How about adding an Icon cache

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
Scyphe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-08-09, 05:50 UTC

How about adding an Icon cache

Post by *Scyphe »

Hi Christian.

It's pretty slow to get the icons showing when you open a folder with many .exe files (download folder with many tools, installers and so on). While it doesn't slow down the interface itself it does feel quite slow when the icons are loaded from top to bottom. How about adding an icon cache that saves the icons for each folder based on file hash or similar? That way it would be pretty much instant, just like using the windows built-in icons.

With regards,
Daniel
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10982
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: How about adding an Icon cache

Post by *petermad »

Support++
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1009 (x64)
TC 3.30b5 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
funkymonk
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: 2013-12-04, 09:56 UTC

Re: How about adding an Icon cache

Post by *funkymonk »

Support++

This would also be very beneficial for network drives (where loading the icon is particularly slow).
Post Reply