Coloured Tabs?

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
BioGuyver
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-05-20, 09:30 UTC

Coloured Tabs?

Post by *BioGuyver »

Hi,

I have check the options and I haven't been able to find any way of making tabs stand out from other tabs? I usually have at least 6 tabs open on each panel and sometimes as many as 14 or 15. When you change directory and the tab moves as it re adjusts the size it would be really nice if I could add colour to the most important tabs so I can quickly identify them.

Colour is just a suggestion but I guess there are other ways this could be done. Maybe the ability to lock a tab in a certain position so it is always where you remember it being?

Anyone else think this might be useful?
Thanks
Ja

User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1963
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

TC 9.51 / #266191
Win 10 x64

BioGuyver
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-05-20, 09:30 UTC

Post by *BioGuyver »

Hey Peter,

Thanks for the heads up. I have that working now and it does exactly what I needed.

Thanks
Ja

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3761
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Unfortunately there is no x64 version of Twinkey :(

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 808
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra »

Unfortunately there is no x64 version of Twinkey :(
Plus it's never worked for me properly.

But I'd love to see the ability to choose a background color of tabs.
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

@umbra, you need to run the twinkey binary to configure it.
And you need to set a custom color and set it for twinkey -- its in the readme. The color is ignored, it's just how twinkey gets loaded when TC starts up.

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 808
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra »

<offtopic>
2Balderstrom
I meant, TWinKey was causing some troubles in general. TC x32 has some minor redraw issues (small enough for me to ignore them), but TWinKey made them much more visible and TC felt sluggish.
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

clauswk
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-08, 17:08 UTC
Location: Bay Area

Fixed and colored tabs

Post by *clauswk »

BioGuyver,
I total agree with you.
Keep tabs in a fixed position and the posibility for colored tabs also would be a very nice built in feature in both the 32bit and the 64 bit.

It is kind of 'annoying' when the tabs moves around. :)

Thanks,
Claus Knudsen

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39728
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

That's the Windows tab control - I don't think that there is a way to prevent the tabs from jumping around. :(
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
CopyCats
Member
Member
Posts: 195
Joined: 2003-02-05, 13:09 UTC
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by *CopyCats »

I use the 'All tabs have same width' option. It really tames down those jumpy tabs :)
#5050 :: Everyone who believes in telekinesis, raise my hand!

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

I haven't noticed tabs moving (position) :: even without using the same width option.

The problem myself and others have had for years is that there is no option for controlling which tab will become active when one is closed. If they were actual commands, keyboard shortcuts could be assigned:
* Close Tab & Activate Left (Preferred Default).
* Close Tab & Activate Right (Current only option TC has).
* Close Tab & Activate previous [active] tab.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.

svt
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014-02-18, 15:45 UTC

Coloured Tabs?

Post by *svt »

Back to the original subject, Twinkey looks like a war machine and, as we use to say 'it makes coffee as well' but
1. I'm a bit frightened to add such a complex plugin into a highly reliable tool as Total Commander is
2. no x64 version is available
3. the tool looks a bit abandoned

thus, I'm proposing here a much simpler feature, something like:
In the right mouse button menu on a tab, in addition to lock and rename, a format option allowing to choose text and background colours for the tab text (if it's not asking too much, also bold, italic and underline); for locked tabs the attributes should persist when the program is restarted.
nothing more

Post Reply