This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 7:40 am    Post subject: How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts? Reply with quote

I've done quite some searching on this subject, but haven't been able to find a clear answer.

How can I edit the keyboard shortcuts that TC is using?
For example I want to change/disable some shortcuts that interfere with other programs I am already using, and I would like to replace Shift-F6 with F2 for copying.

I have also tried Ultra TC Hotkeys editor, but I couldn't find (understand?) how to edit or delete existing shortcuts.
Maybe I am a bit thick?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2918
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I can't understand how an hotkey editor for TC can be easier
than the Ultra TC Hotkeys editor.
You see what keys are defined, what functions have currently no hotkeys
and you can set any combination by selection the boxes.
So whats the problem with that ?
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.112)
TC 9.20rc2 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My brain must have been a bit in a knot.
I know see it's indeed easy to remap a shortcut.

I started trying the editor to just remove existing TC shortcuts because they were 'in my way'.
That's probably not possible, but remapping those is also a solution.

Thanks for replying Horst.Epp.


edit,
Now I understand why I first believed Ultra TC editing wasn't working properly.
It's because the original shortcut is not bypassed/de-activated, and that's what I was expecting and why I believed it didn't work.


Last edited by hiccup on Tue May 15, 2018 10:12 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

B.t.w.,
Is it customary/desirable on this forum to add something like 'Solved' to the title when a question has been answered to satisfaction?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nsp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 9:25 am    Post subject: Re: How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts? Reply with quote

hiccup wrote:
...
I have also tried Ultra TC Hotkeys editor, but I couldn't find (understand?) how to edit or delete existing shortcuts.
Maybe I am a bit thick?


Ultra TC Hotkey editor is nice and gives you the ability to see all TC command and assigned hotkey (default, user) and aliases. Search, Sort....
The edition ui part is on the bottom and is not auto populated..

It is command oriented, that means that you have to know which command you want to activate for which hotkey / aliasses. Using Sort and search you can find the command that is asssigned by default to a hotkey and reassign it to a user key...

keep in mind taht you cannot remove default hotkeys..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 10:08 am    Post subject: Re: How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts? Reply with quote

nsp wrote:

keep in mind taht you cannot remove default hotkeys..


I thought remapping a shortcut by means of Ultra TC would replace the original shortcut, but I now see it just adds the new user shortcut, and the original shortcut will also still be active. That's a pity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 10:47 am    Post subject: Re: How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts? Reply with quote

nsp wrote:
Ultra TC Hotkey editor is nice and gives you the ability to see all TC command and assigned hotkey (default, user) and aliases
TWinKey does the same, but also finds duplicated hotkeys, and views separately TC's hotkeys and those of TWinKey
_________________
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2918
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 11:33 am    Post subject: Re: How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts? Reply with quote

Vochomurka wrote:
nsp wrote:
Ultra TC Hotkey editor is nice and gives you the ability to see all TC command and assigned hotkey (default, user) and aliases
TWinKey does the same, but also finds duplicated hotkeys, and views separately TC's hotkeys and those of TWinKey

And you can even delete default hotkeys with Twinkey Very Happy
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.112)
TC 9.20rc2 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10887
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hiccup,
Quote:
Is it customary/desirable on this forum to add something like 'Solved' to the title when a question has been answered to satisfaction?

There isn't really any custom about this. Some people do, most people don't.

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2007
Posts: 1927
Location: Europa

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hiccup wrote:
B.t.w.,
Is it customary/desirable on this forum to add something like 'Solved' to the title when a question has been answered to satisfaction?


Me think this is not need IMHO, more important is a meaningful subject line
-which should not be truncated just because of a 'Solved' statement-
so others on the search will find the wanted answer more easier.

It is always nice to find threads with informative subject as dozens threads with meaningless subject like "Newby need help"

Your example "How to edit TC's keyboard shortcuts?" is a nice one, well done! :thumbsup:, often we see smtg like "keyboard shortcuts" only Crying or Very sad





 
_________________
The destination is one thing. Getting there is everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group