Is it possible to launch TC programatically?

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
sjlouis
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2016-10-19, 11:04 UTC

Is it possible to launch TC programatically?

Post by *sjlouis » 2018-07-09, 13:20 UTC

Hi,

I download a zipped file with a Python program and extract informations from the file in the archive. After I use TC editor to see the contents of the final file.

I should want to launch TC from Python and better launch TC editor. I haven't found if it's possible to launch an application programmatically and then how to do. Is it possible? How?

Thank you :D .

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36557
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-09, 20:27 UTC

Here are some instructions:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/12737150/launch-android-app-from-sl4a-script/12807197

For Total Commander, the app name is
com.ghisler.android.TotalCommander
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

sjlouis
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2016-10-19, 11:04 UTC

Post by *sjlouis » 2018-07-09, 20:35 UTC

Ok, thank you ghisler :D , I shall try it. And is it possible to launch directly TC Editor?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36557
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-09, 20:40 UTC

In droid.startActivity, you would need to set the packagename and classname fields to:
com.ghisler.android.TotalCommander
com.ghisler.android.TotalCommander.TCEditActivity

A file name can be passed in the uri field. The action should be android.intent.action.VIEW.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

sjlouis
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2016-10-19, 11:04 UTC

Post by *sjlouis » 2018-07-09, 20:50 UTC

Ok, I shall study these commands and do tests, I don't know them at all. I've found the same page you gave me but I don't understand the answer (I'm not easy in English), startActivity seems a little complex to use.

Thank you ghisler :D .

sjlouis
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2016-10-19, 11:04 UTC

Post by *sjlouis » 2018-07-11, 11:20 UTC

I've done tests but it doesn't work. In Fact Pydroid 3 doesn't use SL4A but Kivy. Qpython uses SL4A but my application doesn't work with Qpython which seems poorer and less recent.

I have to find how to launch an APK with Kivy even if there are more examples with SL4A.

Post Reply