Use of "Always show drive letter in tab title"

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8066
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Use of "Always show drive letter in tab title"

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-10, 11:11 UTC

If I for Folder tabs enable "Always show drive letter in tab title", then it is also applied to Network Neighborhood and Shared directories on the Network where TC shows \: in stead of the drive letter plus colon (TabSeparator=:).

I think TC should rather not show anything for the drive letter on the Network or it should show \\ in stead of \: in the Folder Tab title.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-11, 14:03 UTC

Sorry, this is intentional and will not be changed. "\" is what is shown for the nethood in the drive dropdown list too.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8066
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-11, 16:18 UTC

"\" is what is shown for the nethood in the drive dropdown list too
And that is OK - it is the "\:" that bothers me - is there any chance of removing the colon for Network?
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-12, 14:23 UTC

Currently it's not possible - the "drive letter" is exactly 1 character, and the separator can be set by the user. You can set it yourself to a space or so, but this would be for drives too.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8066
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-12, 16:28 UTC

but this would be for drives too.
Exactly - And I like the colon with the drive letters.

It is no big deal it just looks peculiar (\:Network) :-)
Last edited by petermad on 2018-06-14, 11:32 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-13, 17:31 UTC

Sorry, the separator is defined by the user, I don't want to change it just for some paths - then people want it also for plugins, then for virtual folders, then for network drives - this could go on forever.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply