Refreshing a panel doesn't reset 'age' highlight colouring.

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Refreshing a panel doesn't reset 'age' highlight colouring.

Post by *hiccup »

I have a colouring rule setup, that will colour files that have been modified within the last 3 minutes.
(using the Age 1.0.4 wdx plugin)
It works great.

The issue is that the colouring will remain, even when I refresh the panel after three minutes have passed.
To reset the colouring I will have to leave the directory, and then return to it.

Could this be some bug in TC or in the plugin?
Is there a way to force a more thorough 'refresh'?

edit:
I just noticed it will also get reset after selecting another tab, and then re-selecting the original tab.
(not a perfect solution, but it's a little quicker then leaving the directory and returning to it)

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup »

Update, I have found some sort of solution.

Since I discovered that the panel is fully refreshed and updated after switching tabs, I changed the refresh command from:
cm_RereadSource
to:
cm_SwitchToPreviousTab, cm_SwitchToNextTab

That works fine and completely refreshes the panel.

Still I am curious if TC's 'refresh' command not fully refreshing the colouring rule also could be considered a bug, and might be addressed.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

TC doesn't recalculate all the colors when nothing changes in a directory and you use refresh.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup »

Thanks for replying ghisler.

Yes, that was established.
But don't you think it should? Or would that be too much of a computational burden?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I don't do it because the user can choose any plugins for determining the colors, and they can take a long time to recalculate. Since TC updates the lists each time you switch from another program to it, it could slow down operation quite a bit.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup »

Thanks for explaining ghisler.
And my workaround works fine, so, no problem.

Post Reply