TotalCommander Bug?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

TotalCommander Bug?

Post by *JohnFredC »

Ever since I started using viewer plugins in TotalCommander 5.51 I have encountered this problematic behavior. It occurs every time I follow the following steps:

1. User TotalCommander to navigate to an archive file (any format).

2. Double-click on the archive to view it's contents.

3. Select any file displayed in the contents of the archive, or alternately don't select anything.

4. Issue cm_LeftQuickview, cm_RightQuickview, or cm_SrcQuickview, whichever is appropriate. I use menu entries for these commands.

5. The QuickView panel displays and...

6. The following error dialog appears:

Access violation at address 77F52CC3. Write of address 01684AB1.
Please report this error to the Author, with a description of what you were doing when this error occured!
Continue execution?

7. If I click "Yes", then the Quickview panel remains open, TotalCommander returns control to me, and I can then select any file to view with no further problems until I close the QuickView panel.

8. If I select "No", then TotalCommander immediately closes and displays another Access violation dialog, this time with different addresses:

Access violation at address 80000005. Write of address 80000005.
Please report this error to the Author, with a description of what you were doing when this error occured!
Continue execution?

9. Selecting "Yes" or "No" dismisses the dialog. I have to restart TotalCommander.

Please note that this behavior does not occur if I display the QuickView panel BEFORE navigating into the archive.

I have not reported this before because I thought it was related to a specific plug-in I use most frequently. However, further experimentation this morning shows that it happens with every lister plug-in I have, so perhaps it is a TotalCommander problem instead.
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

poiuytr
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 243
Joined: 2003-02-23, 17:33 UTC

Post by *poiuytr »

Does cm_LeftQuickview or cm_RightQuickview equivalents to ctrl+q? If so i couldn't reproduce described behavior.

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC »

Does cm_LeftQuickview or cm_RightQuickview equivalents to ctrl+q? If so i couldn't reproduce described behavior.
Yes, it doesn't matter which command (or keyboard shortcut) generates the quickview request.

I have verified this behavior on three different machines.

Win XP Pro

Here is my list of plugins:

DBFView.wlx
fileinfo.wlx
hpg_ed.wlx
ieview.wlx
iniview.wlx

If I disable all of these, no problem.

If I enable 1 at a time, no problem. They all work individually with no errors.

If I enable all 5, problem occurs...

Hmmm. No time right now to test all permutations.
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

poiuytr
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 243
Joined: 2003-02-23, 17:33 UTC

Post by *poiuytr »

Here you are my list of plugins:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\Program Files\totalcmd\Stuff\fileinfo.wlx
1=C:\Program Files\totalcmd\Stuff\cdbfview.wlx
1_detect="ext="DBF" |  ext="DBC""
Also winxp pro and no exception invoked.

p.s. TC 5.51

Geoffrey
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 2003-02-11, 10:53 UTC
Location: France/Belgium
Contact:

Post by *Geoffrey »

Couldn't it be a conflict between maybe 2 dlls (plugins) ?
Maybe try to enable all plugins 1 by 1, and check from which moment this occurs.

I couldn't reproduce this bug either.

Regards,
Geoffrey

User avatar
atomix
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2003-02-05, 13:35 UTC
Location: TotalCmd Planet

Post by *atomix »

I can not reproduce atm the problem you described but I have some questions:

1. What kind of files are you trying to view (txt, binaries)?

2. Did you experience this bug with all versions of Total Commander?

3. Do you have any conflicting software installed? For instance some programs replace the default winxp richedit controls causing problems in TCmd's lister (I know because I had a similar problem on XP).

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC »

If no one else experiences this, then it's a tough one.

In prior versions of WindowsCommander (before plugins) this is what I encountered when using QuickView on a file in an archive:

1. Navigate to an archive
2. Navigate INTO the archive
3. Select a file (.txt, etc) in the archive
3. Issue any internal QuickView command to display the QuickView panel
4. The QuickView panel displays but is blank
5. Reselect the file
6. QuickView displays the file's contents.

I have been using TC since ancient history and this is always how it has worked with files INSIDE archives.

If I remove all plugins and restart TotalCommander 5.51 , then the above behavior occurs.

If I enable any individual plug-in only, then the above behavior also occurs (ie., blank QuickView panel first, then I re-select the file in the archive and the plugin displays it).

If I enable all plug-ins in my list (see previous post) then the error I have reported occurs.

With 5 plugins, there are (5!) permutations to test to determine which combination triggers the error. I'll work on that, but don't have a lot of time for it right now.

Perhaps there is interaction between plugins, or that they need to be loaded in a particular order...
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

Well, I have got the same problem (TC 5.51).
But I've found it happens only while I have installed dbfview lister plugin !!! I don't know why it happens in this case but when I remove the last line ( 8th line) from my ini file everyting is ok. The problem appears not for .dbf files but really... for all.

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=D:\totalcmd\Lister\EventLog.wlx
1=D:\totalcmd\Lister\SystemInfo.wlx
2=D:\totalcmd\Lister\office.wlx
3=D:\totalcmd\Lister\mmedia.wlx
4=D:\totalcmd\Lister\iniview.wlx
5=D:\totalcmd\Lister\hpg_ed.wlx
6=D:\totalcmd\Lister\ieview.wlx
7=D:\totalcmd\Lister\fileinfo.wlx
8=D:\totalcmd\Lister\DBFView.wlx
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC »

So I was wrong... it IS plugin related.

I will test this sometime today and report back.

(thanks djk)
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC »

Removing DBFView did suppress the error I was getting.

I use CDBF as a standalone viewer (its a great tool), but didn't care for its functionality as a TC plugin. Since DBFView gives me the error, I'll reload the CDBF plugin and try again.


Thanks to everyone who helped with this issue.
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39146
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I don't get this error with DBFView. Which version of DBFView did you use? And did you get this error for all files, or only for DBF files?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

ghisler(Author) wrote:I don't get this error with DBFView. Which version of DBFView did you use? And did you get this error for all files, or only for DBF files?
It's 0.9 beta version of dbfview.
As I've written above: "The problem appears not for .dbf files but really... for all."
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39146
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

OK, if you don't get it for DBF files, please add the following line under [ListerPlugins] in wincmd.ini:

1_detect="ext="DBF" | ext="DBC""

The number (here '1') must be the same as the number of the plugin. This ensures that the DBF plugin is only called for DBF and DBC files.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
djk
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2003-03-17, 11:33 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *djk »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 1_detect="ext="DBF" | ext="DBC""
OK, it works now !!! :-) Thanks Christian.
Does it work to other plugins? Can I select this way for which extensions any plugin works or not? Is there anywhere description of it?
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl

User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie »

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-10, 20:27 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply