New SFTP plugin available now

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
Umad
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-07-20, 09:20 UTC

Post by *Umad »

Thank you so much Ghisler! It works now.
hornerg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2012-08-21, 11:48 UTC

Exception in sftpplug.wfx

Post by *hornerg »

I thought I did everything as per the read-me, but I get the following when I try to connect to a BitVise server:

---------------------------
Total Commander 8.01
---------------------------
Exception in sftpplug.wfx:FsFindFirstW!
Access violation at address 0147E326. Read of address 00000000
Windows XP SP3 5.1 (Build 2600)

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
0147E326
444ECB 446BC9 446A22 423F38 445FE3 423F38
429556 42968C 652B87 652F1A 5DB277 5E1F69
656449 >4460A5 446A22 423F38 445FE3 423F38
6D00D8 4DC7BB 638BD5 444C24 444AD1 4460A5
444A0F 446DD6 444AD1 446A22 423F38 445FE3
423F38 445F51 423F38 4460A5 446A22 423F38
445FE3 423F38 429604 42969C 6D9F34
Raw:
445F51 423F38 446D9B 4267A5 447AA1 444AD1
446C59 425C14 4460A5 446A22 446A45 423F38
445FE3 423F38 402E4A 444AD1 444A1B 446B2C
443848 444ECB 444AD1 444A1B 446BC9 446C9D
4460A5 446A22 446A45 423F38 445FE3 423F38
429556 42968C 669CD2 40650F 6D764F 652B87
6D6BFB 4E7289 6D6781 652F1A 6D5128 5DB277
401DF9 401E61 4023C7 4023EF 4023EF 4033D0
40236D 4026B8 4036C1 6D2A8A 4023EF 6D6E13
5F0063 445F51 423F38 446D9B 444AD1 446CF1

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------

The server requires to be authenticated, but I get no message to accept its certificate and I can't see where TC might look for the server public key. Could that be the problem? The connection works with putty.

Hope someone can help and thanks Christian for an awesome product!

Graham
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41595
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Did you install the latest version 7.27.0 of the cUrl dlls? Unfortunately there seem to be functions missing in these dlls, because they crash within one of the dlls (not in TC itself).

Please use the previous version instead:
http://curl.haxx.se/gknw.net/7.26.0/dist-w32/curl-7.26.0-devel-mingw32.zip
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
baiyq
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-03-15, 08:28 UTC

Post by *baiyq »

Using 7.27 version have problem . 7.24 ver works .
hornerg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2012-08-21, 11:48 UTC

[solved]

Post by *hornerg »

Thanks to you both. All working nicely, now. :D
Sob
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 923
Joined: 2005-01-19, 17:33 UTC

Post by *Sob »

The problem comes from different OpenSSL version. cURL 7.26.0 has version 0.9.8x, while 7.27.0 upgraded to 1.0.0j. But libssh2.dll is identical to the last byte in both, i.e. it wasn't recompiled. And it seems that it doesn't like new OpenSSL. With libssh2.dll compiled against OpenSSL 1.0.0 it works fine.

For use with TC there's no problem staying with 7.26.0 for now. All three used dlls are current (they still fix vulnerabilities in OpenSSL 0.9.8 branch and 0.9.8x is currently latest from there).
Faterson
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-10-10, 17:19 UTC

Not Working with HostGator?

Post by *Faterson »

Hi,

My sites are on HostGator, which I believe is one of the top webhosting providers globally, and I'd like to manage the sites using TotalCommander. WinSCP is inconvenient compared to TotalCommander.

However, I'm unable to access the server using SFTP after installing the plugin. Only simple FTP access works. I contacted HostGator support, they tried it from their own computer and only confirmed to me that SFTP TotalCommander just doesn't work with them. There was no further explanation.

Do I need to give up the idea of using TotalCommander to manage the sites? What could be the reason for SFTP not working?

Thank you for any help.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41595
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Maybe they don't support the SFTP protocol, only SCP? SFTP requires SSH2 to work. You can try with the tool Putty whether you can access the server at all via SSH, and then try to connect via SFTP.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Faterson
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-10-10, 17:19 UTC

Post by *Faterson »

Thank you for the reply! A fellow TotalCommander & HostGator user helped me out and everything is OK now. :) The information from HostGator tech support was misleading; the SFTP plugin in TotalCommander does work on HostGator's servers.

(What was happening, is I couldn't locate the plugin's interface within Network Neighbourhood because I inadvertently installed the plugin into the incorrect, default totalcmd location. But totalcmd is elsewhere on my computer. I probably just quickly clicked to accept the default location while installing the SFTP plugin. Perhaps the plugin could be improved so that it "self-locates" where the totalcmd directory actually is, and installs correctly into it? The other plugin, openssl+ssh64.zip, does just that. I believe it automatically located my totalcmd directory, and installed itself into it, in a 64 sub-directory. Since this worked so smoothly and automatically, I probably assumed the SFTP plugin behaves the same way during installation, and I mistakenly approved its installation into the incorrect location. Also, TotalCommander's Configuration dialog window could perhaps be made to signal to the user that the SFTP plugin is not installed in the correct path. The way it was, the dialog window seemed to be telling me that the plugin is installed just as it should be. It's only after my friend reminded me to check the location of the totalcmd directory that I realized the SFTP plugin wasn't installed where it needs to be.)
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3702
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

Just for the records:
Default location of SFTP-Plugin is %COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wfx\sftpplug
Default location of 32-bit openssl files is: %COMMANDER_PATH%
Default location of 64-bit openssl files is: %COMMANDER_PATH%\64
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 224
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath »

there's something strange happening with my site: it can correctly connect and download files, but can't upload anything. All I get when trying to upload is a generic error. WinSCP with the same credentials instead upload and download without problems
I am using curl-7.26.0-devel-mingw32.zip
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3702
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

2Nigurrath: Try to change settings for "ZLIB compression" and "SCP transfer"

... I hope you are using most recent version of SFTP V1.3
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 224
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath »

I tried with both settings but unfortunately, the situation won't change.

1. upload of new files works
2. overwriting existing one instead not, even if the remote file has chmod 777.
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41595
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

What about the permissions of the target FOLDER?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
derpfeffi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-11-28, 18:52 UTC

Post by *derpfeffi »

i have a problem with the new Version 7.28.1 - the date is November 20 of 2012

the two files are sored in the plugin directory and in the commander directure and in the system32 directory (all tested) - but the plugin says:

Please put libssh.dll and libeay32.dll either .......

is the a bug with the new 7.28.1 l?

thank you for reply
Post Reply