<ALT>-<F7> doesn't do anything (should call &quo

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
waeberd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-06-18, 11:23 UTC

<ALT>-<F7> doesn't do anything (should call &quo

Post by *waeberd »

Hi folks

just installed 9.12 64 bit (2017-11-24) on a new Win10 PC and have a problem:

if I press ALT-F7 Total Commander should display the "search files" dialog, but nothing happens.

ALT-SHIFT-F7 works ("search files in separate process"), but after 20 years ALT-F7 it's *hard* to change my habit.

Is that a bug or some windows setting preventing alt-f7 to work?

Thanks & best regards

Daniel

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9376
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

It sounds like some program/app is "stealing" the hotkey Alt+F7 by using it system-wide.

This program: http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=18189.0;attach=40705 might help you to see IF Alt+F7 is registered for system-wide use - but it connot tell you which program that is doing it.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6901
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

Do you have nVidia Experience installed? If so, there's your hotkey stealer.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

waeberd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-06-18, 11:23 UTC

Post by *waeberd »

thank you peter

I think I found the culprit - GeForce Experience seems to steal hotkeys aggressively...

will try to remap that

Thanks again, Daniel

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Yes it does, it's really annoying. I would understand if it did that only while a game is in foreground or maximized, but not during general Windows usage.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

waeberd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-06-18, 11:23 UTC

Post by *waeberd »

For the record:

uninstalled "GeForce Experience" (this leaves the driver untouched but removes the invasive utility), rebooted Win10, problem solved!

Thanks & have fun!
Daniel

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11519
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Message from moderator

Moved to the English forum.

Hacker (Moderator)
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Btw, you don't need to remove it, you can just change the hotkeys via Alt+Z -> click on the cog wheel icon - keyboard shortcuts. Click on a shortcut and press Delete to remove it, or the new shortcut.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6901
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

2ghisler(Author)
Yes, but that way the telemetry crap (which is included in GeForce Experience) stays on the system. IMO it's better to remove GeForce Experience if one doesn't need it. Or even better: don't install it in the first place when installing the nVidia driver package.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

waeberd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-06-18, 11:23 UTC

Post by *waeberd »

For some reason the GeForce Experience App didn't show up anymore out of the tray icon (seems to be a known issue in some situations), so removing it was the best solution.

I am supposed to work on this machine anyway, so... no gaming stuff ! :)

Thanks again & regards

Daniel

Post Reply