ftp port mode in Windows 7

This forum contains bug reports from previous beta tests - the issue has remained unresolved, either because it couldn't be reproduced, or couldn't be prevented/fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

ftp port mode in Windows 7

Post by *Lefteous » 2009-05-01, 18:04 UTC

I connected to a local ftp in TC hangs in both passive and port mode. Then I tried the Windows command utility is used port but asked me if I want to allow ftp.exe to execute the command. Why isn't this question asked when TC is performing a similar action?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38145
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-05-03, 14:39 UTC

Maybe it was already asked before and you declined, so TC is now on a block list? Please check in the firewall settings.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2009-05-13, 14:02 UTC

No nothing like that.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38145
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-05-13, 20:43 UTC

Well, like Vista, Windows 7 is blocking apps from being a server. In port mode, TC is the server on varying ports, while in passive mode, the ftp server itself is the server on varying ports. Maybe Microsoft have removed support for ftp? Then you can only use TC with passive mode, and cannot run any ftp server on Windows 7.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2009-05-15, 06:45 UTC

I think this is a permission problem. TC just doesn't try to elevate here.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38145
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-05-15, 09:16 UTC

Elevation for FTP? That's insane! Why should TC do that? This wasn't needed on Vista either. To the contrary, programs like Internet Explorer work at a LOWER elevation level to reduce the risk of exploits from the net! Therefore I cannot immagine that Microsoft would require elevation for ftp.

But you can test that yourself: Just run TC via right click "as administrator" and check whether port mode works then...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
roentgen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 757
Joined: 2005-12-03, 19:58 UTC

Post by *roentgen » 2009-05-15, 18:44 UTC

It works for me
CWD /
250 OK. Current directory is /
Connect ok!
PWD
257 "/" is your current location
Get directory
TYPE A
200 TYPE is now ASCII
PORT 192,168,0,200,197,149
200 PORT command successful
LIST -la
150 Connecting to port 50581
Download
Windows 7 x64 build 7100, firewall disabled.
TC for Linux please!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38145
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-05-17, 12:05 UTC

2roentgen
Can you make it work also with enabled firewall? The problem seems to be caused by the Windows 7 firewall not asking the user for permission to allow server mode...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
roentgen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 757
Joined: 2005-12-03, 19:58 UTC

Post by *roentgen » 2009-05-17, 12:32 UTC

I just enabled it and it asks. I said yes for both home and public networks and FTP works.
TC for Linux please!

Post Reply