[WCX] Wcx6432: 64-to-32 bit WCX plugin wrapper

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2016-06-20, 12:49 UTC

i did read and follow this thread. the calibre-2.58.0.msi contains almost 700 files too, and i failed to see the slightest time penalty using the wrapper, so i was confused what you guys are talking about.

i will try the gaup plugin later, i haven't used that for years...
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3428
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-09-26, 14:48 UTC

Horst.Epp wrote:Do you plan to also add support for WLX plugins ?
I think it should be possible if plugin follows WXX API and doesn't communucate with TC in other ways (e.g. by subclassing TC windows).
I think I will make wrappers for another kinds of plugins but I don't know will they work with specific plugins or not.
Do you still plan or work on WLX wrapper feature ?
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.449)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.50ß4 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.955 (x64)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8383
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-09-26, 16:22 UTC

Sorry, I haven't worked on WLX wrapper yet.
I still have such plans, but I don't know when I find enough time for these plans. :)

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2016-09-26, 18:11 UTC

that's ok, love your plugins. i have not tested all of them, but i think i really should!
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8383
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-09-30, 20:51 UTC

Download link in first post updated (latest public build is 212).

For some strange reason DialogBoxParam function called by 32-bit plugin hangs when it gets TOTALCMD64 Pack window as a parent - therefore configure packer button don't work. If I pass TOTALCMD64 main window as a parent, function returns zero... I've also tried TOTALCMD32 Pack window, and got zero again with error 1400 (invalid window handle), but it works fine with TOTALCMD32 main window.
I've also tried with zero parent and with Windows Calculator window as parent and it works fine...
Perhaps it is something related to blocked main TC thread but with direct function call it is blocked too... Even simple MessageBox with TC window as parent hangs...

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8383
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-10-02, 16:05 UTC

I've added simple message processing into waiting for ConfigurePacker return loop, and it now works somehow! But it may still hang if I e.g. click TC window...

Wcx6432 Beta 224

Also server program is now started from TC directory to prevent current directory locking.

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2016-10-02, 19:54 UTC

good news, thanks. :D
But it may still hang if I e.g. click TC window...
yes, but we don't need to do this.
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8383
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-10-02, 21:06 UTC

I understand that we don't need to do this, but this may happen accidentally, and it would be nice to avoid such problems...

User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 744
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex » 2016-10-11, 17:47 UTC

MVV wrote:Wcx6432 Beta 224

Also server program is now started from TC directory to prevent current directory locking.
Hi MVV,

unfortunately I cannot use the latest release as Kaspersky Internet Security prompts with the following warning:

Image: http://i.imgur.com/Ze7Wo7x.png

I was hoping that several Kaspersky database updates later the issue would be gone, but still no luck. I also tried defining a exclusion rule, and while this does prevent triggering the virus alarm, it also prevents loading the file Wcx6432.wcx64 that has to be located in the plugin folders (e.g. CHMDir.wcx64). The previous release v1.0.1.212 does not trigger this issue with Kaspersky.

Could you try to alter your source code in order to generate a different set of binaries of the recent release v1.0.1.224? Thank you for your kind support in advance.
Best regards
deus-ex

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11329
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2016-10-11, 18:33 UTC

deus-ex,
https://scan.kaspersky.com/
Should handle false positives as well.

HTH
Roman
Last edited by Hacker on 2016-10-11, 19:23 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8383
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-10-11, 18:55 UTC

deus-ex,
I believe this is a generic heuristic detect which is done by some weird scoring algorithm... I can alter source code of course but it is not a panacea...

It is impossible to finally get rid of false heuristic detects because AV paranoia only increases, and it is not only Kaspersky. You can try adding some icon to EXE using e.g. Resource Hacker but I don't know if it will help. BTW incorrect icon may only increase number of detects (compare this one w/o icon and the same one with an icon). The funniest thing is that some AVs call it a downloader while it doesn't use any network API.

Finally, it is interesting why your Kaspersky finds loader module suspicious, it has no detects, latest one too (perhaps dynamic analyzer finds something here).

Hacker,
Thanks for the link, I've clicked I disagree with scan results button there. :D

User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 744
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Post by *deus-ex » 2016-10-12, 08:58 UTC

MVV and Hacker,

Thank you both for your support, much appreciated.
Best regards
deus-ex

Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 2011-10-09, 21:32 UTC

Post by *Orochi » 2017-12-12, 01:45 UTC

2MVV
Super job with the wrapper.
Helped me a lot with gaup and few other plugins.
You should put it on totalcmd at some point.

iana
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 342
Joined: 2010-07-27, 22:00 UTC

Post by *iana » 2018-01-02, 02:46 UTC

@MVV tanks for this wrapper
a question
what's the difference between yours and Dec's wrapper
http://tc4shell.com/binary/decTC32HostSetup.exe
I installed Dec's wrapper a few years ago but it would seam it's abandoned (it's from 2014 4 years and no update)
anybody tried both wrappers can someone tell the difference between them
any chance for a wfx (wlx) wrapper as there are quite a few older 32bit wfx plugins which seam abandoned

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8383
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2018-01-09, 07:10 UTC

iana,
My wrapper uses hands-written interprocess communication, it is designed for portable use and it is really tiny.
Dec's wrapper uses COM for 64-to-32 bit communication so it have to be registered in OS, also it has much greater size, but it may be faster in some cases (though I haven't tested it too much).

I've tried to start WLX wrapper but there were some GUI communication problems that I haven't solved yet.

Post Reply