Archive contents disappears from view

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Archive contents disappears from view

Post by *Flint » 2012-05-27, 14:51 UTC

1. Download this file: http://rghost.ru/38302411 (press big black button entitled "Скачать" at the left, just below the file name AkelPad.exe).
2. This file is a RAR SFX archive. Extract from it the file ini.exe.
3. Place ini.exe in some directory (say, C:\Temp\) and open this directory in the left panel.
4. Place AkelPad.exe in some other directory (say, D:\Temp\) and open this directory in the right panel.
5. Put cursor in the left panel on ini.exe, press Ctrl+PgDown.
6. Put cursor in the right panel on AkelPad.exe, also press Ctrl+PgDown.
7. Go back to the left panel, put cursor at AkelPad.ini (which is inside ini.exe), press F4, modify the file, close the editor and agree to repack it to the archive.
8. The contents of the AkelPad.exe on the right panel suddely disappears, only [..] element remains (the archive itself still contains all the files).

<Added>
Just in case, a video recording of the process: http://rghost.ru/38301044
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37667
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-05-28, 16:00 UTC

It seems that you are using the watchdirs option (watch directory changes), which is causing a refresh. Apparently the EXE packer format isn't recognized on refresh, so no contents are shown. What packer is used for this format?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2012-05-28, 16:10 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:It seems that you are using the watchdirs option (watch directory changes), which is causing a refresh.
No, the problem is reproducable with clean INI too (except for path to WinRAR should be specified for repacking).
ghisler(Author) wrote:What packer is used for this format?
Both these files are RAR SFX, but the problem may not be reproduced with arbitrary RAR SFXes, only with this one.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white » 2012-05-29, 07:07 UTC

Flint wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:It seems that you are using the watchdirs option (watch directory changes), which is causing a refresh.
No, the problem is reproducable with clean INI too (except for path to WinRAR should be specified for repacking).
Problem confirmed with TC 8.0 32bit. It's not even necessary to specify a rar packer. The same problem occurs when the packer is not found. So it seems like an error occurs when winrar is used.

When the problem has occurred it is no longer possible to browse inside AkelPad.exe. Pressing Ctrl+PgDn shows an empty list. Only after restarting TC or browsing inside another archive (a random zip file will do), browsing inside AkelPad.exe becomes possible again. This seems to indicate that there is a bug present.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37667
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-05-29, 10:06 UTC

It seems to be specific to that file only - probably a misdetection as a different archive format.
When the problem has occurred it is no longer possible to browse inside AkelPad.exe.
This is normal, TC caches the file list of an archive until you either enter a different archive, or the timestamp or size of the archive changes.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2012-05-29, 10:44 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:probably a misdetection as a different archive format.
Doesn't look so. After the contents "disappears" if I try to copy a file into that seemingly empty archive, TC suggests to pack the file using RAR, and not some other packer.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2012-06-24, 15:28 UTC

07.06.12 Fixed: Two RAR self-extracting files open, one in each panel, edit file in one, re-pack -> other file empty (only if the size of the two unpack modules is different) (32/64)
Confirm fixed in 8.01rc1.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white » 2012-06-25, 07:45 UTC

Tested problem described in topic start.
Tested OK using 8.01rc1.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37667
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-06-25, 13:21 UTC

Thanks! The problem was that the two files had different size unpackers before the actual data...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply