New version: logtail.wlx

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

New version: logtail.wlx

Post by *hpg »

http://liveordead.de/free/logtailpl.zip

0.1.1.12 beta

Features: user custom expressions and message types!

The included logtail.ini includes a pre-defined set of expressions for erros, warnings and urgent messages.
I hope the syntax is easy to understand, just custumize the expressions due to your needs.

Note: the expression syntax is using standard posix reg expressions.

Some fixes are also made.

I will maintain a hostory later, dependend on user feedback :-)

Have fun!
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

Oh I forgot!

The two expressions in the provided ini file are necessary because of performance issues a line is parsed against the defines message types twice. One in the file's line and one in the editor's line and the editor is replacing TAB to 3 spaces (custom behavior) so you need 2 expressions to match a line in the editor AND the file itself when using tabs as separators!
User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie »

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-10, 20:46 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
henrich.fukna
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2003-03-07, 10:18 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *henrich.fukna »

Yep, it works fine :D

Just now can you please:
- create popup menu items by the config ini (with shortcut)
- create layouts by the config ini

I have created 5 message types, but menu and layout has only and only 3 with default color :(

Henrich
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

Remarks:
If I use the original ini file then summary/history shows number of lines only - no number of warnings/errors.
Yes that's an error in the ini file, sorry.
Change all \t to a real tab in the ini file, use an editor which is able to insert real tabs :-)
If I use my own ini file then summary works correct but jump to next warning/error doesn't work correct. It works in this way: this function is looking for "W(TAB)" for warning, "E(TAB)" for error regardless of definitions in ini file.
That's right, it is still an early beta version, so this will be fixed later ...
User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie »

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-10, 20:44 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie »

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-10, 20:49 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

Bug? Or wrong INI-settings?
...
Yes, you're right, its a bug :-). The counts of message types are not correctly resetted when a file changes - what a bug...
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

When I install logtail as the last lister plugin, everything works ok but if not...I have a problem.
Viewing any other file (not log but: txt, gif, htm, etc...) with other plugins installed after logtail - when I press '1' (text only) and than '4' (image/multimedia) the logtail plugin turns on. Why? Do I have to change .ini file?
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

When I install logtail as the last lister plugin, everything works ok but if not...I have a problem.
Viewing any other file (not log but: txt, gif, htm, etc...) with other plugins installed after logtail - when I press '1' (text only) and than '4' (image/multimedia) the logtail plugin turns on. Why? Do I have to change .ini file?
I don't know. This should be no problem. The Plugins are just cycled and if I understand it right, the order is the order of installed plugins (visible in the list of the lister configuration).
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

Have you tried it? I did on WinNT and WinXP Pro.

It works this way for every plugin wich was installed after logtail (has greater index number than logtail).

So if I put it as the last one - everything is ok.
If I put it as the first one, it works so strange for every lister plugin.
If I put logtail e.g as number 6 - it works wrong for plugin 7, 8, 9... etc.
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40284
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Apparently logtail ALWAYS activates if the 'force' flag is set. This flag is set when the user presses the '4' key. But you should still be able to switch to the next plugin by pressing '4' another time. You can also sort plugins with Shift+Arrow keys.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

Big thanks Christian for the two tips. I wasn't aware of them.
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie »

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-10, 21:27 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40284
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sorry, my fault! Lister checks for the presence of the wrong function. I will correct it in TC 6.0.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply