This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to search for folder name inside an archive?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rvheddeg
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:55 am    Post subject: Compressed files? Reply with quote

Is it possible to search for directory names inside a compressed file? If yes, how?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuska
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 1091

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. In TC go to the folder containing the compressed files
2. Press "ALT + SHIFT + F7" -> Find in separate process (see Help - Keyboard)
3. Enter the folder name in field "Search for:"
4. Tick "Search archives (all except for UC2)"
5. Click on button "Start search"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rvheddeg
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:19 am    Post subject: Not in Windows 7 backup files Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, but this seems not to work on Windows 7 Backup files (Created in Windows 10 with the windows backup program).

I have created such a file and then removed everything except a file in a subdirectory. Doing that I noticed 3 strange issues:

- In these windows backup file, if you remove the last file in a subdirectory, the whole tree is removed up to a non null tree.
- If you copy the contents from a windows zip into another zip, the 2 zip files have a different size (the latter is greater. See also included samples)
- The search for directories don't work on those windows zip files...

To recreate I have uploaded 2 files (for 30 days):

Windows Backup.zip
TC made Backup.zip

Try to search for "Postman", only the "Tc made Backup.zip" is returned

Version: Total Commander (x64) 9.12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2915
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:35 am    Post subject: Re: Not in Windows 7 backup files Reply with quote

rvheddeg wrote:
Thanks for the help, but this seems not to work on Windows 7 Backup files (Created in Windows 10 with the windows backup program).

I have created such a file and then removed everything except a file in a subdirectory. Doing that I noticed 3 strange issues:

- In these windows backup file, if you remove the last file in a subdirectory, the whole tree is removed up to a non null tree.
- If you copy the contents from a windows zip into another zip, the 2 zip files have a different size (the latter is greater. See also included samples)
- The search for directories don't work on those windows zip files...

To recreate I have uploaded 2 files (for 30 days):

Windows Backup.zip
TC made Backup.zip

Try to search for "Postman", only the "Tc made Backup.zip" is returned

Version: Total Commander (x64) 9.12

Windows backup files are not normal zip files.
Most backup programs produce binary files which can't be searched.
IF you want that use a backup program which can mount its backup files
as drive, Macrium Reflect for example.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.112)
TC 9.20rc1 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6046
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Horst.Epp
Please, verify the things you say before posting untruths.

2rvheddeg
This is normal behavior. ZIP archives can contain directories or relative paths. The latter won't be found with TC search. Compare these outputs:
Code:
C:\>unzip_6.00_win32.exe -l "h:\tc-made-backup.zip"
Archive:  h:/tc-made-backup.zip
  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
        0  11.06.2018 14:44   C/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/
        0  10.06.2018 20:08   C/Users/tmp/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/tmp/AppData/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/tmp/AppData/Roaming/
        0  11.06.2018 15:03   C/Users/tmp/AppData/Roaming/Postman/
        0  10.06.2018 20:08   C/Users/tmp/AppData/Roaming/Postman/QuotaManager-journal
---------                     -------
        0                     7 files


Code:
C:\>unzip_6.00_win32.exe -l "h:\windows-backup.zip"
Archive:  h:/windows-backup.zip
  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
        0  10.06.2018 20:08   C/Users/tmp/AppData\Roaming\Postman\QuotaManager-journal
---------                     -------
        0                     1 file


In the first output you see the directories themselves are in the archive. In the second output you see only a relative path to a file, but not any directories.

This is not a bug, although it's not a good behavior either. I myself stumbled upon this issue years ago - see this post/thread in the German subforum.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rvheddeg
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Dalai,

This explains the issue quite well. I thought something like that already, but couldn't find any info for it.

It's sad though that this issue is still not fixed. For a user, there's really no difference between the 2 zip files. So TC is letting me down on one of them... without given any notice.

And it is as you say in your old post, TC can traverse both those files as if they are the same.

(Do you know if one can mix absolute (~directories) and relative paths in 1 zip file. If not, TC could use this when searching those files...)

EDIT: I just tested this and it seems indeed possible to mix those. But the directory separators change from "/" to "\"...

Is there any hope that this will be fixed, euh... I mean improved eventually? (I know that you are not the author)

Thanks for the explanation!
Rvheddeg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6046
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rvheddeg wrote:
Is there any hope that this will be fixed, euh... I mean improved eventually? (I know that you are not the author)

Good question. I certainly hope so, but I also imagine that it's a lot of work for Ghisler to do it. In the end, only he can answer this question.

Quote:
Thanks for the explanation!

You're welcome.
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group