tar catalog browser has catalog size limit?

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
Hansl
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: 2006-02-09, 21:15 UTC

tar catalog browser has catalog size limit?

Post by *Hansl » 2014-12-17, 13:30 UTC

When descending into a large tar archive with TC 8.51a, only a fraction of its true contents is listed. Is there some size limit?

My tar in question was created with GNU/Linux tar, it is 63 GiB large (66678138880 bytes) and contains 281526 files; its catalog (tar -tvf) is 33474655 bytes large.

A “smaller” tar with 41 GiB / 168920 files / 20296720 bytes catalog seems to get listed correctly by TC. Takes some time, of course.

(To further simplify things: Here, TC is running under Wine in a Linux workstation accessing that tar via a CIFS share on a Linux server…)

(If it is any consolation: Directly in the server, MidnightCommanders tar browser also can't browse this large tar, but can browse the smaller tar. While the GNU/Linux tar -xvf or tar -tvf works correctly with it. )

Thanks, Hans

Nirantali
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-08-01, 00:12 UTC

It's a bit more serious than only not listing

Post by *Nirantali » 2017-08-01, 00:33 UTC

This Bug is still present in 9.0a but it's not that content isn't correctly listed, it's that content is lost.

It also happens already around 45GB or perhaps even earlier because it restores only 8GB of the 45GB TAR, so the size of the TAR matches the content put into the TAR, but only around 8GB are really in the TAR.

And it's not only the listing that doesn't match, the content is really missing. This can be tested by restoring the whole TAR and seeing that only what was visibly listed was really restored, everything else is lost.

So TC probably corrupts the TAR's if they become to big eg. 8GB is stored but TAR gets 45GB big.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36549
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-08-03, 09:32 UTC

So TC probably corrupts the TAR's if they become to big eg. 8GB is stored but TAR gets 45GB big.
You mean you created the TAR with Total Commander? When unpacking, TC does not modify the TAR.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Nirantali
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-08-01, 00:12 UTC

Post by *Nirantali » 2017-08-04, 14:14 UTC

No, it does create the TAR but 90% of the content is missing and can't be unpacked. Like i pack an 50GB Folder, the resulting TAR is 50GB big, but only 8GB is really in that TAR and also only 8GB is unpacked, the other 42GB are not visible and not unpacked. So it is corrupted on create.

Post Reply