Search with everything cause "Access violation"

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

xiesunny
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2016-11-03, 08:43 UTC

Search with everything cause "Access violation"

Post by *xiesunny »

TC report "Access violation" when trying to search one file in one partition when Everything is enabled.
But it is OK to do it in another partition, or disable everything.

---------------------------
Total Commander 9.0RC4
---------------------------
Access violation.
Access violation
Windows 10 10.0 (Build 14393), base: 0400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Stack trace (x64):42B3F0
42B42B 41F170 A12F87 A130A9 A131BB 5F80FD 5F6B30 5F5581
5ED79F 826BB1 8422B6 842A0D 843025 6037A2 40F2FD 825B80

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution
Senyai
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2012-03-02, 14:30 UTC

Post by *Senyai »

Same:

---------------------------
Total Commander 9.0RC4
---------------------------
Access violation.
Access violation
Windows 7 SP1 6.1 (Build 7601), base: 0400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Stack trace (x64):A12F2D
A130C0 A131BB 5F80FD 5F6B30 5F5581 5ED79F 826BB1 8422B6
842A0D 843025 6037A2 40F2FD 825B80 81A553 4367B9 914FE1

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
docc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 2016-07-04, 11:56 UTC

same here

Post by *docc »

---------------------------
Total Commander 9.0RC4
---------------------------
Access violation.
Access violation
Windows 10 10.0 (Build 14393), base: 0400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Stack trace (x64):A12F2D
A130C0 A131BB 5F80FD 5F6B30 5F5581 5ED79F 826BB1 8422B6
842A0D 843025 8421A1 40F2FD 825B80 81A553 914FE1 85842B

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Ja Nein
---------------------------

The TC must be closed by the task manager
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39980
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

NOT confirmed. Can you give me more details please, like the version of Everything you are using?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3883
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

No problems with Everything searches in TC using
Version 1.4.1.789b (x64)
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 20H2 (OS Build 19042.608)
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.996 (x64)
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39980
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I tried with 1.4.1.782b.x64 and 1.3.4.686.x64 on Windows 7 x64, no problems with TC 9 RC4 x32 and x64.

Btw, I really recommend updating to 1.4.1.782b, it's much faster because TC can now get the file details directly from Everything, and doesn't have to check each file by itself.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Senyai
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2012-03-02, 14:30 UTC

Post by *Senyai »

100% repeatable - https://arseniy.net/acess_violation.png
Everything Version 1.3.4.686 (x64)
docc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 2016-07-04, 11:56 UTC

Post by *docc »

it is repeatable with the version 1.4.0.713b of Everything. No problem with RC3 in the same configuration.
docc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 2016-07-04, 11:56 UTC

Post by *docc »

I now installed the version 1.4.1.782b and the problem is gone :)
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3883
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Senyai wrote:100% repeatable - https://arseniy.net/acess_violation.png
Everything Version 1.3.4.686 (x64)
This is an old version of Everything which has no benefits to use in TC !
Also it contains many errors already fixed in the current betas.
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 20H2 (OS Build 19042.608)
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.996 (x64)
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3883
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

docc wrote:it is repeatable with the version 1.4.0.713b of Everything. No problem with RC3 in the same configuration.
RC3 doesn't use the new Everything API for getting more file infos.
Update Everything from the following URL:
http://www.voidtools.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5718
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 20H2 (OS Build 19042.608)
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.996 (x64)
Senyai
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2012-03-02, 14:30 UTC

Post by *Senyai »

Horst.Epp wrote:
Senyai wrote:100% repeatable - https://arseniy.net/acess_violation.png
Everything Version 1.3.4.686 (x64)
This is an old version of Everything which has no benefits to use in TC !
Also it contains many errors already fixed in the current betas.
Great, now I know that I need an update, but how will other people find it out? Can there be a version check or something?
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11821
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Senyai,
Can there be a version check or something?
Everything does already have such a function, does it not?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Senyai
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2012-03-02, 14:30 UTC

Post by *Senyai »

Hacker wrote:Senyai,
Can there be a version check or something?
Everything does already have such a function, does it not?

Roman
Yes, it has. I'm talking about different thing here. I imagine a situation where a user installs stable TC version (not yet released) and stable version of Everything. How is he or she supposed to react to access violation; ctrl+c the message and go the forum?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39980
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I found the problem, thanks to the screenshot by Senyai:

It happens when using Everything 1.3, and NOTHING is found with the given search string. Then TC tries to quick-sort the returned empty list, which causes the access violation.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply