This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is it possible to add [Enter] to a shortcut sequence?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 11:57 am    Post subject: Is it possible to add [Enter] to a shortcut sequence? Reply with quote

I have learned that you can create a shortcut performing not only a single, but also sequential commands. (separated by a comma)
Now I want to create a shortcut for a recognized TC command, followed by the [Enter] key.

Is that possible, without resorting to something like AutoHotkey?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuska
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 1091

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Type in cm_CommandBrowser in TC's commandline, then type in return in field "Filter:"
Code:
cm_Return   1001   Simulate: Return pressed


cm_Return should be what you are looking for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tuska wrote:
Type in cm_CommandBrowser in TC's commandline, then type in return in field "Filter:"
Code:
cm_Return   1001   Simulate: Return pressed

cm_Return should be what you are looking for.


Ah, thanks tuska.
I had tried filtering on 'enter', but not on 'return'.

But, the next problem arises...

I want to use this as a shortcut to copy a file(s) from the left panel to the right.
Using only 'cm_Copy' presents a dialogue pane before performing the copy.
If you then press 'Enter', the popup closes, and the copy is performed.

I want to create a shortcut that doesn't bother me with this inbetween popup dialogue.

But when I simulate what I can do manually, with the shortcut: "cm_Copy,cm_Return" something different happens:

The dialogue pane will show up and remain in focus anyway.
Then, after pressing [Enter] myself, the copy is performed, but after that the copied file will open.

This looks like some timing issue?
Is there a solution for that too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuska
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 1091

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the following:
Configuration > Options... > Operation > Calculate space occupied by subdirectories: UNTICK "before copying/deleting"
then press F5...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tuska wrote:
Try the following:
Configuration > Options... > Operation > Calculate space occupied by subdirectories: UNTICK "before copying/deleting"
then press F5...


I tried that, but it doesn't make a difference.

I have now resorted in solving it by creating an AutoHotkey link.
That works perfectly.
Even without creating any pause between the 'copy' and 'enter' commands.
So the issue doesn't seem to be related to timing between the commands.
I'm still a bit curious why it doesn't work 'the TC way'.

Thanks for your attention and suggestions tuska.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10887
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hiccup,
Quote:
the shortcut: "cm_Copy,cm_Return"

This will not work.

Quote:
I'm still a bit curious why it doesn't work 'the TC way'.

Because
Quote:
after pressing [Enter] myself, the copy is performed

this is when cm_Copy officially ends and cm_Return can start.

HTH
Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35745
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, this doesn't work - cm_return is only sent to the main program, not to any open dialog boxes.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group