[Solved] <Read error!> for locked tabs on startup

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

[Solved] <Read error!> for locked tabs on startup

Post by *Aezay » 2018-07-05, 14:38 UTC

OS: Windows 7

When starting up Total Commander, and one of the active tabs are locked (left, right or both). The listing for the locked tab will just have one item named "<Read error!>".

When starting up with the active tabs being regular non-locked tabs, no such error occurs, and switching to a locked tab works just fine.

Often, this error will persist, even after you change tabs. But sometimes, when enough fiddling around, you can clear the error, and get it to read directories properly again, but it can be a little tricky.
Last edited by Aezay on 2018-07-10, 07:25 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-06, 13:31 UTC

This isn't a bug, it's a new feature!
Total Commander 9.20 now shows <Read error> for locked tabs only if their directory cannot be accessed during program start. In older TC versions, it would switch to a different directory, which caused a new tab to be opened.

You can double click or press ENTER on <Read error> to force a reload of the directory.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *Aezay » 2018-07-06, 14:25 UTC

But if the directory isn't locked, but is still set to the same exact directory, there is no error, and listing the content works just fine.

It also doesn't explain why the read error persists even when I switch to other tabs, that are not locked.

When I get the read error item, it can be really tricky to get rid of, easiest way is to switch to a non-locked tab, and restart the program.

This doesn't sound like a feature to me. Can I disable it?
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8067
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-07-06, 16:07 UTC

2Aezay
Can I disable it?
Help:
IgnoreDirErrors=0 1: allows to switch to inaccessible or non-existent directories, shows <Read error!> in file list instead
0: only shows <Read error!> at the start of Total Commander for unreachable directories on locked tabs
-1: never shows <Read error!>, always switches away from unreachable directories
So use IgnoreDirErrors=-1 in the [Configuration] section your wincmd.ini file
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *Aezay » 2018-07-07, 00:28 UTC

Thanks for the reply.

This is an odd behavior, why not have -1 as default. I had to use explorer to navigate to the INI file to even change this, since Total Commander didn't want to list files at all, not even in new tabs.

After changing IgnoreDirErrors to -1, it seemed to work at first, but now I notice there is no file listing for root folders on any drives. And occasionally I get access violation crashes.

Code: Select all

Access violation at address 004278C4. Read of address 0000001C.
Access violation at address 004278C4. Read of address 0000001C
Windows 7 SP1 HomePremium 6.1 (Build 7601), base: 00400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
004278C4
00449FC2  0044A956  >0042753A  00449EF8  0042753A  00448955
0044A956  0042753A  00449EF8  0042753A  004747E7  004026B8
004094C3  004032DA  004032DA  004032DA  
Raw:
00449EF8  0042753A  0044AB55  0043977E  00449F4A  00449FC2
0044A956  0042753A  00449EF8  0042753A  00402E8E  00448955
0044AC25  00429481  00449FC2  0044A956  0042753A  00449EF8
0042753A  00409079  004747E7  004747FD  00403414  004021C8
004023EF  004026B8  00409241  004023EF  004026B8  00403707
004094AC  004094C3  0040352B  00447D33  004476C0  0042DCAE
004032DA  0042CD5F  0042CF0E  004032DA  004032DA  

Code: Select all

Exception EAccessViolation in module TOTALCMD.EXE at 0002A8EA.
Access violation at address 0042BB2A. Read of address 00000050.
Seems like I must have some weird configuration going on, since no one else seems to be suffering from these issues with the new update.
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6284
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-07-07, 21:55 UTC

Aezay wrote:I had to use explorer to navigate to the INI file to even change this, since Total Commander didn't want to list files at all, not even in new tabs.
No need to navigate anywhere for this. Menu Configuration > Change Settings Files Directly. Or create a button or entry in TC's start menu with your favorite editor and %COMMANDER_INI% as parameter.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-08, 08:35 UTC

2Aezay
Where are these unreadable directories located?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *Aezay » 2018-07-08, 19:47 UTC

I'm running as admin, so it's not a permission issue.

The locked tabs I had issues with before I tried setting IgnoreDirErrors to -1, are just directories directly in the root of my drives.

After changing IgnoreDirErrors to -1, no root on any drive, from c:\ to i:\ would list any files. There was no <Read error!> entry for these, just a completely empty listbox. This is also where I experiences the access violations errors.

To me it seems like it must be a settings issue, something to do with how Total Commander is configured for me, seeing that no one else are having these issues.

The only notable things I can think of and point to are the following:
  • My settings file is TotalCmd.ini located in the program directory.
  • I've added many RedirectSection for the following INI sections: Colors, Searches, Left, Right, Selection, Command Line History, RenameTemplates, SearchName, SearchIn, SearchText, RenameSearchFind, RenameSearchReplace, MkDirHistory, LeftTabs, RightTabs, NewFileHistory, LeftHistory, RightHistory.
  • I think my INI settings file has persisted since the early 2000s, I've never wiped it or started fresh. I could try that out, but don't have the time right now.
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11043
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-07-08, 20:15 UTC

Aezay,
Well, you can always quickly try:

Code: Select all

totalcmd.exe /i=.\fresh.ini
assuming TC's dir is writable.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-09, 08:29 UTC

There is a known error which causes <Read error!> everywhere when
OldStyleDir=1
is set in wincmd.ini. But this happens everywhere, not just on locked tabs. Therefore I wonder what the problem is here.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *Aezay » 2018-07-09, 19:41 UTC

Aha, OldStyleDir is indeed set to 1 for me.

I wonder when I changed that setting. Looking at the description, it doesn't seem like a setting that would make a huge difference.

9.12 works just fine with this setting set to 1, so I assume the known error is for 9.20 only?

Will try out 9.20 again with this setting off.
But this happens everywhere, not just on locked tabs. Therefore I wonder what the problem is here.
I only had it happen when I started up 9.20 on a locked tab, if I swapped to a non-locked tab, the <Read error!> item remained, as if no new directory refresh was being done. However, when I restarted the program, directory listing worked fine when starting up on the non-locked tab.
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-09, 20:41 UTC

I see! TC 9.20 should handle directories much better even with OldStyleDir=0, so you can remove that option.
Last edited by ghisler(Author) on 2018-07-10, 09:18 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *Aezay » 2018-07-10, 06:15 UTC

Awesome, 9.20 is working for me now. Thanks for the help. :D

Consider this solved.
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8067
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-07-10, 15:32 UTC

Consider this solved.
Not really.

If I set OldStyleDir=1 in Tc 9.20, it doesn't matter whether I set IgnoreDirErrors to -1, 0 or 1 - I end up with a completely dysfunctionel TC that can only show blank file panels (execpt for Virtual dirs, FTP sites and Archives).

So the OldStyleDir=1 setting should be ignored in future versions of TC.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply