Allow add/insert a command to chain for button from Choose command UI

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Allow add/insert a command to chain for button from Choose command UI

Post by *petermad »

Just append the command then then use cut+paste.

That is what I do in "View Modes" -> "Auto-run commands" dialog. In the "Change single button" dialog I right-click on the command in "Choose Command" and choose "Copy as text" and then paste it in the command field - but both ways are inconveniant - and defies having the "Choose Command" dialog - I can just as well cut-and-paste from totalcmd.inc / usercmd.ini then - which I often do.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
hi5
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 551
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Re: Allow add/insert a command to chain for button from Choose command UI

Post by *hi5 »

At some point keeping it "it has always been this way" (a single input control) causes more trouble than it might be worth, "script editors" in other programs offer a "line based action" approach which you can remove, insert, move up/down actions etc.

So perhaps keep it as is for those used to it, but offer a "Command Editor" for more complicated chain / those preferring more visual feedback preparing their "chain of commands" - here a mockup where I added a [+] button after the "search command" button, in the mockup it would open a new Gui as a child window similar to the "Directory menu editor" where you can add/remove items in order - there would need to be a "translation" of

cm_SelectAll,cm_Copy

to

cm_SelectAll
cm_Copy

and reverse it when saving it back into the single line input control:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/hi5/_resources/master/commandeditor.png

(this is of course a quick mockup/example - but a picture is worth a 1000 words sometimes)

Edit:

A somewhat related suggestion: At the moment everything is stored in INI format, which brings some limitation with readability/edit friendlyness

Why not introduce a "Total Commander Command Chain Script" format (MyTCScript.tccs files) which are "just" text files with one command per line, similar to INI but easier to edit

So in Ini format it currently is

Code: Select all

cmd=cm_SelectAll,cm_Copy
in the script file it would be

Code: Select all

[name of script]
cm_SelectAll
cm_Copy
the .tccs would be an internal association executing the script similar to batch files and the command in a button would simply be the path to the .tcss file - the editor as shown above would be able to be used from within TC or you can use your preferred editor.
F4MiniMenu (Forum) - Open selected file(s) from TC in defined editor(s) - A (minimalistic) clone of F4Menu
Source at GitHub (AutoHotkey). TCSyncComments (copy file comments)
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Allow add/insert a command to chain for button from Choose command UI

Post by *petermad »

2ghisler(Author)

This posting https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=437200#p437200 shows why adding the functionality of inserting commands via the GUI is needed.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
HalbschuhTouri
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: 2023-01-20, 09:33 UTC

Re: Allow add/insert a command to chain for button from Choose command UI

Post by *HalbschuhTouri »

Support ++++, including @petermad's additional requests/elaboration.
Post Reply