view folders with Alt+F3 in the 32-bit Lister, and with F3 in the internal 64-bit Lister. Alternatively, you can configure TC to open the external Lister with F3 on the same configuration page.

Of course this doesn't work for Ctrl+Q.
6. Set hotkey: Alt+Q for cm_List

That is the most simple method, and i don't meet any problem.

Additonal, DirSizeCalc Charts 1.10 has enough basic feature.
./.

2018/05/30, Total Commander (x64) 9.12, Windows 10 64-bit

Love Total Commander :!:

qfbtc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-05-29, 03:30 UTC

Post by *qfbtc » 2018-05-30, 21:49 UTC

I wrote something wrong and not clear in previous post.

Wrong:
In recommend R1 and R2, change all:
"%P%O%.%E"
into:
"%P%O.%E"
(reduce 1 letter % before dot)

Not clear:
In recommend R1:
So, %P is one of special parameters.
And, /S=L is fixed parameter.
Which are fixed parameters? They are parameters of programs in Command (/S=L is of TC, /C is of cmd.exe, ...)

qfbtc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-05-29, 03:30 UTC

Post by *qfbtc » 2018-05-30, 22:14 UTC

Again, something are wrong and not clear.

*Wrong:
In recommend R1, change into:
Now we change in:
step A.3, command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe /S=L
step A.4, parameters: "%P%O.%E"
and,
step E.1, command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe /S=L
step E.2, parameters: "%P%O.%E"

and in recommend R2, change into:
Now we change in:
step E.1, command: "%COMMANDER_PATH%\totalcmd.exe" /S=L

With feature drag/drop, I think TC does not use Parameters: "%P%O.%E".


*Not clear:
In recommend R2, the reason is the path of program TC is long name (when include space, ...)
Example:

Code: Select all

D:\Portable\TC 9.12 portable\TOTALCMD64.EXE

Post Reply