[REQ] I know it just a dream ... a Cloneback viewer

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Molecule

[REQ] I know it just a dream ... a Cloneback viewer

Post by *Molecule »

I'm not a programmer so this is just plain over the top for me to suggest it, but just for the fun of it, I just thought I might offer this dream I had (What is it about TC that makes a homeuser feel empowered again???)

A viewer plugin, which for my imagination I'm calling TC-CloneBack, that would work prior to shutdown as follows:

To begin, a user makes an image of the OS operating areas (say c:\windows) that he wants to protect. It's a complete image from soup to nuts, and it becomes the "baseline" for measuring changes to the OS system area. (Making this image might take a littlle while; but once done, everything after that would be incremental (faster)).

After browsing internet, installing new programs, transferring files and programs etc., all of which make changes (change, add, or delete) to registry keys and to system files (any file in root, and in windows subfolders : ini, sys, dat, dll, exe, ...)

user could invoke Lister TC-Cloneback to view the changes that had been made to the system area, compared to the baseline image, showing (1) changes to registry keys (this might a really hard part to program and might take a moment or two), (2) changes to ini files (add, del, changes to lines etc.) and (3) changes to file date, size, version, icon, etc. for existing dll/exe files (4) additions of new files (ini, dll, exe, etc) and (5) deletions of same.

default has a checkbox filled next to each item, e.g. default will undo the identified changes and using the image file, "Cloneback" those parts of the system area that would have otherwise changed, without the owner's permission or knowledge.