F2 for renaming doesn't works

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

krushna
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-06-10, 09:27 UTC
Location: India

F2 for renaming doesn't works

Post by *krushna »

sir,

F2 for renaming file's doesn't works
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8546
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

In TC by default F2 rereads panel contents.

Just open Configuration, Misc and bind cm_RenameOnly to F2.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2krushna
Why do you think that F2 should work for renaming files?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
krushna
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-06-10, 09:27 UTC
Location: India

Post by *krushna »

How to bind cm_RenameOnly in misc,explain detailedly
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8546
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

1. Configuration - Options, Misc.
2. In 'Redefine hotkeys' choose F2 key, then click on magnify glass to the right from Command field and choose cm_RenameOnly from list (you can type part of command name to filter items). Click OK.
3. Click green check mark button to the right from magnify glass button.
4. Enjoy!
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

2krushna
Try to use Hotkeys Editor
1- select a command
2- define desired hotkey
3- press Enter or click on green check mark
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Or add this to your wincmd.ini file:

[Shortcuts]
F2=cm_RenameSingleFile

If you already have a [Shortcuts] section in wincmd.ini, then just add F2=cm_RenameSingleFile to the section.

I expect that you want F2 to behave exactly as in Explorer, that is why it is better to use cm_RenameSingleFile than cm_RenameOnly, which can also rename multiple selected files - in contrary to Explorer.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8546
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

petermad wrote:I expect that you want F2 to behave exactly as in Explorer, that is why it is better to use cm_RenameSingleFile than cm_RenameOnly, which can also rename multiple selected files - in contrary to Explorer.
Have you tried to press F2 when multiple files selected in Explorer? It renames all of them! :D So it is better not to use F2 in Explorer when multiple files selected at all.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Have you tried to press F2 when multiple files selected in Explorer? It renames all of them!
Yes, I did try, but I didn't carry it out - which I should have :oops: .

I only saw that the last selected filename was opened for editing (just like inline renaming in TC), and assumed that only that file would be renamed.

But you are right! - all the other selected files gets renamed too - getting the same name with an index number. Explorer gives no warning about this, and wildcards can't be used like in TC - what a stupid implementation!
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Blc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-11-29, 15:31 UTC

Post by *Blc »

What is the difference between cm_RenameSingleFile and cm_RenameOnly? It seems both work the same for me.
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8546
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Blc, try to select some files and execute theese commands. :wink:
Blc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-11-29, 15:31 UTC

Post by *Blc »

I did try, but with one file only (which is my typical use of Shift+F6).

OK, I see it now. Thanks. :)
Laki
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-03-02, 13:28 UTC

Re: F2 for renaming doesn't works

Post by *Laki »

I had a same confusing situation because I also did not see the crazy inactive looklike dropdown menu on the RIGHT :D

1. Configuration > Options... > Misc.
2. Choose F2 on the RIGHT dropdown menu.
3. Under the magnifyer choose or type: cm_RenameSingleFile
4. Apply > OK
5. DONE

Image: https://www.dropbox.com/s/m4lxr7wy8hpor1u/TotalCommander_help.jpg?dl=0
milcheloveck
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-02-01, 13:03 UTC

Re: F2 for renaming doesn't works

Post by *milcheloveck »

Laki wrote:
2019-03-02, 13:47 UTC
I had a same confusing situation because I also did not see the crazy inactive looklike dropdown menu on the RIGHT :D

1. Configuration > Options... > Misc.
2. Choose F2 on the RIGHT dropdown menu.
3. Under the magnifyer choose or type: cm_RenameSingleFile
4. Apply > OK
5. DONE

Image: https://www.dropbox.com/s/m4lxr7wy8hpor1u/TotalCommander_help.jpg?dl=0
--

Sorry guys, but this does not work for me ...

I did everything according to the instructions, but I do not get feedback from TC. At the same time, in my Wincmd.ini, I see my directives:

Code: Select all

[Shortcuts] 
F2 = cm_RenameSingleFile 
A + F2 = cm_RightOpenDrives 
But nothing happens ...

P.S. Could this be somehow related to WincmdUser.ini? Should I edit this by seeing

Code: Select all

[Configuration] 
AlternateUserIni = WincmdUser.ini 
RedirectSection = WincmdUser.ini 
in Wincmd.ini?
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: F2 for renaming doesn't works

Post by *petermad »

Help says:
1. Global option in section [Configuration]:
AlternateUserIni=<somename.ini>

If present in section [Configuration], it will redirect storing of all user-changeable sections to an alternate ini file (in this example, somename.ini), except for the following sections: [Configuration], [Layout], [Packer], [Confirmation], [Extensions], [Associations], [Shortcuts], [ShortcutsWin], [PackerPlugins], [FileSystemPlugins], [ListerPlugins], [ContentPlugins].

2. All sections can be redirected individually:
In each section, an entry
RedirectSection=
can be added to change the default behaviour. It will allow to redirect (or not) this section to another ini file: Possible values: 0: no redirect even if the section would be redirected by AlternateUserIni
1: redirect to ini file defined via AlternateUserIni=<alternate ini file.ini>
<ininame.ini>: redirect to that specific ini

Note:
When RedirectSection is placed in the [Configuration] section, all variables of that section will be redirected, except for AlternateUserIni and UseIniInProgramDir, which will always be read from the main ini file.
So since [Shortcuts] is NOT redirected with the AlternateUserIni setting you have to put it in wincmd.ini - or you can make a manual redirection of that section with:

Code: Select all

[Shortcuts]
RedirectSection=WincmdUser.ini
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply