TcAndroid 2.91b4, configuration issue - Font and Color

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
peterb
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2004-01-15, 13:49 UTC

TcAndroid 2.91b4, configuration issue - Font and Color

Post by *peterb » 2018-08-28, 22:40 UTC

Update from 2.91b3 to 2.91b4 changed the line hight,
so I needed to change that back to good settings,
but these settings have an issue.

Problem:

Changing settings in "Fonts and Colors",
OK/APPLY leads to a unresponsive dialog:

Deleting
From:
cache
To:
Delete
0%
CANCEL

Cancel has does nothing, but the back key
brings me back to config dialog.
(same behaviour in german language)

Problem seen on:
Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Android 6.01
Samsung Galaxy Xcover 4, Android 7.0

thanks
PeterB

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TcAndroid 2.91b4, configuration issue - Font and Color

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-08-29, 07:19 UTC

Thanks for your report. I have a few questions/remarks:
  1. You wrote:
    Update from 2.91b3 to 2.91b4 changed the line hight
    I cannot confirm that. Did it increase, or decrease? I changed two things:
    1. Image thumbnails now use the entire available height if you increase the line height
    2. The positioning of the permissions in root mode is a bit different (left-aligned), which may lead to more (or less) lines used by the date/time field, but shouldn't have any effect in normal directories.
  2. Apply can hang when deleting the thumbnail cache fails. I found one particular case where this happens: When the directory
    /storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.ghisler.android.TotalCommander/cache
    doesn't exist. As a temporary workaround, you can just create that directory. If it does exist on your system, how many files does it contain?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

peterb
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2004-01-15, 13:49 UTC

Re: TcAndroid 2.91b4, configuration issue - Font and Color

Post by *peterb » 2018-08-29, 21:19 UTC

Hi und Danke für die schnelle Antwort.

Ok now with 2.91b4, I manually created the folder "cache". Both devices did
not have that folder. Probably because I never used the preview cache.

Sorry, I tricked myself with the font layout. I thought there is a change,
but actually only the free space/size values on Tcmd home view moved, from
the middle to left, under the SD memory type name, makes the line looks less clear.
I have no permisson values (not rooted). I prefered the memory values
in the middle, but this is just my personal taste.

Other, minor cosmetical issue, only seen on Note 4:
During testing the font settings, I found the plugin icons where blanked in both panels (portait view).
Refreshing by closing Tcmd, or opening a folder then back to Tcmd home screen restored the plugin icons.
Reproducible several times, but after a few tests not seen anymore.

thanks
PeterB

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TcAndroid 2.91b4, configuration issue - Font and Color

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-08-30, 10:06 UTC

During testing the font settings, I found the plugin icons where blanked in both panels (portait view).
Refreshing by closing Tcmd, or opening a folder then back to Tcmd home screen restored the plugin icons.
Reproducible several times, but after a few tests not seen anymore.
I saw this once two, but never managed to reproduce it - if you find a sequence to reproduce it, please let me know!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

peterb
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2004-01-15, 13:49 UTC

Re: TcAndroid 2.91b4, configuration issue - Font and Color

Post by *peterb » 2018-08-30, 11:00 UTC

I was able to reproduce the plugin icon issue a few times
by just changing the font size. Just tried again, no luck to reproduce.

Important info regarding the original problem: "cache message, cache folder"
Problem is back, and I know now why!

That cache folder is wiped away by Android when running a cleanup on temporary data
from system settings (deutsch: "Zwischengespeicherte Daten") Oops. Thats why I had
no such folder on both devices, because I run cleanup once a while. This morning I run
a cleanup, now when I tried to reproduce the icon problem, the cache thing caught me.

enjoy
PeterB

Post Reply