Page 1 of 1

Start Menu: Ctrl-Cursor handicapped

Posted: 2007-05-09, 00:00 UTC
by StatusQuo
As said in another thread:
StatusQuo wrote:I'm waiting for the day, when even space gets treated as a stop character... :|
Originally this was meant as a joke - but I already found it: In TC Start Menu. :)
  • call Start / Change Start Menu
  • add an item and give it the title i.e.

    Code: Select all

    "Keyboard-Help TCmd                                 (cm_Keyboard, C+F1)"
    (copy and paste from here)
  • the cursor should now be at the end of the title
  • press Ctrl-cursor_left repeatedly to move towards beginning of the title string word-by-word
=> You will need about 38 keystrokes - because at every single space character between "TCmd" and "(cm_"
the cursor stops as if this character was an entire word - or a stop character.

[Edit:] Made spaces visible by putting into [ code ].

Posted: 2007-05-09, 01:40 UTC
by Dark One
( for those who don't get the last post, there were supposed to be about 35 spaces (blanks) between "d" and "(" )

apparently, boss uses edit-boxes that act that way (easier way was to press shift+F5); it is not the case with combo-boxes (try pressing F7)... the thread doesn't really belong in bugs, imo.

Posted: 2007-05-09, 02:02 UTC
by StatusQuo
Dark One wrote:( for those who don't get the last post, there were supposed to be about 35 spaces (blanks) between "d" and "(" )
Thanks. When posting this, I didn't remember that the spaces are not shown here.
Dark One wrote:apparently, boss uses edit-boxes that act that way (easier way was to press shift+F5);
Ah, I see. Confirmed. ;-)
I didn't come across files whith such a large number of spaces in the name, that's probably why I've never realized it there.
With titles it's another thing. Fortunately they don't have to be changed that often.
Dark One wrote:it is not the case with combo-boxes (try pressing F7)... the thread doesn't really belong in bugs, imo.
MOD: Feel free to move the thread as you like...

Posted: 2007-05-09, 09:33 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
I'm sorry, but I don't see where the error is. I'm using a standard Windows edit box in that dialog, and these behave that way...

Posted: 2007-05-09, 10:10 UTC
by Hacker
[mod]Moved to the TC7 beta discussion forum.

Hacker (Moderator)[/mod]

Posted: 2007-05-09, 21:33 UTC
by StatusQuo
ghisler(Author) wrote:I'm sorry, but I don't see where the error is. I'm using a standard Windows edit box in that dialog, and these behave that way...
Hm, strange. I can't remember seeing this "feature" in any other program yet.
The standard dialog "Open File" does not behave like this in (Mozilla/Firefox, Opera, Wordpad, Notepad, TextPad, Excel, PaintShopPro, Nero, ...).

Also InputBox() in VBS behaves normal here:

Code: Select all

   Dim String
   String = InputBox ("Test edit box", "Test edit box", "Content         -   Ctrl-cursor    works    normal    here")
(To try it out: Save code as file TEST.VBS;
windows scripting host must be active to call it via doubleclick;
if it's not, you can use CSRIPT.EXE test.vbs or WSRIPT.EXE test.vbs.)

:?: Is there maybe a parameter for the edit box used for TC, which sets the characters that are used as stop characters?

Posted: 2007-05-10, 01:02 UTC
by Dark One
ghisler(Author) wrote:I'm sorry, but I don't see where the error is
noone said it is an error. it is an oddity.
StatusQuo wrote:The standard dialog "Open File" does not behave like this in...
bad example. those are combo boxes.
ghisler(Author) wrote:I'm using a standard Windows edit box in that dialog, and these behave that way...
no they don't. (open keyboard or internet properties in control panel and test there.) i'm guessing it's a delphi 2 oddity. too bad i don't have any of my old programs anymore to confirm...

Posted: 2007-05-10, 01:43 UTC
by StatusQuo
Dark One wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:I'm using a standard Windows edit box in that dialog, and these behave that way...
no they don't. (open keyboard or internet properties in control panel and test there.) i'm guessing it's a delphi 2 oddity. too bad i don't have any of my old programs anymore to confirm...
Good point - wasn't TC 6.56 compiled with an older Delphi version?
All tested boxes behave "normal" there.

Posted: 2007-05-10, 21:37 UTC
by Hacker
StatusQuo,
wasn't TC 6.56 compiled with an older Delphi version?
Nope.

Roman

Posted: 2007-05-11, 17:04 UTC
by StatusQuo
Hacker wrote:
wasn't TC 6.56 compiled with an older Delphi version?
Nope.
Great, so normal behaviour was possible in TC 6.56 with the same compiler.

Maybe this (mis)behaviour belongs to the new "edit controls"
(which make jumping to more stop characters possible) then?

Still having a little hope that this can be fixed in the future (although it's not life-threatening)...

Posted: 2007-05-12, 09:46 UTC
by white
Dark One wrote:i'm guessing it's a delphi 2 oddity. too bad i don't have any of my old programs anymore to confirm...
Delphi 2 on my system does not have this oddity.

Posted: 2007-05-12, 10:05 UTC
by white
* Select Start / Change Start Menu
* Edit boxes for Command, Parameters and Start path behave normally!

(move this thread to bugs forum again?)

Posted: 2007-06-12, 07:18 UTC
by gfusi
Similar problem in comman line/parameter/edit (with "?") ?:
the underscore char "_" was not a stopping char in version 6.56, and stops now the forward/back word search (Ctrl-left/right)