How to search for folder name inside an archive?

English support forum

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
rvheddeg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-01-20, 14:07 UTC

Compressed files?

Post by *rvheddeg » 2018-06-04, 13:55 UTC

Is it possible to search for directory names inside a compressed file? If yes, how?

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1259
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Post by *tuska » 2018-06-04, 18:04 UTC

1. In TC go to the folder containing the compressed files
2. Press "ALT + SHIFT + F7" -> Find in separate process (see Help - Keyboard)
3. Enter the folder name in field "Search for:"
4. Tick "Search archives (all except for UC2)"
5. Click on button "Start search"

rvheddeg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-01-20, 14:07 UTC

Not in Windows 7 backup files

Post by *rvheddeg » 2018-06-11, 13:19 UTC

Thanks for the help, but this seems not to work on Windows 7 Backup files (Created in Windows 10 with the windows backup program).

I have created such a file and then removed everything except a file in a subdirectory. Doing that I noticed 3 strange issues:

- In these windows backup file, if you remove the last file in a subdirectory, the whole tree is removed up to a non null tree.
- If you copy the contents from a windows zip into another zip, the 2 zip files have a different size (the latter is greater. See also included samples)
- The search for directories don't work on those windows zip files...

To recreate I have uploaded 2 files (for 30 days):

Windows Backup.zip
TC made Backup.zip

Try to search for "Postman", only the "Tc made Backup.zip" is returned

Version: Total Commander (x64) 9.12

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3110
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Not in Windows 7 backup files

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2018-06-11, 13:35 UTC

rvheddeg wrote:Thanks for the help, but this seems not to work on Windows 7 Backup files (Created in Windows 10 with the windows backup program).

I have created such a file and then removed everything except a file in a subdirectory. Doing that I noticed 3 strange issues:

- In these windows backup file, if you remove the last file in a subdirectory, the whole tree is removed up to a non null tree.
- If you copy the contents from a windows zip into another zip, the 2 zip files have a different size (the latter is greater. See also included samples)
- The search for directories don't work on those windows zip files...

To recreate I have uploaded 2 files (for 30 days):

Windows Backup.zip
TC made Backup.zip

Try to search for "Postman", only the "Tc made Backup.zip" is returned

Version: Total Commander (x64) 9.12
Windows backup files are not normal zip files.
Most backup programs produce binary files which can't be searched.
IF you want that use a backup program which can mount its backup files
as drive, Macrium Reflect for example.
Windows 10 Home x64 October 2018 Update
Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.134)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.921 (x64)

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6283
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-06-11, 14:03 UTC

2Horst.Epp
Please, verify the things you say before posting untruths.

2rvheddeg
This is normal behavior. ZIP archives can contain directories or relative paths. The latter won't be found with TC search. Compare these outputs:

Code: Select all

C:\>unzip_6.00_win32.exe -l "h:\tc-made-backup.zip"
Archive:  h:/tc-made-backup.zip
  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
        0  11.06.2018 14:44   C/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/
        0  10.06.2018 20:08   C/Users/tmp/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/tmp/AppData/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/tmp/AppData/Roaming/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/tmp/AppData/Roaming/Postman/
        0  10.06.2018 20:08   C/Users/tmp/AppData/Roaming/Postman/QuotaManager-journal
---------                     -------
        0                     7 files

Code: Select all

C:\>unzip_6.00_win32.exe -l "h:\windows-backup.zip"
Archive:  h:/windows-backup.zip
  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
        0  10.06.2018 20:08   C/Users/tmp/AppData\Roaming\Postman\QuotaManager-journal
---------                     -------
        0                     1 file
In the first output you see the directories themselves are in the archive. In the second output you see only a relative path to a file, but not any directories.

This is not a bug, although it's not a good behavior either. I myself stumbled upon this issue years ago - see this post/thread in the German subforum.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

rvheddeg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-01-20, 14:07 UTC

Post by *rvheddeg » 2018-06-12, 08:53 UTC

@Dalai,

This explains the issue quite well. I thought something like that already, but couldn't find any info for it.

It's sad though that this issue is still not fixed. For a user, there's really no difference between the 2 zip files. So TC is letting me down on one of them... without given any notice.

And it is as you say in your old post, TC can traverse both those files as if they are the same.

(Do you know if one can mix absolute (~directories) and relative paths in 1 zip file. If not, TC could use this when searching those files...)

EDIT: I just tested this and it seems indeed possible to mix those. But the directory separators change from "/" to "\"...

Is there any hope that this will be fixed, euh... I mean improved eventually? (I know that you are not the author)

Thanks for the explanation!
Rvheddeg

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6283
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-06-12, 14:23 UTC

rvheddeg wrote:Is there any hope that this will be fixed, euh... I mean improved eventually? (I know that you are not the author)
Good question. I certainly hope so, but I also imagine that it's a lot of work for Ghisler to do it. In the end, only he can answer this question.
Thanks for the explanation!
You're welcome.
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Post Reply