Cannot modify install.inf - zip error returned

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-03-03, 12:41 UTC

Cannot modify install.inf - zip error returned

Post by *steyrs »

Hi,

I'm trying to modify install.inf - (inside latest exe - tcmd756a.exe) to my needs.
Using CTRL+pgdown - adding wincmd.ini + wincmd.key and modifying install.inf)

However repacking the exe-fil fails.


(Windows title - Error Creating ZIP!)

Error Text: ZIP file contains errors or has unknown format, cannot change!

Can anyone help?

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

tcmd756a.exe is digitally signed to ensure the software comes from Ghisler and to ensure the file is not tampered with.

User avatar
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-03-03, 12:41 UTC

Post by *steyrs »

It sure looks that way

Previously it was possible - Christian Ghisler himself gave the directions how to change install.inf inside the exe-file.

(Tried to post 2 links - but am not allowed - yet)

It was even possible in version 7.55 - where I was able to add my license-key, my wincmd.ini and edit the install.inf...

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39604
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

You need to:
1. Get the installer SFX EXE:
http://ghisler.fileburst.com/addons/sfxhead_installer.zip
2. Unpack new sfxhead.sfx file to TC dir
3. Unpack the installer
4. Add your files
5. Create new ZIP with option "self-extracting"
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

steyrs wrote:It was even possible in version 7.55 - where I was able to add my license-key, my wincmd.ini and edit the install.inf...
Interesting. You can change:
tcmdr650.exe
tcmdr651.exe
tcmdr652.exe
tcmdr653.exe
tcmdr654.exe
tcmd654a.exe
tcmdr700.exe (unsigned version, originally released)
tcmd750.exe
tcmd750a.exe
tcmd755.exe
tcmd755a.exe

You cannot change:
tcmdr655.exe
tcmd655a.exe
tcmdr656.exe
tcmdr657.exe
tcmdr658.exe
tcmdr700.exe (signed version)
tcmdr701.exe
tcmdr702.exe
tcmd702a.exe
tcmdr703.exe
tcmdr704.exe
tcmd704a.exe
tcmd756.exe
tcmd756a.exe

Unless you use an older version of TC (< TC 7). Then you can change all files.

User avatar
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-03-03, 12:41 UTC

Post by *steyrs »

Christian wrote
You need to:
1. Get the installer SFX EXE:
Link removed - cannot post yet
2. Unpack new sfxhead.sfx file to TC dir
3. Unpack the installer
4. Add your files
5. Create new ZIP with option "self-extracting"
Excellent Christian - Thank you! I will try that.

White wrote:
Interesting. You can change:
tcmdr650.exe
tcmdr651.exe
tcmdr652.exe
tcmdr653.exe
tcmdr654.exe
tcmd654a.exe
tcmdr700.exe (unsigned version, originally released)
tcmd750.exe
tcmd750a.exe
tcmd755.exe
tcmd755a.exe

You cannot change:
tcmdr655.exe
tcmd655a.exe
tcmdr656.exe
tcmdr657.exe
tcmdr658.exe
tcmdr700.exe (signed version)
tcmdr701.exe
tcmdr702.exe
tcmd702a.exe
tcmdr703.exe
tcmdr704.exe
tcmd704a.exe
tcmd756.exe
tcmd756a.exe

Unless you use an older version of TC (< TC 7). Then you can change all files.
Thanx White - Nice list - great overview! :D

Great forum by the way - quick answers, and great help
TC is one of the best tools ever - can't live without it - use it every single day!
Last edited by steyrs on 2011-03-04, 09:17 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Personal License: 109213

User avatar
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-03-03, 12:41 UTC

Mission accomplished

Post by *steyrs »

I have now tried the suggestion from Christian.

Works perfectly (as expected) :wink:

Thanx!
Personal License: 109213

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

white wrote:Unless you use an older version of TC (< TC 7). Then you can change all files.
Seems this issue has been raised before. See Cannot modify TC7 installation package. In that thread Christian Ghisler wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:This happens because the EXE is signed (including the ZIP part). Changing the archive would break the signature, therefore it's not supported by TC.
ghisler(Author) wrote:Signing an EXE patches the EXE headers with the offsets of the signature. You cannot use it unsigned any more.
However that does not explain why it does seem to work fine when using other programs or when using older TC versions. It also does not explain why current versions of TC can change certain digitally signed installation packages and others not.

User avatar
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-03-03, 12:41 UTC

Post by *steyrs »

White wrote:
However that does not explain why it does seem to work fine when using other programs or when using older TC versions. It also does not explain why current versions of TC can change certain digitally signed installation packages and others not.
You've got a point White!
Guess the only one who can really answer that is Christian..
Personal License: 109213

doubleingram
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2015-08-21, 07:36 UTC

Plase provide an advise

Post by *doubleingram »

I am sorry, but I don't get it, could you please decribe/explain how to do it (for stupid like me)? I need an unattended instalation, but the install.inf files cannot be simply edited, because of the package "signature".

Thank you in advance

ghisler(Author) wrote:You need to:
1. Get the installer SFX EXE:

2. Unpack new sfxhead.sfx file to TC dir
3. Unpack the installer
4. Add your files
5. Create new ZIP with option "self-extracting"

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39604
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

5a. before you click OK in the "pack" dialog, click on "configure". Then set the "Internal zip compression" to "other" and 0 (zero compression).

Why? The installer cannot actually unpack zip. Instead, it looks inside itself for the inf, cab etc. files and reads them uncompressed from itself.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

piotrnawrocki
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2016-10-14, 13:38 UTC

Post by *piotrnawrocki »

Hello,

I have done everything as mentioned in the instruction and it doesn't work.
After the new exe file is created and I launch it UAC shows up, I click OK and then nothing happens. What may be the cause of this?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39604
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

The 7.x installer uses a different method than the 8.5x installer. Which installer do you want to modify exactly?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

piotrnawrocki
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2016-10-14, 13:38 UTC

Post by *piotrnawrocki »

I use newest available 8.52 64-bit if I correctly remember.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39604
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

You need to follow the guide in the Wiki. Modifying the exe directly will not work because it is digitally signed.

http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php/How_to_make_installation_fully_automatic%3F
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply