Search from search results excludes top-level folders

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8403
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Search from search results excludes top-level folders

Post by *MVV » 2010-04-16, 10:35 UTC

E.g. I search for something and press 'feed to listbox'. Then, I want to find something else in search results - but TC excludes top level folders from search results panel.

E.g. I have structure:

Code: Select all

c:\myfol1
c:\pre_myfol1_s
c:\pre_myfol1_s\pre_myfol11_s
c:\pre_myfol2
c:\pre_myfol2_s
After first search for "pre_*" I have:

Code: Select all

c:\pre_myfol1_s
c:\pre_myfol1_s\pre_myfol11_s
c:\pre_myfol2
c:\pre_myfol2_s
After second search for "*_s" I have only:

Code: Select all

c:\pre_myfol1_s\pre_myfol11_s
While following is expected:

Code: Select all

c:\pre_myfol1_s
c:\pre_myfol1_s\pre_myfol11_s
c:\pre_myfol2_s
I have no files selected neither before first search nor before second one.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38384
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-04-16, 15:58 UTC

This is a wanted change in TC 7.55: I was told that users expect that TC searches in the current panel - so when you search in a search result, TC will search only in the displaye files.

Just press F2 or Ctrl+R to return to normal view before searching again.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8403
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-04-16, 18:57 UTC

Yes, I've seen corresponding history line. But what if I want to search in search results like in my example? I understand that TC searches inside of selected folders if selection exists but maybe it would be useful to check top-level folders too while searching?

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11381
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2010-04-17, 07:19 UTC

Search in subdirectories: -1?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4557
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen » 2010-04-17, 09:13 UTC

Hacker wrote:Search in subdirectories: -1?
What should this tell me? Cannot locate such a parameter in totalcmd.chm.

Karl

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11381
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2010-04-17, 10:52 UTC

karlchen,
Just a suggestion how this might perhaps be implemented.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4557
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen » 2010-04-17, 13:29 UTC

Hello, Roman.

Oh, I see.

Karl

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8403
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-04-19, 11:41 UTC

Hacker wrote:Search in subdirectories: -1?
I think -1 is upper folder and not current. I don't know how TC passes files and folders from results panel to new search but it is strange why it finds files normally (so passes them as is!) but folders passes just as search start path (I think it is the reason why upper-level folders disapper from next search results).

Post Reply