Ctrl-U and RAR archives

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

mslav
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2009-09-18, 10:59 UTC
Location: Russia

Ctrl-U and RAR archives

Post by *mslav »

Another bug found when working with RAR archives. When you open the archive in the LEFT panel and then press Ctrl+U (swap panels) it displays the error message and exits the archive content:

mslav.intense.ru/1-before-Ctrl-U.png
mslav.intense.ru/2-after-Ctrl-U.png

Amazing thing that when you open the archive in the RIGHT panel, it swaps without error! But if you press Ctrl+U again (when the archive moves to the LEFT panel) it again displays the error message and exits the archive content.

Maybe the problem with displaying file time and the problem with panels swapping are connected somehow? I am a programmer and from my professional experience I know, that such sort of problems very often caused by incorrect stack usage. For example, your write:

void ShowRAR(wchar_t* archive_name)
{
wchar_t file_name[MAX_PATH];
FILETIME file_time;

....
}

And if somehow you copy to file_name more than MAX_PATH chars, you can destroy the value of file_time structure. But on some computers/systems it will not happened due to stack alignment etc. When I encounter such strange and not reproducing bugs in my programs first of all I check usage of all stack variables.

UPDATE:

I have tested panel swapping with ZIP file and also found a bug but a slight different one. When you open ZIP archive in the LEFT panel and then press Ctrl+U it swaps panels without error message but clear the list of files inside the archive:

mslav.intense.ru/3-before-ZIP-Ctrl-U.png
mslav.intense.ru/4-after-ZIP-Ctrl-U.png

Again, amazing thing that when you open ZIP archive in the RIGHT panel, it swaps without problem! But if you press Ctrl+U again (when ZIP archive moves to the LEFT panel) it again clear the list of files inside the archive.

P.S. Sorry I still cannot paste full URLs due to forum restrictions.

[mod]Thread split from Incorrect file time display in RAR archive.

Hacker (Moderator)[/mod]
User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Oddity---

Post by *Clo »

2mslav

:) Hello !
…Amazing thing that when you open the archive in the RIGHT panel, it swaps without error! But if you press Ctrl+U again (when the archive moves to the LEFT panel) it again displays the error message and exits the archive content.
• I can confirm this, that's (at least) an oddity I never noticed before… :roll:
…I have tested panel swapping with ZIP file and also found a bug but a slight different one. When you open ZIP archive in the LEFT panel and then press Ctrl+U it swaps panels without error message but clear the list of files inside the archive: …
• Here, I get the same error message than with RAR, then the ZIP is shown “as is” (closed) in the right panel… XP-Pro SP1.

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on 2009-09-19, 06:17 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
mslav
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2009-09-18, 10:59 UTC
Location: Russia

Re: Oddity---

Post by *mslav »

Clo wrote:
…Amazing thing that when you open the archive in the RIGHT panel, it swaps without error! But if you press Ctrl+U again (when the archive moves to the LEFT panel) it again displays the error message and exits the archive content.
• I can confirm this, that's (at least) an oddity I never noticed before… :roll:
Thanks to God, I'm not alone in this world who have this problem :lol:
Clo wrote:
…I have tested panel swapping with ZIP file and also found a bug but a slight different one. When you open ZIP archive in the LEFT panel and then press Ctrl+U it swaps panels without error message but clear the list of files inside the archive: …
• Here, I get the same error message than with RAR, then the ZIP is shown “as is” (closed) in the right panel… XP-Pro SP1.
Different behavior proves my version about stack problems. It often causes different behavior on different computers/systems.
Last edited by mslav on 2009-09-19, 06:23 UTC, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Edit

Post by *Clo »

2mslav

:) Again…

- I updated my reply, please F5;)

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
mslav
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2009-09-18, 10:59 UTC
Location: Russia

Re: Edit

Post by *mslav »

Clo wrote:2mslav

:) Again…

- I updated my reply, please F5;)

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Thanks! I updated my previous post too :wink:
User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Crappy beat !

Post by *Clo »

2mslav

:) Again-again…

• I checked that in TC 7.04a, that works perfectly as expected !
- Hence, we may now call it A BUG :P

I'll report this elsewhere, hoping it will be fixed soon…
- Thank you for that find !

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on 2009-09-19, 07:15 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
mslav
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2009-09-18, 10:59 UTC
Location: Russia

Re: Crappy beat !

Post by *mslav »

Clo wrote: • I checked that in TC 7.04a, that works perfectly as expected !
- Hence, we may now call it A BUG :P

I'll report this elswhere, hoping it will be fixed soon…
- Thank you for that find !
Thank you too! :wink:

And yes, I forgot to mention that TC 7.04a swaps panels with these archives without any problems. So it's definitely TC 7.50 bug.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

I can confirm the Ctrl-U bug.

But I get the same "Error in packed file" for both ZIP and RAR files.

EDIT: I have now testet a little more. Sometimes I get the Error message and sometimes the blank file list - for the same archive type, but different files.

I have testet the following archive formats: ARJ, ZIP, RAR, LZH, TAR, AES, CHM, 7Z, SQX, LST, JAR - the bug occurs with them all one way or the other.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
mslav
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2009-09-18, 10:59 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *mslav »

petermad wrote:I can confirm the Ctrl-U bug.

EDIT: I have now tested a little more. Sometimes I get the Error message and sometimes the blank file list - for the same archive type, but different files.

I have tested the following archive formats: ARJ, ZIP, RAR, LZH, TAR, AES, CHM, 7Z, SQX, LST, JAR - the bug occurs with them all one way or the other.
Good work! :wink: The random behavior of the bug is yet another proof of internal data corrupt.
StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1524
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StatusQuo »

mslav wrote:When you open ZIP archive in the LEFT panel and then press Ctrl+U it swaps panels without error message but clear the list of files inside the archive
I can confirm the Ctrl+U bug on RAR files (error message with archive left, but not on right panel). But I get the same behaviour with ZIP archives here (error message, archive not opened). Win2k SP4 and XP SP3.
mslav wrote:TC 7.04a swaps panels with these archives without any problems.
Yes, 7.04a works like expected here, too.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

To Moderators

Could one of you please split this thread as from this post: http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=186039#186039
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48088
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks, I could reproduce the problem.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1524
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StatusQuo »

Fixed in TC 7.50a final (tested ZIP RAR ARJ LHA UC2 ACE TAR GZ TGZ). :)
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!
User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4603
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

Fix in T.C. 7.50a Final confirmed.

Total Commander 7.50a (24-Sept-2009)
Windows Vista Home Premium, 32bit

Karl
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Confirmed fixed in TC 7.50a :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply