webupdate tool 0.1.2: beta testers wanted

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

webupdate tool 0.1.2: beta testers wanted

Post by *hpg »

New version which checks for updates of itself when invoked with no params... http://www.liveordead.de/free/webupdater.zip

Hello, I'm writing on an automatically updater, mainly for my lister plugin

hpg_ed. The updater is called with 3 parameters:
1) name of the product to check its version
2) version of the currently installed version e.g. 1.0.4.5
3) url with info about available newest version

The url must point to a htm(l) document with the follwoing required meta tags:
<meta name="product" content="webupdater">
<meta name="description" content="automatically webupdate tool.">
<meta name="comment" content="Version 0.1 Freeware">
<meta name="version" content="0.1.1.0">
<meta name="downloadurl"
content="http://www.liveordead.de/free/webupdater.exe">

All necessary information for the update are available in the meta name tags and contents.

I'm looking for some people who can test the webupdater on its machines and tell me whether its working on other OSes like Win98, WinMe, W2K, NT4 etc. Also feedback is very welcomed.

Thanks

BTW: the webupdater is free an can be used in any non commercial plugin etc.

URL: http://liveordead.de/free/webupdater.exe
Last edited by hpg on 2003-08-24, 11:13 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

Well, this version is not user firendly :-(
You must type manulally (and exactly remember) all the parameters.

If about any other plugins I understand the owners (authors) must prepare the websites (their meta tags) according to the points above. IIt seems to be difficult to force them to do it.

Now I think the better solution is plugin versions. Of course it only informs what the current version is and doesn't download it (yet :-) ) but... now it seems to be more universal.
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

And it talks German to me :-( (Gleitkommadivision durch Null)

BTW: What parameters should I type for ypur plugin?
I put: webupdater.exe hpg_ed 1.x http://liveordead.de/free/hpg_ed_0513.zip

It started to download something (I don't know what and where) and in half of it it said it's corrupted.
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
rolandd
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 313
Joined: 2003-06-26, 09:02 UTC
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Post by *rolandd »

Well, I tried it also and gives me the same problems as djk mentioned. There is another thing I miss, that is a close button. The exact error when you try to download something is:
Download error occured!
Details: File info corrupt or incomplete!
The error Gleitkommadivision durch Null seems to occur when I use a version number that does not exist. Furthermore, it doesn't seem to matter what current version you fill in. It will download anyway.

Cheers,
Botak
Registered user #92105
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

djk wrote:And it talks German to me :-( (Gleitkommadivision durch Null)

BTW: What parameters should I type for ypur plugin?
I put: webupdater.exe hpg_ed 1.x http://liveordead.de/free/hpg_ed_0513.zip

It started to download something (I don't know what and where) and in half of it it said it's corrupted.
I downloads the newest version of hpg_ed in your case and it should not be corrupted.
The problem with the German is an not numeric value with "1.x" is suppose. If not, you probably found a real new bug.
Please tell me something about your environment, your OS memory etc.
rolandd
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 313
Joined: 2003-06-26, 09:02 UTC
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Post by *rolandd »

In case it helps:

I use Windows XP, 512 MB DDR memory, 1,4 Ghz. Broadband internet connection. The German error appears also when I use this line:
webupdater.exe hpg_ed 1.0 http://liveordead.de/free/hpg_ed_0515.zip

It does not appear when I use 0514 instead of 0515. It does appear when I use anything above 0514.

Botak
Registered user #92105
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

djk wrote:Well, this version is not user firendly :-(
You must type manulally (and exactly remember) all the parameters.
Ok, I think I did not mentioned the usage enough. I though its very easy to launch the webupdater as a tool with the commandline from within any plugin. The plugin itselfs knows best its version number and its info url. So the only thing you need to implement is a ShellExecute( ... "webupdater.exe", "myplugin", "myversion", "myupdateurl" )
The rest ist done by the tool itself.
If about any other plugins I understand the owners (authors) must prepare the websites (their meta tags) according to the points above. IIt seems to be difficult to force them to do it.
Of course that's real. But its better to provide these stupid 5 meta names in a separate html page than to get bug/change requests from earlier version of your plugin ;-)
Now I think the better solution is plugin versions. Of course it only informs what the current version is and doesn't download it (yet :-) ) but... now it seems to be more universal.
Please tell me more. It is not problem to implement a command line option to just inform the user about an update without the ability to download it.
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

In case it helps:

I use Windows XP, 512 MB DDR memory, 1,1 Ghz. Broadband internet connection.
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

djk wrote:And it talks German to me :-( (Gleitkommadivision durch Null)
This is past. I did not correctly handle exceptions. That means division by 0, :-(
BTW: What parameters should I type for ypur plugin?
I put: webupdater.exe hpg_ed 1.x http://liveordead.de/free/hpg_ed_0513.zip
To use it for hpg_ed simply make a batch file and enter the following:

Code: Select all

webupdater hpg_ed 0.5.12 http://liveordead.de/free/version.html
To use it for the webupdater itself make a batch file and enter the following:

Code: Select all

webupdater webupdater 0.1.1 http://liveordead.de/free/wuversion.html
I added these two pages to simplify automatically updates :-)
It started to download something (I don't know what and where) and in half of it it said it's corrupted.
Ok, probably the webupdater tried to download the zip-file, but assuming a plain version information page (html), I have to check this.
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

hpg wrote:
If about any other plugins I understand the owners (authors) must prepare the websites (their meta tags) according to the points above. It seems to be difficult to force them to do it.
Of course that's real. But its better to provide these stupid 5 meta names in a separate html page than to get bug/change requests from earlier version of your plugin ;-)
True but... the user must still run the updater to know if there is a new version :-) In my case I must write about 50 batches (I use so many plugins and packers) :-)
What else? The authors must prepare additional pages with the meta tags, separate for every plugin. Some of them are authors of several plugins and the info about the versions of all of them is on the one page. Now they would have to prepare additional pages and double update them.
hpg wrote:
Now I think the better solution is plugin versions. Of course it only informs what the current version is and doesn't download it (yet :-) ) but... now it seems to be more universal.
Please tell me more. It is not problem to implement a command line option to just inform the user about an update without the ability to download it.
You've misunderstood me. I like the download idea, I only said the I like the versions plugin (by Fabiochelly - http://totalcommander.free.fr/fabio/index.htm ) but it doesn't allow it yet (but there were such requests). I like the plugin cause I can use the current authors pages with the info about the plugins - the authors don't have to change anything now) and I get information about all changed plugins in one file - what was the previous version, and what is the current one.
hpg wrote:
djk wrote:And it talks German to me :-( (Gleitkommadivision durch Null)
This is past. I did not correctly handle exceptions. That means division by 0, :-(
Running like this: webupdater webupdater 0.1.1 http://liveordead.de/free/wuversion.html - I still get an error - I use webupdater 0.1.1.0
hpg wrote: To use it for hpg_ed simply make a batch file and enter the following:

Code: Select all

webupdater hpg_ed 0.5.12 http://liveordead.de/free/version.html
To use it for the webupdater itself make a batch file and enter the following:

Code: Select all

webupdater webupdater 0.1.1 http://liveordead.de/free/wuversion.html
Ok, it's a pity you haven't written it before, in the first post :-)
On the second page is a link - http://www.liveordead.de/free/webupdater.zip - it doesn't work :-(

What else:
It would be better to create any .ini file to keep parameters for all the plugins in one file and run the tool once.
It would be good to define in options where to download the files.
I don't believe users know which versions of plugins their use so.. it would be better if the tool check itself the current using version (of course the user would have to give the path to it once)
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
hpg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2003-03-16, 12:20 UTC

Post by *hpg »

What else:
...
It would be better to create any .ini file to keep parameters for all the plugins in one file and run the tool once.
Ok I took a look at the versions plugin by fabiochelly, its very comprehensive. But I need an update mechanism for my plugins. Ok, I think you're right, the update page should contains more than one plugin. Using meta tags has more disadvantages than advantages (probably).

Also there could be more than one source for a plugin available.
Many things to think about...
User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

hpg wrote:Ok I took a look at the versions plugin by fabiochelly, its very comprehensive. But I need an update mechanism for my plugins.
It's the line for your plugin (for versions plugin) using your version page: :-)

Code: Select all

hpg_ed|http://liveordead.de/free/version.htm|META|Version |"|0.5.x
hpg wrote: Many things to think about...
True.... ;-)
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13067
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

djk,
And it talks German to me (Gleitkommadivision durch Null)
LOL

:)

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Post Reply