This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Icons for special folder replaced after Ctrl+R

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.2x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WetMouse
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:51 am    Post subject: Icons for special folder replaced after Ctrl+R Reply with quote

Windows 7, TC 32bit.
When the "show special folder icons" option is turned on, the system icon (for example, for the folder "C:\Documents and Settings") is drawn, but after the update (Ctrl+R) the icon is replaced with the icon from Total Commander.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7865
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed. TC 9.20 32bit and 64bit, Windows 7 Pro
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35974
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed either. It's possible that the icon loading thread is busy with other things, so it can take a moment to reload such icons. In a worst case, it can take several minutes, e.g. when it tries to load an icon from a network share which is no longer accessible.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
WetMouse
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I repeated this problem with a clean install on Win Server 2012 R2.
Icon changed only after Ctrl+R.
See imgur_com_gallery_ptDGkZM

Sorry, can't post u_r_l_s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6087
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clickable link: https://imgur.com/gallery/ptDGkZM

2WetMouse
Where exactly do you see a problem? The icons are not replaced by the TC icon, TC just redraws the exclamation mark icon that marks hidden objects. Note that the exclamation mark icon is there already, it just gets redrawn.

[EDIT]
I meant exclamation mark, not question mark.
[/EDIT]


Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups


Last edited by Dalai on Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
WetMouse
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2 Dalai
Thanks for link.
The problem is visible on folders with junction/symlink (All Users, Documents and Settings). On the folders an overlay with an arrow is displayed. First you see a system overlay, but after Ctrl+R it is replaced with an overlay from TC that looks different.

A large blue arrow above the exclamation changes to a small black arrow under an exclamation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6087
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WetMouse wrote:
On the folders an overlay with an arrow is displayed. First you see a system overlay, but after Ctrl+R it is replaced with an overlay from TC that looks different.

Neither the exclamation mark nor the link arrow are system overlays. Both of them are TC icons/overlays. Both icons (exclamation mark and link arrow) are there, before and after you press Ctrl+R. The only difference is that the exclamation mark is drawn under the link arrow before you refresh the panel and over the link arrow after doing so.

To summarize:
  • Before refresh: Link arrow drawn over exclamation mark
  • After refresh: exclamation mark drawn over link arrow
There is no replacement of icons taking place, it's just the order in which the icons are drawn.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
WetMouse
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Dalai
This is not entirely true. For symbolic links - before refresh a system arrow is drawn.
I made a more illustrative example - I disabled the exclamation mark and used a custom icon library.

Image: http://i.imgur.com/fcwamd5.gif


Last edited by WetMouse on Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7865
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm this:
Before Ctrl+R: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/overlaylnk1.png
After Ctrl+R: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/overlaylnk2.png

Setting: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/overlaylnk2.png

Actually, I don't need to press Ctrl+R, just take focus away form TC and back on (WatchDirs=55) does it.

In TC 9.10 the overlay arrows for LNK's are shown permanently.
As from TC 9.12rc2 the overlay arrows are not shown. When I press Ctrl+R they are shown for a split second and then dissapears.
TC 9.20b1 behaves the same way as TC 9.20 final.

I don't use any custom icon library.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35974
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed so far. Do you get this with a fresh ini? If no, which options do you need to set?

There is one thing I noticed, though, e.g. for folder "Programme" pointing to "Program Files": When overlay icons are enabled, and using the internal folder icons (not from Explorer), the icon may sometimes show the Windows overlay arrow, and sometimes the internal overlay arrow.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
WetMouse
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used these settings: Image: https://i.imgur.com/9te6Mt6.png

ghisler(Author) wrote:
the icon may sometimes show the Windows overlay arrow, and sometimes the internal overlay arrow.

Yes, this is the crux of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7865
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2ghisler(Author)

Use this wincmd.ini:
Code:
[Configuration]
ShowHiddenSystem=1
UseLongNames=1
Small83Names=0
IconOverlays=1
IconsSpecialFolders=3
Showicons=2
ShowEXEandLNKicons=2
IconsInMenus=17
IconsOnNet=1
OldListIcons=1
FirstTimeIconLib=0
[left]
path=c:\Users\Default\

There will be no overlay arrows on the <LNK> entries - now press Ctrl+R and there will be.

It seems to be the IconOverlays=1 that is the culprit - If I set IconOverlays=0, then the overlay arrows are shown all the time, even though they should not be shown at all.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.2x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group