[WCX] Wcx6432: 64-to-32 bit WCX plugin wrapper

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 969
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex »

Hi TW,

1. Create a folder for wrapper containing two files, e.g. %commander_path%\wcx\wcx6432\.

wcx6432c.dll
wcx6432s.exe


2. Copy wcx6432.ini into TC's main folder, adjust path in %commander_path%\wcx6432.ini accordingly.

%commander_path%\wcx6432.ini

Code: Select all

[Wcx6432]
Client=%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcx\wcx6432\wcx6432c.dll
Server=%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcx\wcx6432\wcx6432s.exe
3. Copy four wrapper files into MSI-Plus folder, e.g. %commander_path%\wcx\msi-plus\.

wcx6432c.dll
wcx6432s.exe
wcx6432.wcx64
wcx6432.ini


4. In the msi-plus folder, rename wcx6432.ini to msi-plus.wcx64.ini and adjust path to point to \wcx\msi-plus\msi-plus.

%commander_path%\wcx\msi-plus\msi-plus.wcx64.ini

Code: Select all

[Wcx6432]
Client=%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcx\msi-plus\wcx6432c.dll
Server=%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcx\msi-plus\wcx6432s.exe
Note that you cannot pack files using the wrapper yet, e.g. currently you cannot create CHM-files via the CHM-Dir.wcx plugin.
TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 383
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW »

thanks a lot, i did not copy the server into each plug dir.
and guess what? it finally worked that way, no idea why it dod not before and does now.


but i will copy the server as well now, to be safe.


yes, i know, we can only view/extract.
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

I'll fix loader and client to allow multiple simultaneous plugins. There will be no need in multiple client module copies for next beta.
User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 969
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex »

Cool, looking forward to it. :)
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

I've fixed multiple instance issue and also added CanYouHandleThisFile/CanYouHandleThisFileW support so now wrapper should be able to open archives with non-registered extensions too.


Wcx6432 Beta 124

Now 4th installation step is not required and shouldn't be used and I've removed at all. :D
User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 969
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex »

Rock'n'roll, it flies! The former issues with the GAUP plugin are fixed.

Thank you!!! :D

EDIT: Well, packing is not supported yet. I was too excited for a moment.
Last edited by deus-ex on 2016-06-14, 22:42 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 383
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW »

yes, it's now a lot easier to install, thanks. :)
Packing is now supported, too
hm... are you sure? for me, it still throws the same error: error packing files!
and i have deleted and replaced all the old files, also it doesn't mention packing support on the initial posting.
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)
User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 969
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex »

TW wrote:hm... are you sure? for me, it still throws the same error: error packing files!
Damn, you're right, packing is not yet supported. Replacing my Total Commander installation folder with one containing the updated wcx_Wcx6432_124, the other wrapper by Dec must have slipped in by mistake. It still was loaded resident to memory, thus the related wrapper files weren't properly replaced in the CHMDir plugin folder.

I'm confident though this feature will be available soon.
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

I've just added callback passing from plugin to TC so progress bars, requests for passwords or change volume notifications (where these are supported) should work. However in my test with Total7zip there was something strange with progress bars (plugin have called callback, wrapper have passed its call to TC but progress bars were empty - perhaps something is strange with my TCx64). So callbacks should be tested more.

Wcx6432 Beta 140

I think packing will be added next, just as deleting, because these functions are familiar to me.
Last edited by MVV on 2016-06-15, 08:32 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 383
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW »

very good news. :) i am patient. well, i have to be. :lol:

a mirror. http://vicebuilds6.bplaced.net/wcx_Wcx6432_140.cab
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6450
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Sorry but what is now the correct installation of the actual beta ?
There is nothing in the CAB and the thread above is just confusing.
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Horst.Epp,
Actual installation instructions are in the first post.
There only was a temporary trouble with loading multiple plugins that have caused an additional step but it was fixed.
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6450
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

MVV wrote:Horst.Epp,
Actual installation instructions are in the first post.
There only was a temporary trouble with loading multiple plugins that have caused an additional step but it was fixed.
Ok, I installed it for the MSI-Plus packer.
I can open the actual Calibre-2.58.0.msi
But when I try to open the calibre.cab from inside of the streams sub-dir
it hangs TC 9.0b1
Some other MSIs can open fine including the CABs from inside.
TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 383
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW »

Horst.Epp wrote:
MVV wrote:Horst.Epp,
Actual installation instructions are in the first post.
There only was a temporary trouble with loading multiple plugins that have caused an additional step but it was fixed.
Ok, I installed it for the MSI-Plus packer.
I can open the actual Calibre-2.58.0.msi
But when I try to open the calibre.cab from inside of the streams sub-dir
it hangs TC 9.0b1
Some other MSIs can open fine including the CABs from inside.
this works for me, but it takes some time. TC x86 plus plain plugin is a lot faster. this is also true for extracting files.

but the question is: why would you want to open this .cab? there is no point in doing this, all the files in that .cab can be found under "Files".
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

I've downloaded calibre-2.58.0.msi and tested with builds 100 and 140, and 100 was much faster in extracting that stream (almost like in 32-bit TC).
It seems that slowdowns are caused by progress callbacks. I'll check if I can do something to make it faster (maybe an option to disable progress callback).
Post Reply