"New text file" (possibly unicode enc.) on button

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
RickyGold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2008-09-23, 13:51 UTC

"New text file" (possibly unicode enc.) on button

Post by *RickyGold » 2017-01-01, 18:48 UTC

I'm stuck trying to create a button with the "open new text file" command.
In the "Change button bar" window I've used the search function beside the "Command" textbox: tried "open new text file" (obviously), then tried any combination of "open", "new", "text", "file", but couldn't find the command for it.
I usually use the context menu in the files pane or the "shift-F4" shortcut, but I would like to create a button for it.

Furthermore, with said custom button (and only with it), I would like to open the new text file in unicode encoding, but leaving ANSI as system default... is that possible to do in one click only?

Thanks alot.

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2623
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Post by *Stefan2 » 2017-01-01, 18:59 UTC

Just create a template file
and an button which copy that template to the current path.

If you use '?' as first char in button parameter,
you are even prompted to be able to modify the new name.


Something like

CMD = cmd /c
PARAM = ?COPY "%Commander_PATH%\ShellNew\unicode.txt" "_newfile.txt"







http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=42314

http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=293931#293931

http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=257610#257610

http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=311702#311702

http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=159869#159869

http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=136381#136381

http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=18671



 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11273
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2017-01-01, 19:24 UTC

RickyGold,
cm_EditNewFile
HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

RickyGold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2008-09-23, 13:51 UTC

Post by *RickyGold » 2017-01-03, 15:03 UTC

Thank you for the replies.

Roman, that is exactly the command I was looking for but it seems it's a new command in version 9. I'm still on 8.52a and cannot find it.

Stefan, I did what you suggested and it's totally Ok. The text file is created from the template and has the desired encoding.
A better search in the forum could have lead me to the solution before, as you pointed out there are several reference to this issue. Thank you.

Post Reply