Start Menu Limitation

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: 2010-06-19, 20:18 UTC
Location: Donetsk

Start Menu Limitation

Post by *LonerD » 2011-10-30, 14:52 UTC

In the start menu there is a limit of 200 commands. Why?
Menu easy to edit, I would like to see the possibility to add at least 500-1000 commands (or to infinity).

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom » 2011-10-31, 07:35 UTC

Wouldn't it be better to be able to have more than one start menu?
Or to combine the functionality of a regular menu dropdown & start menu.

Wherein commands could be mixed between them without issue.

They would both support the normal menu layout, for building the menu and submenu's
except a startmenu item might have a different opening tag... in fact it could be similiar to the current buttonbar layout.

e.g.
START
<buttonBarFields>
STARTEND
or:
BUTTONCMD
<buttonBarFields>
BUTTONCMDEND
or even:
CMD
<buttonBarFields>
CMDEND


Thus we can just have menu items. And fill them with the commands as needed --- regardless whether they happen to be an internal commmand or external command/program.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Re: Start Menu Limitation

Post by *ts4242 » 2011-10-31, 11:34 UTC

LonerD wrote:I would like to see the possibility to add at least 500-1000 commands (or to infinity).
You can do by using Start Menu Editor

I documented this feature in Ultra TC Editors help file> Start Menu Editor> Hints and Tips
Total Commander start menu is limited to only 199 items, including separators and submenus entry. If you want more than 199 items in TC start menu, do the following:

1. Run any text editor program (e.g. Notepad) and open the program INI file "ultra tc editors.ini"
2. Create the key StartMenuMaxItems under [StartMenuEditor] section.
3. Set the key StartMenuMaxItems to desired value.

Important:
Don't use TC built-in editor to edit the start menu otherwise all items above the first 199 items will be lost.
Only the first 199 items will be exported to the file "Totalcmd.inc" when you choose the command Export To Totalcmd.inc....

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2011-10-31, 18:16 UTC

2ts4242
Where will the extra start Menu items be saved using your suggestion?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2011-10-31, 18:36 UTC

2petermad

In Wincmd.ini under [user] section ;)

It was discussed before here http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=10579

Ghisler said he don't know how it work, he is the only person who can explain to us how it work.

User avatar
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: 2010-06-19, 20:18 UTC
Location: Donetsk

Re: Start Menu Limitation

Post by *LonerD » 2011-10-31, 19:00 UTC

ts4242 wrote:
LonerD wrote:I would like to see the possibility to add at least 500-1000 commands (or to infinity).
You can do by using Start Menu Editor
Thank you, I did not know about this option in Start Menu Editor.
Can I assign an icon for all those> 199 menu items, or only for the first 199?

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Re: Start Menu Limitation

Post by *ts4242 » 2011-10-31, 19:07 UTC

LonerD wrote:Can I assign an icon for all those> 199 menu items, or only for the first 199?
Where you need to assign icon?

User avatar
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: 2010-06-19, 20:18 UTC
Location: Donetsk

Re: Start Menu Limitation

Post by *LonerD » 2011-10-31, 19:19 UTC

ts4242 wrote:
LonerD wrote:Can I assign an icon for all those> 199 menu items, or only for the first 199?
Where you need to assign icon?
In Start Menu for all programs if it more than 200.

Already checked out - the icons in this case are invalid for added programs. :(

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Re: Start Menu Limitation

Post by *ts4242 » 2011-10-31, 19:23 UTC

LonerD wrote:Already checked out - the icons in this case are invalid for added programs. :(
I cannot do anything for that, maybe Ghisler check and find a solution.

Post Reply