[Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3249
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

[Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

Post by *Flint » 2019-12-04, 23:38 UTC

Reproduced in 9.22a and 9.50β8 x32; in x64 works correctly.

1. Open Settings - Font, set DPI to 109, apply.
2. The dialog is closed and reopened. The controls inside are scaled appropriately, but the dialog itself has exactly the same size as it did with DPI 96.
3. Set DPI to 110, apply.
4. Now the dialog with one big jump becomes bigger.

As you continue to increase the DPI, the size of the controls increase, but the dialog remains the same until some border is crossed, then it jumps in size to the next step. If you do the same in TC 64-bit, the dialog size is increased smoothly every time along with the DPI.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.22a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-12-05, 16:09 UTC

This is by design. The dialog is scaled by the font height.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3249
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: [Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

Post by *Flint » 2019-12-05, 17:13 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
But the font height changes accordingly to the DPI. (The real size, I mean, not the configuration value.)
In any case, why are the 32- and 64-bit versions behave differently, then?
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.22a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-12-06, 16:33 UTC

It scales discretely, e.g. font changes from 8 to 9 pixels when you change the DPI sufficiently.
In any case, why are the 32- and 64-bit versions behave differently, then?
Delphi and Lazarus handle this differently internally.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3249
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: [Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

Post by *Flint » 2019-12-08, 17:39 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-12-06, 16:33 UTC
It scales discretely, e.g. font changes from 8 to 9 pixels when you change the DPI sufficiently.
I suspect, there might be misunderstanding. I'm not talking about the font size. I'm talking about the dialog size, its width and height.

I understand that font size might change discretely, but the issue is, the dialog is not scaled when this happens.

Take a look at these screenshots: DPI 103, DPI 104

You can see that the font size changed, but the dialog size remained exactly the same: 653x522. That means, the controls have to occupy more space, but the dialog does not provide them with this additional space they need. Depending on the translation, the text will start to overlap, bacause translators might have checked the text only in the default DPI and did not expect TC to suddely pack up the controls closer together.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.22a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Old, x32] Settings dialog scaled discretely for DPI values

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-12-09, 10:38 UTC

Sorry, I don't know enough of the inner workings of Delphi/Lazarus in this regard.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply