Quick View for Universal Viewer v1.0 beta2

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Quick View for Universal Viewer v1.0 beta2

Post by *majkinetor ! »

QuickView for Universal Viewer 1.0 beta2

This is first functional version of QuickView script.

It should work in standard Open/Save dialogs (Office 2003 is not supported) and TC itself. If people are happy, I will try to add some other interesting things, like Explorer and similar.

Quick View script will redirect file name to Viewer on UP, DOWN, RIGHT, LEFT keys.

You can use it like normal application. QV will handle everything: moving, resizing, ALT Tabing, closing dialog, TC, Viewer, and all things you could possible do.

v1.0 beta2
- Fixed tc problem with 2 arrows
- Some small improvements


There is no setup for now but you can edit ahk scrpt yourself:
Available options are:

Code: Select all

18    ;for the world
19    QV_HotKey           = ^q        ; set hotkey
20    QV_Options_Width    = 500       ; set initial width for dialogs
21    QV_Timer            = 50        ; set smaller value for smoother windows movement (>=10 ms)

PREREQUISITES

Go to Control Panel -> Folder Options -> View: ( TO WORK IN DIALOGS )
Uncheck: Hide extensions for known file types.

You also have to show TCs command line for faster display if it is hidden.
Check: Configuration->Layout->Show command line


TO DO
1. Add PAGEUP PAGEDOWN, Left Mouse Click
2. More docking options (including position in lower part of the active panel)
3. Options
Last edited by majkinetor ! on 2006-07-16, 20:04 UTC, edited 6 times in total.
Habemus majkam!

User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

2 Alex

I didn't implement Unicode message yet.
Habemus majkam!

tosbsas
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 428
Joined: 2003-12-19, 13:12 UTC
Location: Lima, Perú
Contact:

Post by *tosbsas »

what is the quickview exe for?? I still need to install autohotkey??

Ruben
A New Generation transformed by the Power of God

tosbsas
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 428
Joined: 2003-12-19, 13:12 UTC
Location: Lima, Perú
Contact:

Post by *tosbsas »

i see only an empty window saying - no file loaded

Ruben
A New Generation transformed by the Power of God

User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

what is the quickview exe for??
That is compiled version of script. For those that don't have Autohotkey
i see only an empty window saying - no file loaded
Where ? In TC you must move around with keybord arrows. In dialogs also. Mouse Clicks are not supported now.

If it still doesn't work, tell me do you have localised version of Windows ? If so, it is probably UNICODE problem that will be hopefuly fixed with new interface options Alex implemented, but I still didn't support.

On non-localised version on Windows it should work. I tested on about 20 computers here.
Habemus majkam!

tosbsas
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 428
Joined: 2003-12-19, 13:12 UTC
Location: Lima, Perú
Contact:

Post by *tosbsas »

I am on a german windows xp

I run the exe

Than search a file viewer.html - press crtl q

I get a on right side of tc a grey window that says -no file loaded

no arrow move will help


Ruben
A New Generation transformed by the Power of God

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

In open/save dialogs it works, ATViewer is attached to the right side of the dialog.

In TC after pressing Ctrl-Q I get the same message as tosbsas. It needs two presses of cursur up or down to get the first preview.
Preview is also not attached to the panel, in case this is what has to be expected.

Icfu
This account is for sale

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp »

It needs two presses of cursur up or down to get the first preview.
Confirmed. It worked before 1.0, but now doesn't.

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp »

2majkinetor !
You forgot Language files. Viewer can't start without them. At last English is needed.

User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

2all
Thx for the feedback.

I will try fix it as soon as possible.
Preview is also not attached to the panel, in case this is what has to be expected.
This is strange.... Alex, is it true in your case also ?
You forgot Language files.
Viewer in scripts directory will be used only if Registry location is empty. If users installed Viewer with your setup, it will be used instead. I will not add it anymore in the archive.
Habemus majkam!

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp »

Alex, is it true in your case also ?
No, it's attached.
If users installed Viewer with your setup, it will be used instead.
But if you supply viewer, you should supply languages. Or Viewer won't work.

User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

2 ALL

IMPORTANT
I forgot one little detail about dialogs.
You must enable file name extensions in order to work. I will probably make things work without this at the end, but now this was quick solution for some amount of work.


So:
Go to Control Panel -> Folder Options -> View:
Uncheck: Hide extensions for known file types

2 ALex
Does this solve your issue ?

2 Icfu
Can you send me a picture of your undocked QV with TC ?

2 tosbsas
Does confirmed bug describe your issue (the one icfu reported), or QV NEVER show the file ?
Is this behavior present in dialogs and TC or just one of them ?
Habemus majkam!

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp »

Does this solve your issue ?
I already have this unchecked.

tosbsas
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 428
Joined: 2003-12-19, 13:12 UTC
Location: Lima, Perú
Contact:

Post by *tosbsas »

icfu's solution works for me, but I still get an extra window that will not close - even when I close your exe

Ruben
A New Generation transformed by the Power of God

User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

2 all
I just checkout.
I can resize active(target) panel to the half of its height and dock Viewer bellow it.

Do you want this ?
Habemus majkam!

Post Reply