Pack files - Create separate archives...

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
User avatar
Damel
Member
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: 2003-02-06, 01:11 UTC
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Pack files - Create separate archives...

Post by *Damel » 2018-05-17, 12:32 UTC

Files are selected and packed (Pack files - Create separate archives, one per selected file/dir). For example:
tc920x32_64_b3.exe
tc920x32_b3.exe
tc920x64_b3.exe

A) zip:c:\*.*.zip
create:
tc920x32_64_b3.exe.zip
tc920x32_b3.exe.zip
tc920x64_b3.exe.zip
= OK

B) zip:c:\2018 *.*.zip
create:
2018 x32_64_b3.exe.zip
2018 x32_b3.exe.zip
2018 x64_b3.exe.zip
= OK

C) zip:c:\2018-0 *.*.zip
create:
2018-0 2_64_b3.exe.zip
2018-0 2_b3.exe.zip
2018-0 4_b3.exe.zip

D) zip:c:\2018-05 *.*.zip
create:
2018-05 _64_b3.exe.zip
with tc920x32_64_b3.exe
2018-05 _b3.exe.zip
with tc920x32_b3.exe and tc920x64_b3.exe

E) zip:c:\2018-05-16 *.*.zip
create:
2018-05-16 .exe.zip
with tc920x32_64_b3.exe
2018-05-16 _b3.exe.zip
with tc920x32_b3.exe and tc920x64_b3.exe

I'm not sure if this is bug or not. But I will be pleased if it will be possible to use what we need in file names of created archives.
The best solution:
1. format C:
2. install TotalCmd
3. install Windows (optionally)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-17, 14:21 UTC

B) zip:c:\2018 *.*.zip
create:
2018 x32_64_b3.exe.zip
2018 x32_b3.exe.zip
2018 x64_b3.exe.zip
= OK
I don't think this is OK either - I would have expected:

2018 tc920x32_64_b3.exe.zip
2018 tc920x32_b3.exe.zip
2018 tc920x64_b3.exe.zip


And with:
E) zip:c:\2018-05-16 *.*.zip
create:
2018-05-16 .exe.zip
with tc920x32_64_b3.exe
2018-05-16 _b3.exe.zip
with tc920x32_b3.exe and tc920x64_b3.exe
I would have expected:

2018-05-16 tc920x32_64_b3.exe.zip
2018-05-16 tc920x32_b3.exe.zip
2018-05-16 tc920x64_b3.exe.zip
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Damel
Member
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: 2003-02-06, 01:11 UTC
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Post by *Damel » 2018-05-17, 18:53 UTC

Thank you for your corrections of my mistake, and yes, I would have expected that behavior too.
The best solution:
1. format C:
2. install TotalCmd
3. install Windows (optionally)

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11011
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-05-17, 19:41 UTC

Neither new nor bug. By design and been like that since forever.
(Not saying it is intuitive.)

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-18, 10:25 UTC

No, it's not a bug - the * means the remaining characters from this position until the end of the name.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Damel
Member
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: 2003-02-06, 01:11 UTC
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Post by *Damel » 2018-05-18, 10:54 UTC

Would it be, please, enhanced into an intuitive state, where * = all original characters from the file name, so we can put what we need before it?
The best solution:
1. format C:
2. install TotalCmd
3. install Windows (optionally)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-18, 12:18 UTC

Would it be, please, enhanced into an intuitive state, where * = all original characters from the file name, so we can put what we need before it?
I second that - I can't even see the benefits of the current behaviour
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11011
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-05-18, 16:01 UTC

I agree that it would be more intuitive as suggested.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-21, 08:24 UTC

Actually it's how the command line in Windows works (cmd.exe).

For example, try this:
echo . > filename.txt
ren filename.txt name*.txt
gives namename.txt as the result, and not namefilename.txt!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-21, 10:27 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
I don't think you can compare it to renaming (or copying) one file.

The "Create separate archives, one per selected file/dir)" function is more comparable to an iteration:
for %i (in filelist) do copy %i %i.zip

so adding name in front of it should be like:
for %i (in filelist) do copy %i name%i.zip

which would give the result Damel, Hacker and I expect.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-22, 14:38 UTC

Sorry, I prefer to keep it as it is now.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Damel
Member
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: 2003-02-06, 01:11 UTC
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Post by *Damel » 2018-06-14, 11:13 UTC

When I want to pack files 1.ext, 2.ext, and 3.ext into separate archives and the setting is: zip:c:\A*.*.zip, then separated archives are not created, but only one ZIP with all files. So, for this reason, I will still consider this behaviuor as a bug.
The best solution:
1. format C:
2. install TotalCmd
3. install Windows (optionally)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-14, 13:36 UTC

So, for this reason, I will still consider this behaviuor as a bug.
Good point!
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-15, 09:54 UTC

No, it's your fault to change the name so all files are merged into one by setting that name pattern.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Damel
Member
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: 2003-02-06, 01:11 UTC
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Post by *Damel » 2018-06-15, 11:59 UTC

The name change was never a fault of a user but a just used feature, which acts in Total Commander counterintuitively. On the other hand, merging all files into one archive when "Create separate archives, one per selected file/dir" is set is indisputably a programmer fault.

I'm sorry Mr. Ghisler, I don't want to be personal, but your reaction was very rude. Naming the use of an existing feature as a user fault is not appropriate!
The best solution:
1. format C:
2. install TotalCmd
3. install Windows (optionally)

Post Reply