TC7.5b7 bug: "Control deleted from background thread!&a

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
xbeta
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: 2006-01-03, 11:28 UTC
Location: China PR
Contact:

TC7.5b7 bug: "Control deleted from background thread!&a

Post by *xbeta »

[update: 2009-09-15]
this bug has been fixed in TC 7.5 final.
confirmed with my test.
-----------------------
TC7.5b7 brought a new bug in unpack when access denied.

when you update some program, we often unpack from a zip file to overwrite the old version.
eg. unpack chrome.zip to replace the old chrome folder.
when chrome.exe is running, the replace will cause a message:

--------------------------------
Total CommanderTotal Commander
Access denied on file D:\Program Files\chrome\Chrome\chrome.exe!
Skip Cancel Rename
--------------------------------

but no matter which button was pressed, an error will occure:

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
Control deleted from background thread!

---------------------------

Pls fix it, and it's better to add a "retry" button, just as the normal copy and overwrite.
Last edited by xbeta on 2009-09-15, 00:33 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9655
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39712
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Indeed it's a known error, it happens because that dialog is (by mistake) directly created from within a background thread.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Postkutscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 556
Joined: 2006-04-01, 00:11 UTC

Post by *Postkutscher »

This bug was reported on the russian forum and confirmed there. I can also confirm this bug and translate it here.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Pack 1.dll into 1.zip
2. Rename 1.zip into 1.dll
3. Have the same directory on both panels
4. Try to unpack 1.dll
5. Access denied message appears
6. Try to skip or rename
7. Error "Control deleted from the background thread" appears.

tested with TC7.5RC2 under WinXP SP3
TC7.04a don`t have this problem.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39712
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks, I will check that. Btw, why is this in the English forum and not the bug reports forum?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11722
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Message from moderator

Moved to the TC 7.5 beta bug reports forum.

Hacker (Moderator)
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39712
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I could confirm the problem now, thanks for finding it!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Postkutscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 556
Joined: 2006-04-01, 00:11 UTC

Post by *Postkutscher »

2ghisler(Author)
thanks to user alexey65536. He has found it, just has fear of false alarm and a little translation problem :)

Anyway I`m glad that the problem was found and can be solved now :)

I will take part on re-testing when TC7.5 rc3 comes.

Postkutscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 556
Joined: 2006-04-01, 00:11 UTC

Post by *Postkutscher »

2ghisler(Author)
The bug seems to be fixed in TC7.50 final.
Thank you very much.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39712
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks! Can anyone else confirm the fix?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9655
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Already confirmed fixed here: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=179742#179742 (first post concerning this bug) :-)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

Postkutscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 556
Joined: 2006-04-01, 00:11 UTC

Post by *Postkutscher »

2petermad
No, it is not. The same bug has appeared twice. Look at the version please. I`m talking about TC7.5RC2, and you - about the fix in TC7.5PB8. TC7.5RC2 was released later.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9655
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2Postkutscher

The subject of this topic concerns a bug in TC7.5b7 - wich I replied to - but after re-reading the thread I can see that you also reported it for rc2 - sorry.

Anyway - I can confirm that the bug is fixed again i TC 7.50 Final :-)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39712
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
xbeta
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: 2006-01-03, 11:28 UTC
Location: China PR
Contact:

Post by *xbeta »

this bug has been fixed in TC 7.5 final. Confirmed with my test.

Post Reply