[WCX] Wcx6432: 64-to-32 bit WCX plugin wrapper

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 744
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex » 2016-06-15, 12:03 UTC

MVV wrote:...maybe an option to disable progress callback
This sounds like a good compromise.
Best regards
deus-ex

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3442
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-06-15, 15:28 UTC

TW wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
MVV wrote:Horst.Epp,
Actual installation instructions are in the first post.
There only was a temporary trouble with loading multiple plugins that have caused an additional step but it was fixed.
Ok, I installed it for the MSI-Plus packer.
I can open the actual Calibre-2.58.0.msi
But when I try to open the calibre.cab from inside of the streams sub-dir
it hangs TC 9.0b1
Some other MSIs can open fine including the CABs from inside.
this works for me, but it takes some time. TC x86 plus plain plugin is a lot faster. this is also true for extracting files.

but the question is: why would you want to open this .cab? there is no point in doing this, all the files in that .cab can be found under "Files".
There is no Files entry in this case !
Files are only shown if using other plugin, not with MSI-Plus.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8395
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-15, 16:46 UTC

That's strange BTW. I'm only using MSI-Plus for .msi files and I see Dialogs, Files, Streams and Tables inside your archive, with both TCx32 and TCx64.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3442
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-06-15, 18:08 UTC

MVV wrote:That's strange BTW. I'm only using MSI-Plus for .msi files and I see Dialogs, Files, Streams and Tables inside your archive, with both TCx32 and TCx64.
I see only Dialogs, Streams and Tables.
May be our MSI-Plus version is different ?
I have 0.5.0.0
[Edit] Now I found version 0.6.0.1 and have the Files entry :D
Last edited by Horst.Epp on 2016-06-15, 18:15 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2016-06-15, 18:12 UTC

licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 744
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex » 2016-06-15, 18:43 UTC

Can someone please share MSI-Plus v 0.6.0.1, original homepage and download seems to be down. Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind, got it. My AV solution was blocking the homepage for no apparent reason.
Best regards
deus-ex

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38170
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-06-15, 21:23 UTC

Looks nice! Now that there are rarely any new plugins it's a good idea to add a wrapper.

About the progress callback, you may consider callback thinning: For example, if the plugin calles back 1000x per second to your EXE, use GetTickCount to forward only one message every 1/10 second or every second or so. I do similar things when updating the progress bar.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8395
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-15, 23:14 UTC

Another nightly build. :D

Wcx6432 Beta 160

Progress callback is now called once per 0.5 second with accumulated positive values or latest negative ones so unpacking speed is much better.
Also I've added synchronization objects so client and server use much less CPU during active data exchange.
And ConfigurePacker function is now works.

Sorry, packing will be added a bit later. :)

ghisler(Author) wrote:About the progress callback, you may consider callback thinning: For example, if the plugin calles back 1000x per second to your EXE, use GetTickCount to forward only one message every 1/10 second or every second or so. I do similar things when updating the progress bar.
Thank you, I got similar idea, and we've discussed such thing on Russian board. Is it correct that I only need to sum sizes betwee calls?

I don't understand why TC progress bars are empty, only file counter increases (even in case of mentioned 60-MB file, and I've even tested with 500-MB file, and I see that TC callbacks are really called with proper values).
Last edited by MVV on 2016-06-15, 23:18 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38170
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-06-15, 23:17 UTC

I haven't tried your plugin yet, but maybe TC doesn't see the total size?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8395
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-15, 23:21 UTC

I see correct file size in panel. But when I try to extract file, progress bars are empty during entire process.

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2016-06-16, 05:07 UTC

mirror: http://vicebuilds6.bplaced.net/wcx_Wcx6432_160.7z

maybe good to know the Wcx6432.wcx64 was not changed, so we need only to replace .exe and .dll

yep, it's now faster. :D
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8395
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-16, 08:32 UTC

TW wrote:maybe good to know the Wcx6432.wcx64 was not changed, so we need only to replace .exe and .dll
That is the benefit of separate loader which only passes requests to client module. Since the loader is complete, there is no need in replacing it (except for updating from old beta with multiload problems). :)

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3442
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-06-16, 12:48 UTC

The beta 160 is much faster now.
My test case calibre-2.58.0.msi
Opening the CAB inside of the Streams dir now takes only a few seconds. :D

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8395
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-16, 22:07 UTC

Well, let me introduce you a packer plugin that is able to pack. :)

Wcx6432 Beta 172

Pack and delete functions are supported now, please test.

Progress bars are still empty during all operations. :(

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2016-06-16, 22:19 UTC

i can download again from yadi, after a firefox restart. :?:



wow, a quick test succeeded. :D :D

great work on this! thanks again.
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

Post Reply