Icons with the same name ICO must have display errors in non thumbnail mode

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
ruizrzr1
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: 2022-07-06, 06:39 UTC

Icons with the same name ICO must have display errors in non thumbnail mode

Post by *ruizrzr1 »

If you have two ICO pictures in one folder,https://ibb.co/L0NnfgS 001.Ico--> (CAT) and 002.Ico--> (pumpkin), now, if you put 001.ICO renamed to 003.ICO, then everything is normal, but if 002.ICO continues to be renamed 001.ICO, you will get two icons that are both displayed as cats, https://ibb.co/XWcw96zif you continue to rename 003.ICO is 002.ICO, they will all be wrong,https://ibb.co/8g7Fgzx https://ibb.co/ysWN62v.
001.ICO always matches the cat, 002.ICO always matches pumpkin. Any icon moved into this folder and renamed to 001 will be displayed as a cat, unless it is removed or TC is restarted.
I think this may be a trouble,If you have many icons that need to be renamed, you must do it in thumbnail mode, and you can't trust the icon display in detail mode and list mode
User avatar
AntonDudarenko
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 339
Joined: 2006-11-04, 15:30 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Icons with the same name ICO must have display errors in non thumbnail mode

Post by *AntonDudarenko »

There is a similar problem for icons, for example, executable files. If such a file was, for example, incorrectly set by the permissions of the security group (for example, there are no read permissions) - then the system of course does not give access to it. And in this case, Total quite correctly shows an empty white standard icon for such a file - i.e. there is no access, it is impossible to read the exe resource. BUT IF - after I manually correct all the security permissions for this file - the icon in the Total of this file will change only!!! - after I go out and get in to the current folder! Although it was expected that Total would "see" the process of changing the attributes of the file and recheck itself - whether it can now re-read the file icon from the exe resources.
#146217 personal license
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 11866
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Icons with the same name ICO must have display errors in non thumbnail mode

Post by *petermad »

License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1021 (x64)
TC 3.40b4 on Android 6 & 12
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
AntonDudarenko
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 339
Joined: 2006-11-04, 15:30 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Icons with the same name ICO must have display errors in non thumbnail mode

Post by *AntonDudarenko »

It's been two or even three years since then - and things may have changed. The author may find some new possibilities for this problem if he starts looking for them now, rather than just referring to the answer from that past. It's worth a try.
Since I have not noticed such a problem in MultiCommander, for ex.
#146217 personal license
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 43749
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Icons with the same name ICO must have display errors in non thumbnail mode

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sorry, it's a bug in the Windows icon cache. Other programs may not use the cache and extract the data directly.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply