no quotes

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
cieke
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2003-11-25, 17:58 UTC

no quotes

Post by *cieke »

In the menubar where you can create your own buttons, I have the following problem: I want to use a batch file with parameters (%O) but without "" (quotes) with long filenames:

example

get.bat read this.txt

with parameter %O it wil give read
if paramater is change to "%O" it wil give "read this"
I want: read this

Source of get.bat :D
@echo off
echo. %1


I hope that I have explain it well..
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3867
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

simply use:

@echo off
echo. %*

to echo all parameters
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1578
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Re: no quotes

Post by *wanderer »

cieke wrote:In the menubar where you can create your own buttons, I have the following problem: I want to use a batch file with parameters (%O) but without "" (quotes) with long filenames:

example

get.bat read this.txt

with parameter %O it wil give read
if paramater is change to "%O" it wil give "read this"
I want: read this

Source of get.bat :D
@echo off
echo. %1


I hope that I have explain it well..
I had this problem. If i remember correctly, i used ""%O"" to pass the quotes too. Does it help?
Last edited by wanderer on 2003-11-27, 10:40 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Normally using latest TC on:
x32: WinXPx32 SP3
x64: Clients/Servers from Win7 to Win11 and Win2K12Srv to Win2K22Srv, mainly Win10 though.
cieke
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2003-11-25, 17:58 UTC

Post by *cieke »

sqa_wizard wrote:simply use:

@echo off
echo. %*

to echo all parameters
Ofcourse how stupid of me :oops:, There are more then one parameters

Thank you very much... I've learned something today, especially %* that I never heard from... I should use %1 %2,...
cieke
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2003-11-25, 17:58 UTC

Re: no quotes

Post by *cieke »

wanderer wrote: I had this problem. If i remember correctly, i used ""%O"" to pass the quotes too. Does it help?
Nope, that wont work, But I've got the solution from squa wizard..

But thanks anyway for your reply...
Post Reply