7Zip Plugin Continued ...

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37630
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-02-12, 09:42 UTC

Probably some system dll. Please get the lister plugin "fileinfo", then view the 7zip.wcx with F3 and switch to the tab imports/exports. Then check for each imported dll. There should not be any missing functions on Windows 7, but perhaps some program has replaced a system dll by an outdated version...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Supergudrun
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-02-10, 13:33 UTC

Post by *Supergudrun » 2012-02-13, 09:23 UTC

Probably some system dll. Please get the lister plugin "fileinfo", then view the 7zip.wcx with F3 and switch to the tab imports/exports. Then check for each imported dll. There should not be any missing functions on Windows 7, but perhaps some program has replaced a system dll by an outdated version...
I checked the wcx under Win7-32bit. For all dll-modules the message was "Module and all imported funktions loaded". In the tab "Dll-depenency" no missing or outdated dll was marked. Everything seems to be allright, but the error is still there :(

Is there anything else I can check?
Viele Grüße
Supergudrun

diceman2037
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2010-07-17, 05:41 UTC

Post by *diceman2037 » 2012-02-14, 17:25 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Probably some system dll. Please get the lister plugin "fileinfo", then view the 7zip.wcx with F3 and switch to the tab imports/exports. Then check for each imported dll. There should not be any missing functions on Windows 7, but perhaps some program has replaced a system dll by an outdated version...
windows 7 doesn't even allow this.
unless your install is corrupted beyond human help.

franziscko
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 2006-10-11, 20:09 UTC
Location: Ragusa - Sicily - Italy !!!

Post by *franziscko » 2012-02-15, 15:41 UTC

Hi!

a stupid question...

Last version of this 7zip plugin is 0.7.6.5a
is it relatvie to original 7zip program last stable ver. 9.20,
or is it relative to latest beta 9.22?

sorry for my english....

sam5
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2011-02-06, 18:22 UTC

Post by *sam5 » 2012-02-21, 19:23 UTC

I am using wcx_7zip_0.7.6.5a plugin, but I cannot open XZ files. Is it supposed to open XZ files?

iana
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 342
Joined: 2010-07-27, 22:00 UTC

Post by *iana » 2012-02-21, 20:57 UTC

I am using wcx_7zip_0.7.6.5a plugin, but I cannot open XZ files. Is it supposed to open XZ files?
No use Total7zip for xz files http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/Total7zip.html, this supports only 7zip.
Last version of this 7zip plugin is 0.7.6.5a
is it relatvie to original 7zip program last stable ver. 9.20,
or is it relative to latest beta 9.22?
From 7-zips change log:

Code: Select all

9.22 beta      2011-04-18
-------------------------

- 7-Zip now uses progress indicator displayed on a taskbar button under Windows 7.
- The BUG in 7-Zip 9.21 beta was fixed: 
    7-Zip could ignore some options when you created ZIP archives.
    For example, it could use ZipCrypto cipher instead of AES-256.


9.21 beta      2011-04-11
-------------------------
- 7-Zip now can unpack UEFI BIOS files.
- 64-bit version of 7-Zip now includes additional 32-bit shell extension DLL.
  So other 32-bit programs can call 64-bit 7-Zip via context menu.
- Now it's possible to associate 7-Zip with file types without Administrator rights.
- New -mf=FilterID switch to specify compression filter. Examples:
    7z a -mf=bcj2 a.7z a.tar 
    7z a -mf=delta:4 a.7z a.wav 
    7z a -mf=bcj a.tar.xz a.tar 
- 32-bit 7-Zip running under 64-bit Windows now can use up to 4 GB of RAM.
- Some bugs were fixed.
- New localizations: Corsican, Kyrgyz, Ligurian.
there is no change in 7z support, the changes 9.20-9.22 are unrelated to this plugin and apply to the 7-zip file manager, there are some interesting developments in speeding up 7z unpacking but those haven't been released to the public and are an early alpha 9.25 (you can find 7zip 9.25 alpha on the sf.net forums).

BH
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: 2006-12-26, 01:17 UTC

Post by *BH » 2012-03-04, 13:02 UTC

Hi folks

I have "crunch" my nacked mingw/msys dirs with the Plugin (0.7.6.5a 3.11.2011) and many (~9) files are corrupted (!)

Compressing with 9.25alpha 7-zip is ok.

Decompressing of correctly archive is with 7-zip and with the Plugin also ok. Only compressing with the Plugin fails (?)

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4554
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen » 2012-03-04, 16:19 UTC

BH wrote:I have "crunch" my nacked mingw/msys dirs with the Plugin (0.7.6.5a 3.11.2011) and many (~9) files are corrupted (!)
Is this the step by step instruction on how to create a corrupted 7z-archive by using the 7-zip plugin 0.7.6.5a?
Then I am afraid I may be too slow in the uptake to understand
+ on which operating system (version? 32-bit? 64-bit?)
+ you used which Total Commander (version? 32-bit? 64-bit?)
+ which edition of the 7-zip plugin v0.7.6.5a ( 32-bit? 64-bit?)
+ and performed exactly which steps
+ in order to end up with a 7z-archive which held 9 corrupted files?

Personally, I create and update 7z-archives with the help of the 7-zip plugin v0.7.6.5a (32-bit and 64-bit) almost daily. So far no corruption has occurred. But maybe I have just been lucky so far.

+ Windows 7 64-bit
+ Total Commander 8.0ß 64-bit
+ Plugin 7-zip 0.7.6.5a 64-bit
--
+ Windows 7 32-bit
+ Total Commander 8.0ß 32-bit
+ Plugin 7-zip 0.7.6.5a 32-bit
--
+ Ubuntu 10.04 32-bit, Linux Mint 12 32-bit
+ Wine 1.2.3
+ Total Commander 8.0ß 32-bit
+ Plugin 7-zip 0.7.6.5a 32-bit

Karl
Linux Mint 19.2 32-bit xfce Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 32-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3399
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2012-03-04, 17:48 UTC

I made several tests compressing large dir trees with no problem.
The resulting archives were several giga bytes in size and contained tausends of files. There was no single error.
My environment Windows 7 x64 Ultimate with TC 8 b22 x64
and the 7-zip plugin v0.7.6.5a.

May be a hardware problem on BH's machine ?

User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 653
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: Earth

Post by *MaxX » 2012-04-13, 19:50 UTC

Hi, all! I've got a bug in 7zip.wcx 0.7.6.5, both 32 and 64 bit.
Command ''cm_UnloadPlugins'' kills TC (all ver.) while packing 7z in background.
Reproduce:
1. Select files -> pack -> 7z (7zip.wcx) -> ok;
2. While packing push "Background";
3. While still packing in bg call ''cm_UnloadPlugins'';
4. TC's process self-killed.
This is definitely plugin's bug (proof: discussion), not TC's.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37630
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-04-16, 14:06 UTC

cm_UnloadPlugins is meant to be used by plugin developers who know what they are doing. Normal users should not need to use this command.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 653
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: Earth

Post by *MaxX » 2012-04-16, 16:33 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Sometimes (when updating plugins) I need this command to prevent errors. Restarting TC for this sometimes is impossible due to FTP-uploads with server, which does NOT support resuming uploads.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8322
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2012-04-16, 16:55 UTC

MaxX, maybe you can cancel background packing before? It will be interrupted anyway...

User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 653
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: Earth

Post by *MaxX » 2012-04-16, 17:19 UTC

2MVV
First time I've seen this bug, I pressed it accidentally (needed neighboured key). But then, after some testing, I saw that noone plugin act like this -> noone kills TC! So...

Evds
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2009-06-10, 11:09 UTC

Post by *Evds » 2012-04-26, 21:21 UTC

2dllee

When i pack a large set of files the plugin dialog with the buttons pause/cancel/background appears immediately but it takes minutes before i can use the cancel or background button.

What is the plugin doing at that moment ?
Would it be possible to change the behavior so i can use the background button immediately ?

Post Reply