[solved] How to show size in MB in Custom Column View?

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
Jorge24
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-11-06, 18:14 UTC
Location: USA

[solved] How to show size in MB in Custom Column View?

Post by *Jorge24 » 2016-11-06, 18:28 UTC

I know that in Configuration > Options > Display > Tabstops there is an option to display the size of files dynamically (in MB or GB). However this only applies when I use the default "Full" column view. When I use a custom column view that I created, the size always displays in bytes. Is it possible to show size dynamically in custom column view?
Last edited by Jorge24 on 2016-11-06, 20:32 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-11-06, 18:56 UTC

You should see that the selection of TC size properties can be expanded and offers many display modes as options.
For example
[=tc.size.bkMG2]
Windows 10 x64 October 2018 Update
Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.55)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.918 (x64)

Jorge24
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-11-06, 18:14 UTC
Location: USA

Post by *Jorge24 » 2016-11-06, 20:34 UTC

Thanks! I didn't know there were different size properties. I got exactly what I wanted using [=tc.size.bkMG2] ([=tc.size])

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup » 2018-05-18, 12:12 UTC

I'm glad I found this thread, I was also perplexed why the configuration setting for size style wasn't respected for custom columns.

@Horst.Epp
Does this mean you can open a selection menu somewhere where you can select a preferred formatting from a list?
I could neither find something like that, nor much info about what parameters are possible for =tc.size ?

My goal would seem simple: to have the file size in a column displayed in kilobytes.
After some tries, this seems to work: [=tc.size.kbytes]

The only minor issue is that it won't display the abbreviation of the unit anymore.
So it will say something like: 23.543 instead of 23.543 kB

So I changed the value to: [=tc.size.kbytes] kB

That will work, but it will also append 'kB' to <DIR> for folders.
Not a big issue, but it doesn't look nice.

Is there another/better way to achieve this?

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2018-05-18, 12:33 UTC

hiccup wrote:I'm glad I found this thread, I was also perplexed why the configuration setting for size style wasn't respected for custom columns.

@Horst.Epp
Does this mean you can open a selection menu somewhere where you can select a preferred formatting from a list?
I could neither find something like that, nor much info about what parameters are possible for =tc.size ?
...
If you create custom columns you can see all the available size parameters.
Select TC under "Field contents" and you can expand the the Size list
showing all possible variants for =tc.size
Windows 10 x64 October 2018 Update
Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.55)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.918 (x64)

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup » 2018-05-18, 12:51 UTC

Wow, I can't believe my brain never registered those grey expansion arrows.

Thnx Horst.Epp!

edit:
So it seems that for non-dynamic sizes, the abbreviation for the size unit is not displayed.
I can imagine some argument for that being the case, but I still think it should be displayed for those too.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2018-05-18, 12:57 UTC

hiccup wrote:Wow, I can't believe my brain never registered those grey expansion arrows.

Thnx Horst.Epp!

edit:
So it seems that for non-dynamic sizes, the abbreviation for the size unit is not displayed.
I can imagine some argument for that being the case, but I still think it should be displayed for those too.
Why should TC waste display space for fixed units you have configured.
In this case you should know what you have configured and what is shown.
Windows 10 x64 October 2018 Update
Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.55)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.918 (x64)

hiccup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: 2018-05-13, 08:04 UTC

Post by *hiccup » 2018-05-19, 15:33 UTC

Yes, that is an argument I had imagined against displaying the size unit.
(but calling it 'wasting space' for only three characters is a bit strong in my opinion)

Some arguments that would support always displaying the size unit:

- You might have more columns displaying numeric values. In that case you would have to look at the column header to be remembered what you are looking at.
- You might have setup different views, where for folders that contain large files, you have the file size column set to MB, and folders containing small files setup to display kilobytes.
- Total Commander might not be the only software you are using that displays file sizes.

Surely you could try to store in your brain what the size unit is for the different programs and columns you are using, but I prefer not waste too many brain cells for that ;-)

Post Reply