This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TC on VMWare VDI Desktop crash

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.1x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DarkRuleR
Member
Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 183
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:40 am    Post subject: TC on VMWare VDI Desktop crash Reply with quote

At work I use TC in a VMWare VDI environment (Virtual Desktop).
The Desktop has as operating system: Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit.
I have copied TC onto a Windows Share and I start TC directly from the Share; It’s not “Installed”.
The VDI Desktop is persistent so when I open the Desktop you can continue where you left off.

I happens a few times now that when I open my VDI Desktop and start using TC everything looks fine but after ~30 seconds / 1 minute TC hangs and display’s this crash report:

---------------------------
Total Commander 9.12
---------------------------
Control-C hit.
Control-C hit
Windows 10 10.0 (Build 16299), base: 0400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Stack trace (x64):46F910
46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910
46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910 46F910

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------
_________________
#106383 Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 852
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stack contents may suggest some infinite recurrency (although the error message not).

(And this is TC 9.12, not 9.20)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10927
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moderation:
Moved to the 9.1x bug reports forum.

Hacker (Moderator)

_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35974
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happens when there is a C++ structured exception occuring in a third party DLL. The Lazarus/Free Pascal compiler I'm using cannot handle that correctly.

Solution: Use Total Commander 32-bit.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 852
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is an architectural difference in 64-bit exception handling, so - basically - every DLL should handle its own exceptions.

But it should be still possible to catch the unhandled exception in the third-party 64-bit library - TC could install its own, additional exception handler by using an AddVectoredExceptionHandler API.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DarkRuleR
Member
Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 183
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
This happens when there is a C++ structured exception occuring in a third party DLL. The Lazarus/Free Pascal compiler I'm using cannot handle that correctly.

Solution: Use Total Commander 32-bit.


Is the 'third party DLL' an plugin configured within TC?
And is a possible workaround disabling the plugins???
_________________
#106383 Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35974
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's probably not a plugin, but a Windows DLL misbehaving under VMWare VDI, or denying access via an exception.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.1x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group