Total Commander extDir v1.6.0.5 - Extended directory creator

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Bluestar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2007-06-10, 15:26 UTC
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by *Bluestar » 2011-11-13, 10:39 UTC

@LonerD:
Thank you for your translation, Ukrainian language will be available in the next public version. =)

@fenix_productions:
At the moment the only supported shortcuts are F5 and CTRL +R, and both are used to get/refresh the current TC directory...
However supporting more shortcuts is on the top of the TODO-list, so in v1.6 there will be much more of them. Stay tuned! :wink:
» Developer of Total Updater & extDir utility.

jo2h2
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-11-17, 12:23 UTC

Post by *jo2h2 » 2011-11-13, 15:30 UTC

Hi !

I like your add-on but like the standard pre-selection for folder creation in TC as well javascript:emoticon(':)')

E.g. pressing (standard TC) F7 on a folder, I get the folder name as pre selection and when pressing (standard TC) F7 on a file, I get the filename without extension as pre selection - fine ...

In extDir, pressing (extDir) F7 on a file, I get "filename.ext >size" as pre selection - and when pressing (extDir) F7 on an unselected folder, I get nothing as pre selection. I have to mark that folder first, then I get "foldername >size" as pre selection.

So is there a way to have that standard pre-selection behavior from TC in extDir as well ? Without extension, without >size, and without need of folder marking ?

Thanks a lot ! :)

User avatar
Bluestar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2007-06-10, 15:26 UTC
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by *Bluestar » 2011-11-13, 20:31 UTC

Hi jo2h2,

First of all i'm glad you like the utility.

The "pre-selection" (initial filename) should work just like in Total Commander: if you press F7 on a filename, the utility tries to get the Total Commader's currently selected directory / filename (without extension) [by getting the correct window handle & control handles]... so it must be a rare(?) bug (nobody has reported any problem regarding this before).

I have some questions:

- Which Total Commander version do you use?
- What is your currently selected Regional and Language settings?
- Operating system: x86 / x64?
- Total Commander: x86 / x64? (the utility is constantly tested on five PC, however all of them have x86 OS & TC...)
- Are there any special/uncommon settings in your wincmd.ini? (for example: special Total Commander layout, etc...)

If your answer for the last question is "yes", could you please name these sections/keys, or send your "wincmd.ini" file to me (with removing the possibly sensible parts, for example: "Command line history" section, "MkDirHistory" section, "SearchIn" & "SearchText" sections)?
Last edited by Bluestar on 2011-11-15, 22:04 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
» Developer of Total Updater & extDir utility.

User avatar
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 2010-06-19, 20:18 UTC
Location: Donetsk

Post by *LonerD » 2011-11-14, 21:16 UTC

I redirect section [MkDirHistory] into another file, but extDir still write history into wincmd.ini.
Total Commander DreamLair - dream always, think totally, be the commander of you own life.

User avatar
Bluestar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2007-06-10, 15:26 UTC
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by *Bluestar » 2011-11-15, 21:59 UTC

Are you using the RedirectSection key under [MkDirHistory] to redirect the items of the section?

For example:

[MkDirHistory]
RedirectSection=history.ini


should work.
» Developer of Total Updater & extDir utility.

User avatar
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 2010-06-19, 20:18 UTC
Location: Donetsk

Post by *LonerD » 2011-11-16, 01:02 UTC

Bluestar
Yes, I'm sorry, extDir works fine.
Perhaps this is another tool created in my wincmd.ini duplicate sections MkDirHistory.

wvandenbrink
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-11-17, 15:27 UTC

Re: Total Commander extDir - Extended directory creator (Add

Post by *wvandenbrink » 2011-11-17, 15:35 UTC

Could you tell me where i can find the language files, the zip-file = 0,5 Mb

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8580
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2011-11-17, 20:11 UTC

The language files are incorporated in the exe file.

You can find an English language file here: http://bluesoft.hu/system/download/dl.php?id=2 in case you want to make you own translation.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Bluestar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2007-06-10, 15:26 UTC
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by *Bluestar » 2011-11-17, 20:24 UTC

@LonerD:
Oh, i see... so duplicated section was the only problem.

@wvandenbrink:
Just as petermad says: every language file is built into the software, so you don't have to download them one-by-one.
(to change the current language, just click on the top blue arrow in the Installer - picture)
» Developer of Total Updater & extDir utility.

jo2h2
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-11-17, 12:23 UTC

Post by *jo2h2 » 2011-11-22, 22:22 UTC

[quote="jo2h2"]Hi !

I like your add-on but like the standard pre-selection for folder creation in TC as well javascript:emoticon(':)')

E.g. pressing (standard TC) F7 on a folder, I get the folder name as pre selection and when pressing (standard TC) F7 on a file, I get the filename without extension as pre selection - fine ...

In extDir, pressing (extDir) F7 on a file, I get "filename.ext >size" as pre selection - and when pressing (extDir) F7 on an unselected folder, I get nothing as pre selection. I have to mark that folder first, then I get "foldername >size" as pre selection.

So is there a way to have that standard pre-selection behavior from TC in extDir as well ? Without extension, without >size, and without need of folder marking ?

Thanks a lot ! :)[/quote]


Thanks for you quick reply - did some tests and it works properly on a clean installation. So it seems to be related to my wincmd.ini.

So I just sent you a parallel eMail "Re: (from ghisler board) "no pre-selection for folder creation" with attached wincmd.ini

Thanks a lot !!

User avatar
Bluestar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2007-06-10, 15:26 UTC
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by *Bluestar » 2011-11-25, 16:49 UTC

jo2h2, thanks for trying it out with a clean installation & also for sending your wincmd.ini file.

I found out that the problem is caused by a Total Commander feature called "Custom columns" (Configuration -> Options -> Custom columns).
If any has been set, the utility simply can't get the correct control handles, thats why it fails to catch the currently selected file / dirname too.

Workaround: unfortunately the only workaround at the moment is to remove all of the custom columns.

The bug will be fixed in v1.6.
» Developer of Total Updater & extDir utility.

User avatar
jslegers
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 2003-07-17, 08:13 UTC

Post by *jslegers » 2011-11-26, 11:53 UTC

Hello,

I have tried this util and love it. I have one suggestion. Could you make an option for creating a new file. I know the Shift-F4 function but i'm looking for a tool that creates a blank file.

jo2h2
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-11-17, 12:23 UTC

Post by *jo2h2 » 2011-11-26, 20:51 UTC

Bluestar wrote:jo2h2, thanks for trying it out with a clean installation & also for sending your wincmd.ini file.

I found out that the problem is caused by a Total Commander feature called "Custom columns" (Configuration -> Options -> Custom columns).
If any has been set, the utility simply can't get the correct control handles, thats why it fails to catch the currently selected file / dirname too.

Workaround: unfortunately the only workaround at the moment is to remove all of the custom columns.

The bug will be fixed in v1.6.
Hello Bluestar,

these are really great news - and thanks for this fast analysis and for finding the cause :D

So I will wait for your 1.6 version !!

Success and happy coding ;-)

User avatar
Bluestar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2007-06-10, 15:26 UTC
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by *Bluestar » 2011-11-30, 21:04 UTC

@jslegers:
Generally the utility is made to give the user a lots of possibilites regarding directory creation, so creating files is a bit out of bounds...
However don't take that as a "no" - all i am trying to say is just the ability of creating files is not on the "todo-list" right now, as there are many other important (directory-related) things to implement & fix in the software...

@jo2h2:
Thanks. :D I'll keep everyone informed on the process of development.
» Developer of Total Updater & extDir utility.

User avatar
jslegers
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 2003-07-17, 08:13 UTC

Post by *jslegers » 2011-12-01, 12:06 UTC

Thanks for the answer. No problem I have solved the create empty file problem.

Post Reply