Is it possible to add [Enter] to a shortcut sequence?

English support forum

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Is it possible to add [Enter] to a shortcut sequence?

Post by *hiccup » 2018-05-17, 17:57 UTC

I have learned that you can create a shortcut performing not only a single, but also sequential commands. (separated by a comma)
Now I want to create a shortcut for a recognized TC command, followed by the [Enter] key.

Is that possible, without resorting to something like AutoHotkey?

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1230
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Post by *tuska » 2018-05-17, 18:08 UTC

Type in cm_CommandBrowser in TC's commandline, then type in return in field "Filter:"

Code: Select all

cm_Return	1001	Simulate: Return pressed
cm_Return should be what you are looking for.

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup » 2018-05-17, 18:27 UTC

tuska wrote:Type in cm_CommandBrowser in TC's commandline, then type in return in field "Filter:"

Code: Select all

cm_Return	1001	Simulate: Return pressed
cm_Return should be what you are looking for.
Ah, thanks tuska.
I had tried filtering on 'enter', but not on 'return'.

But, the next problem arises...

I want to use this as a shortcut to copy a file(s) from the left panel to the right.
Using only 'cm_Copy' presents a dialogue pane before performing the copy.
If you then press 'Enter', the popup closes, and the copy is performed.

I want to create a shortcut that doesn't bother me with this inbetween popup dialogue.

But when I simulate what I can do manually, with the shortcut: "cm_Copy,cm_Return" something different happens:

The dialogue pane will show up and remain in focus anyway.
Then, after pressing [Enter] myself, the copy is performed, but after that the copied file will open.

This looks like some timing issue?
Is there a solution for that too?

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1230
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Post by *tuska » 2018-05-17, 19:07 UTC

Try the following:
Configuration > Options... > Operation > Calculate space occupied by subdirectories: UNTICK "before copying/deleting"
then press F5...

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup » 2018-05-17, 19:31 UTC

tuska wrote:Try the following:
Configuration > Options... > Operation > Calculate space occupied by subdirectories: UNTICK "before copying/deleting"
then press F5...
I tried that, but it doesn't make a difference.

I have now resorted in solving it by creating an AutoHotkey link.
That works perfectly.
Even without creating any pause between the 'copy' and 'enter' commands.
So the issue doesn't seem to be related to timing between the commands.
I'm still a bit curious why it doesn't work 'the TC way'.

Thanks for your attention and suggestions tuska.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11025
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-05-17, 22:17 UTC

hiccup,
the shortcut: "cm_Copy,cm_Return"
This will not work.
I'm still a bit curious why it doesn't work 'the TC way'.
Because
after pressing [Enter] myself, the copy is performed
this is when cm_Copy officially ends and cm_Return can start.

HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36439
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-18, 09:50 UTC

No, this doesn't work - cm_return is only sent to the main program, not to any open dialog boxes.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply