Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany

Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *Wojtek »

Hi Folks!

Is there a way to show the content of multiple folders as one (like Windows Libraries)?

Background
I made a backup of my Walkman, two folders, one for the system storage, one for for the MicroSD card like this:
[Backup HDD]
-Walkman
--internal
---Artist A
----Album1
----Album2
---Artist B
----Album1
----Album2
...
--sdcard
---Artist C
----Album1
----Album2
---Artist D
----Album1
----Album2
...


And I would like this to shop up as following:
-Walkman (Backup)
--Artist A
---Album1
---Album2
--Artist B
---Album1
---Album2
--Artist C
---Album1
---Album2
--Artist D
---Album1
---Album2
...


Any ideas how to achieve this?
Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win10 Pro x64
Crucial MX500 1TB SSD · 64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX · nVidia GeForce RTX 3060 · Intel i7 7700K

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Yoga 2.Gen · Win10 Pro x64
512GB SSD · 16GB RAM · intel HD620 · i7-7600U

TC 11.02 32-bit #347308
User avatar
beb
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: 2009-09-20, 08:03 UTC
Location: Odesa, Ukraine

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *beb »

If "Walkman" and "Walkman (Backup)" folders are in the same parent folder "[Backup HDD]" (or if you will place them that way) you could see the contents of both of them as one by pressing Ctrl+B being in the said parent folder.
But I'm afraid I'm misinterpreting you, and that is not what you actually want.

Otherwise, you can create a new Windows Library, let's say "Walkman", point out both "Walkman" and "Walkman (Backup)" to be there, drag the newly created library in Total Commander to \\Desktop\\Libraries\, and then you can enter \\Libraries\Walkman\ library in Total Commander and see the common contents.
#278521 User License
Total Commander [always the latest version, including betas] x86/x64 on Win10 x64/Android 10
User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *Wojtek »

beb wrote: 2024-01-08, 22:50 UTC If "Walkman" and "Walkman (Backup)" folders are in the same parent folder "[Backup HDD]" (or if you will place them that way) you could see the contents of both of them as one by pressing Ctrl+B being in the said parent folder.
But I'm afraid I'm misinterpreting you, and that is not what you actually want.
Unfortunately this is not what I need.
When connected, my Walkman mounts 2 drives, let's say X:\ and Y:\ and as backup solution I copy all the music (which is within the "MUSIC" folder of the parent drive) to my NAS (which has drive Z:\ for example).
But instead of copying all the music to one backup location I have two subfolders (eg. Z:\Walkman\internal and Z:\Walkman\sdcard) and what I want to do are some operations like tagging, renaming, etc. of the music files in the backup location.

Now, I have my music stored on another NAS, let's say W:\ and I want to copy some music to my Walkman. Here comes the tricky part:
If I decide to copy new albums from Artist A and Artist B to my Walkman I need to check 2 folders (internal and sdcard) since I don't know where the music of those artists is saved.
It would save me a lot of time having both displayed as one single folder.

The reason why there are two folders at all is just because of some space limitations of the Walkman which has 256 GB internal memory and up to 500 GB extra with a memory card inserted (yeah, it's all lossless stuff like FLAC, WAV, etc with up to 24bit/192kHz).
For better performance I have my favorites saved on the internal memory and stuff I don't listen to often on the memory card.
Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win10 Pro x64
Crucial MX500 1TB SSD · 64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX · nVidia GeForce RTX 3060 · Intel i7 7700K

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Yoga 2.Gen · Win10 Pro x64
512GB SSD · 16GB RAM · intel HD620 · i7-7600U

TC 11.02 32-bit #347308
User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *Wojtek »

beb wrote: 2024-01-08, 22:50 UTC Otherwise, you can create a new Windows Library, let's say "Walkman", point out both "Walkman" and "Walkman (Backup)" to be there, drag the newly created library in Total Commander to \\Desktop\\Libraries\, and then you can enter \\Libraries\Walkman\ library in Total Commander and see the common contents.
I already have a Windows Library containing all the folders I need (named "Walkman"), but when navigating to the library location it opens an Explorer Window instead of browsing with TC.

The other part doesn't seem to work for me (When typing in "cd \\Desktop\\Libraries\" or just "\\Desktop\\Libraries\" nothing happens.

Does TC support browsing of Windows Libraries?
I'm aware of this thread: https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=41665 but that's way too complicated and probably outdated.
Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win10 Pro x64
Crucial MX500 1TB SSD · 64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX · nVidia GeForce RTX 3060 · Intel i7 7700K

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Yoga 2.Gen · Win10 Pro x64
512GB SSD · 16GB RAM · intel HD620 · i7-7600U

TC 11.02 32-bit #347308
User avatar
beb
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: 2009-09-20, 08:03 UTC
Location: Odesa, Ukraine

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *beb »

2Wojtek
What about the latter (Otherwise, you can create a new Windows Library...)
I tested it for the three sources:

Code: Select all

Walkman1
ArtistA\Album1\song1.flac
ArtistA\Album2\song2.flac
ArtistB\Album1\song3.flac
ArtistB\Album2\song4.flac

Code: Select all

Walkman2
ArtistC\Album1\song5.flac
ArtistC\Album2\song6.flac
ArtistD\Album1\song7.flac
ArtistD\Album2\song8.flac

Code: Select all

Walkman3
ArtistE\Album1\song9.flac
ArtistE\Album2\song0.flac
And this is how it can appear:
Image: https://i.imgur.com/5x6rMSZ.jpg

Does TC support browsing of Windows Libraries?
As you can see it does, e.g., this way:
Image: https://i.imgur.com/qdgiAkf.png

Edit: change one image a bit.
Last edited by beb on 2024-01-09, 00:43 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
#278521 User License
Total Commander [always the latest version, including betas] x86/x64 on Win10 x64/Android 10
User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *Wojtek »

@beb
Wow! Many thanks!
I think this will be exactly what I wanted, I'll test it tomorrow after work.
Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win10 Pro x64
Crucial MX500 1TB SSD · 64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX · nVidia GeForce RTX 3060 · Intel i7 7700K

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Yoga 2.Gen · Win10 Pro x64
512GB SSD · 16GB RAM · intel HD620 · i7-7600U

TC 11.02 32-bit #347308
User avatar
beb
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: 2009-09-20, 08:03 UTC
Location: Odesa, Ukraine

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *beb »

2Wojtek
You are welcome.
#278521 User License
Total Commander [always the latest version, including betas] x86/x64 on Win10 x64/Android 10
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14809
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Display content of multiple folders in one (like Windows Libraries)

Post by *petermad »

2Wojtek
Does TC support browsing of Windows Libraries?
yes as virtual folders. either in TC 's menu go to "Commands" -> "Open Desktop folder" - then you should see the Libraries folder in the file list - or use the command cd ::{031E4825-7B94-4dc3-B131-E946B44C8DD5} to go directly to the libraries folder. Notice that it is a virtual folder, so far from all of TC's functions work in it, but you should be able to copy files to and from it.

You can also access the libraries via TC's breadcrumb menu as shown by beb
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply