New strings for TC 9.20 - anything missing?

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

New strings for TC 9.20 - anything missing?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-16, 17:00 UTC

Here are the new strings used by TC 9.20:

1394="From active panel (source)"
1395="From target"
1396="Invalid input!"
1397="English in Titles"
1398="Search text too long!"
6034="&Client Certificate:"

Did I miss any? They are used in the folllowing places:

1394+1395: Files - change attributes: Two new buttons:
1396: Change attributes: When entering invalid date or time:
1397: Multi-rename tool: Upper/Lowercase combobox
6034: Ctrl+F - Edit - second tab, at the end
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-16, 23:20 UTC

String 1397 isn't used until TC is restarted - it is not enoug to just change the language. See also note about LowercaseStrings= later in this posting...

There is no string shown for the new placeholder [f] in the MRT, Shift+F4 and F7 dialogs when you press th [±] button.

Where is string 1398="Search text too long!" used?

The string 1396="Invalid input!" is not used by the internal English dialog - it just shows <Error!>

It seems that if I make a wincmd.ini parameter like this:

LowercaseStrings=Danish rules:en,et,den,det,ved,hos,for,i,af,på,til,fra,og,som,der,men,eller,ej,så,English rules:a,an,the,at,by,for,in,of,on,to,from,up,and,as,but,or,nor,yet,so,vs

then both Danish and English rules are used, and in the MRT the string "Danish rules" is used in stead of string 1397 - are there any other rules for the formmating of this parameter?
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6238
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-05-17, 02:04 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Didn't want to open a new thread for this tiny issue: The German translation for 1398 has an "e" too much at the end ("Suchtext zu lang!" is enough ;)).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

yong
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 2009-05-20, 07:23 UTC

Post by *yong » 2018-05-17, 02:52 UTC

It seems string 1397 is used only when parameter LowercaseStrings is absent in wincmd.ini, otherwise whatever rule name that comes first in the LowercaseStrings parameter is shown. Is my understanding correct?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-17, 09:57 UTC

String 1397 is used when you don't specify a title for LowercaseStrings, e.g.
LowercaseStrings=a,an,the,at,by,for,in,of,on,to,from,up,and,as,but,or,nor,yet,so,vs
instead of
LowercaseStrings=English:a,an,the,at,by,for,in,of,on,to,from,up,and,as,but,or,nor,yet,so,vs
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-17, 16:46 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Thanks!

What about string 1398="Search text too long!" where is that used?
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6238
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-05-17, 17:21 UTC

2petermad
It's used in Lister when a long search text is entered. There is some thread (bug report?) about it, but I can't find it currently - someone reported that Lister showed some "weird" error message saying X > Y (where X and Y are two different numbers) after he entered a very long search text in Lister's search.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-17, 17:30 UTC

2Dalai
Thanks. Now for a search string of for example 260 characters it shows "Search text too long! (L=250> 255)" in the dialog title.

In previous TC's it says:
"<Error!> (L=250> 255)"
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-17, 20:00 UTC

Maybe it's a good time to add an additional string as I described here? https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=341410#341410

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36418
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-18, 10:24 UTC

2petermad
LowercaseStrings=Danish rules:en,et,den,det,ved,hos,for,i,af,på,til,fra,og,som,der,men,eller,ej,så,English rules:a,an,the,at,by,for,in,of,on,to,from,up,and,as,but,or,nor,yet,so,vs
This is wrong. Just the text before the first ":" is used as a description.Try using this:
LowercaseStrings=Danish+English rules:en,et,den,det,ved,hos,for,i,af,på,til,fra,og,som,der,men,eller,ej,så,a,an,the,at,by,for,in,of,on,to,from,up,and,as,but,or,nor,yet,so,vs

Otherwise 'a' will not be handled because TC is looking for
English rules:a
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

vdijken
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: 2016-07-30, 14:07 UTC
Location: The Netherlands

Post by *vdijken » 2018-05-18, 10:54 UTC

For error 1396 there is no entry in my Dutch version in WCMD_DUT.LNG. When I forced an error in TC the Dutch word for error "<fout!> appeared. Is there a way to change it that when an entry is missing for the local language not the word "error" in the local language appears but the always present English version of the error message? Or is this temporary until the official 9.20 version is released?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-18, 12:34 UTC

2vdijken
Or is this temporary until the official 9.20 version is released?
Yes - the translators hasn't been contacted yet. Until then, you can add the string yourself to your wcmd_dut.lng file.
Last edited by petermad on 2018-05-18, 16:10 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-18, 12:36 UTC

Otherwise 'a' will not be handled because TC is looking for
Ahh, yes - "a" won't be handled - I didn't have " a " in my test file.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

browny
Member
Member
Posts: 166
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:19 UTC

Post by *browny » 2018-05-18, 12:58 UTC

Is Search result: an old string or a new one?
This string is used near the drive selection drop-down and as a tab title in beta 3.

In these cases the terminating colon does not look right.

Edit
Corrected the string; it was erroneously written as String result:
Last edited by browny on 2018-05-20, 01:00 UTC, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8023
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-18, 16:34 UTC

2browny
Can you explain that a little further? - I don't see any new colons.

And I con't see any string containing "result:" in the code except for string 656="Search result:"

What langiage are you running TC with?
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b6 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply