How to save and reuse different views (panels, tabs, etc.)?

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
teeceeuser
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2018-06-21, 15:06 UTC

How to save and reuse different views (panels, tabs, etc.)?

Post by *teeceeuser »

I searched, but haven't found an answer to the following. Maybe it's because I'm tired after spending some (enjoyable) time trying to tweak TC the way I would like it to work! :D

Say, I would like to have a particular view showing a directory tree, two panels and two specific sets of tabs, one above each panel. Can I save this view and replace it with a different (saved) view showing different panels and tabs above each panel?
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

You cannot save a view per se, but you can save and retrieve tabs with internal command and you can open a separate tree and place the file panels above each other with internal commands.

So you can make a button that does what you want automaticallly by using a chain of commands, where one is a userdefined em_command for loading your tabs.

So save your tabs (right click on tab) to %COMMANDER_PATH%\mytabs.tab

Make this userdefined command (use cm_CommandBrowser)

Code: Select all

[em_openmytabs]
cmd=LOADTABS %COMMANDER_PATH%\mytabs.tab
Make this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_SeparateTree1,cm_VerticalPanels 1,em_openmytabs

wcmicons.dll,20
My view


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (including TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA in the first line and -1 in the last line).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
teeceeuser
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2018-06-21, 15:06 UTC

Post by *teeceeuser »

Thank you for your assistance. I slowly worked it out!

There is a sound played every time I click the button. I don't know if this is normal or an indication of an error/warning.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2teeceeuser
There is a sound played every time I click the button
That is because i worte it wrongly - the usercommnad should be:

[em_openmytabs]
cmd=OPENTABS %COMMANDER_PATH%\mytabs.tab
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
teeceeuser
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2018-06-21, 15:06 UTC

Post by *teeceeuser »

Even after I corrected it to "OPENTABS" the sound still played. :shock:

However, I discovered the answer! The sequence of entries for the button was important. What I have is "cm_SeparateTree1,cm_VerticalPanels 2,cm_LeftActivateTab1,em_openmytabs". The sound occurred because "cm_LeftActivateTab1" was the first item on that line.
Post Reply