Creating "u-r-l" shortcut bug since beta3

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
zoooom
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-02-23, 21:03 UTC

Creating "u-r-l" shortcut bug since beta3

Post by *zoooom »

I noticed a strange bug coming since beta3 and still in the program (beta4) and it worked fine with beta2. Best is I describe what I do and you should be able to reproduce the problem yourself. But it doesnt happen every time, just once all 20-30 tries.

Open firefox browser (I'm using version 2.0.0.2) and open any website you want. Now drag the icon from the "u-r-l"-window into an opened total commander window. Once every 10-20 times you do that total commander doesnt create a "u-r-l" shortcut. Totalcommander creates a strange cryptic named file something like "r" or "%" or "t" etc. Also often total commander creates the "u-r-l" file and another file just named "r", "t", .... The thing is that I often create bookmarks by just creating an "u-r-l" shortcut in a folder on my harddrive instead of using the bookmarks option in firefox or favorites function in ie, cause then I would have something like 1000+ bookmarks already.

I'm using Windows Vista 64bit version and as I said with beta2 everything worked fine. I hope you can reproduce that strange bug.

Btw. I had to use "u-r-l" instead of ... cause when sending the message I get that spam-error message and I'm not allowed to post "urrlllsss" - so dont blame me, blame that guy who wrote that php script ;)

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »


User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39791
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Yes, it's the same problem. TC tries to copy one more file than the program reports. It will be fixed in beta 5.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39791
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This should be fixed in RC1. Please test!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3308
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

As that bug is confirmed as fixed, this one should also be considered as fixed. At least, I could catch something very similar in TC7pb4 (TC tried to create an additional file with strange one-non-printable-character name), and in TC7rc4 this is no more reproducable.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.51 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39791
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

You are right, thanks for noticing that!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply